We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is magical fantasy in real-life time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gallery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gallery Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is magical fantasy in real-life time.”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our stay at The Gallery Inn in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, was more than I ever imagined that it would be. I had put staying at this place on my bucket list of things to do before I die.

I was so pleased with everything yet my description or personal pictures can barely capture this. This is an experience destination, not only a hotel. Highlights to just begin with:
Tropical gardens and patios with the owner's pet parrots greeting you;
The music room with its Steinway played by locals and the guitarists who serenade into the night;
The open underground dining in candlelight experience if it rains and breakfast sunning on numerous patios;
Swimming in the heated blue-hued swimming pool amongst the ruins;
The incredible art with sculptures and paintings everywhere including your own room;
The displays of orchids continually blooming on walls;
Soft seating places to immerse yourself in meditation while listening to running fountains;
The ocean spray of the high surf at the beach house reached through the El Morro tunnel.

Our bedroom was tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Even awakening in the morning from a stream of light through a portal made me think I was in still in a dream. This place was so unbelievably unique but brace yourself because it is not the typical American style resort hotel with a television in every room. This place is hundreds of years old and has been renovated to keep its uniqueness. Each room is decorated artistically and has its own aspects, whether it has balconies or ocean views or hidden privacy.

I was touched by the grace and generosity of the host and hostess as they genuinely delighted in opening up their historical home. The hostess was even concerned that their restaurant make foods for me that recognized my embarrassing food allergies. The staff delighted in interacting with us and we really felt genuinely welcomed when we got invited to tour the hotel's hidden features.

My husband loved that the Obamas chose to stay here. He too, was awed at the accommodations as they were so unexpected.

Geri and Bob

Room Tip: If you are handicapped or have any accomodation needs or have children, I would talk to the staff wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    158
    80
    68
    44
See reviews for
78
500
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Well it's a real experience. Unconventional, unique in a very good way. I have never seen something like this : the parrots, the sculptures, the furniture,the antiques, the pictures of the Obama family who stayed there ... It's a lot of fun. I really had an amazing time, it's different and you cannot say " it's beyond déjà vu", it's not.
The - :
- the place is not well maintained (including the room) and you have to ask to have the AC on in the small rooms ( we tried 2 rooms, a small one and a nice 'suite' at the top of the building with a jacuzzi) ... in a tropical island
- the bathrooms are a disgrace ( worst than the ones in cheap hotels) they REALLY should REDO them

In a few words, far from being perfect but well a unique atmosphere. If you are get used to boutique hotels with all the modern comfort (AC, clean rooms etc.) just come to this place for the Sunday afternoon concerts and for dinners. The restaurant is fun, good and inexpensive. If you are adventurous and bohemian at heart try it. Btw it's not cheap (except the restaurant)

Room Tip: Cheap is cheap, especially here, try the suite with jacuzzi if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picalexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after our cruise. Out of all of our travels this is the best hotel by far. This hotel is bursting with charachter. As you enter the residence you are greeted by parrots, fountains, ferns and sculptures. We were lucky enough to run into the owner/artist Jan D'Esopo. She is so friendly and inviting and just wants everyone to relax and explore the hotel. Our room was fantastic, balcony with ocean view (Blanca). Evenings spent lounging in the gardens, listening to the fabulous Puerto Rican master classical guitar player Felix Rodriguez. He is a genious with the guitar and you will be serenaded by him while you enjoy first class cuisine ( I am a chef so I know food). The small menu is genious allowing the kitchen to concentrate on mastering a few dishes exceptionally. This is not a standard everyday hotel. If you are looking for pool, spa, buffets etc this is not the place for you!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyjou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Traveled with my husband and our 20 year daughter while she was on break from university. Spent three nights at the Gallery Inn and then three nights on Vieques.

Inn property and common areas are beautiful and unique. Location was wonderful for all the activities we wanted in the city for 2 1/2 days before heading to Vieques. That said, I didn't feel our accommodations were worth the room rate. We expected a small room but well cared for. Linens were quite dated, thin floral spread that could have been from the 1970s. Bathroom fixtures weren't in the best condition, not antique, but drather harvest gold tile, tub and sink. Not much care given to maintenance, paint drips on the tile, shutter paint on the wall. Hanging picture seemed to be painted around with wall paint on the frame.

We were all for quaint and looked forward to the little alcoves, courtyards and rooms to explore. Our room was accessible only via a narrow spiral staircase. Again would have been ok with this but after seeing the electrical wiring throughout and without clear indications of how to get places within the inn or exit the inn, I'm thankful there wasn't a need to evacuate. Felt there definitely could be fire hazard.

Common area for breakfast and pool could have been spectacular but the garden seemed to be left untended - dying leaves left on the plant, etc. Hydro plants looked sick and sparse. Fish tank with plants growing on the top had filthy water, difficult to see the fish.

Pool was quite lovely but towels, available the first day, were never replenished and not made available, or the situation remedied when we asked.

Staff was hit or miss - some were fantastic and other seemed as if they couldn't be bothered. Honor bar was a wonderful extra. Breakfast was ok, not extraordinary.

Had much higher hopes for the inn and our experience. Seems the inn's glory days were a few decades back and with little desire to restore the property to what it could be. Loved Old San Juan and hope to return but probably won't stay here again. Overall, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Beautiful people, wonderful interior design, and the most soul I've ever had the privilege to experience as a hotel guest. We actually went there to try to find something cheaper than the hotel we were staying with at the time, but ended up falling in love with the gallery and paying a far higher price than at our old hotel (San Juan beach hotel - do yourself a favor and never stay there).
Five parrots and God knows how many inside gardens - we loved it and would definitely stay again if given the chance.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
2,645 reviews
0.2 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 46 in San Juan
752 reviews
0.6 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#10 of 46 in San Juan
903 reviews
4.3 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Inn

Property: The Gallery Inn
Address: 204 - 206 Norzagaray St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price range (per night): $181 - $348
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gallery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sprawling 22-room ocean-view boutique hotel features lush gardens, tree-shaded patios and secluded and private nooks at every turn. The Wine Deck offers breath-taking, panoramic views from the highest point in Old San Juan. The newly completed sculpture waterfall pool meanders through ancient brick passageways, past fragrant gardenias. Six active art studios and world-class piano recitals are all open to our guests. Unique, elegant and exotic: the Old World charm of The Gallery Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Gallery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gallery Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing