We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gallery Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 281*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 272*
USD 232*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 193*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Miramar(San Juan)
USD 185*
USD 178*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 318*
USD 265*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 337*
USD 325*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 337*
USD 306*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 343*
USD 292*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milano(San Juan)(Great Value!)
USD 100*
USD 98*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 84*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
479
170
86
69
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
170
86
69
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic roomjan d'esopoexotic birdshonor barold san juanrooftop deckpuerto ricounique hotella perlagarden roomhonor systemtapasthe atlantic oceanchain hotelcontinental breakfastsmall poolcruise ship
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 854 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Well it's a real experience. Unconventional, unique in a very good way. I have never seen something like this : the parrots, the sculptures, the furniture,the antiques, the pictures of the Obama family who stayed there ... It's a lot of fun. I really had an amazing time, it's different and you cannot say " it's beyond déjà vu", it's not.
The - :
- the place is not well maintained (including the room) and you have to ask to have the AC on in the small rooms ( we tried 2 rooms, a small one and a nice 'suite' at the top of the building with a jacuzzi) ... in a tropical island
- the bathrooms are a disgrace ( worst than the ones in cheap hotels) they REALLY should REDO them

In a few words, far from being perfect but well a unique atmosphere. If you are get used to boutique hotels with all the modern comfort (AC, clean rooms etc.) just come to this place for the Sunday afternoon concerts and for dinners. The restaurant is fun, good and inexpensive. If you are adventurous and bohemian at heart try it. Btw it's not cheap (except the restaurant)

Room Tip: Cheap is cheap, especially here, try the suite with jacuzzi if available
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picalexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after our cruise. Out of all of our travels this is the best hotel by far. This hotel is bursting with charachter. As you enter the residence you are greeted by parrots, fountains, ferns and sculptures. We were lucky enough to run into the owner/artist Jan D'Esopo. She is so friendly and inviting and just wants everyone to relax and explore the hotel. Our room was fantastic, balcony with ocean view (Blanca). Evenings spent lounging in the gardens, listening to the fabulous Puerto Rican master classical guitar player Felix Rodriguez. He is a genious with the guitar and you will be serenaded by him while you enjoy first class cuisine ( I am a chef so I know food). The small menu is genious allowing the kitchen to concentrate on mastering a few dishes exceptionally. This is not a standard everyday hotel. If you are looking for pool, spa, buffets etc this is not the place for you!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyjou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Traveled with my husband and our 20 year daughter while she was on break from university. Spent three nights at the Gallery Inn and then three nights on Vieques.

Inn property and common areas are beautiful and unique. Location was wonderful for all the activities we wanted in the city for 2 1/2 days before heading to Vieques. That said, I didn't feel our accommodations were worth the room rate. We expected a small room but well cared for. Linens were quite dated, thin floral spread that could have been from the 1970s. Bathroom fixtures weren't in the best condition, not antique, but drather harvest gold tile, tub and sink. Not much care given to maintenance, paint drips on the tile, shutter paint on the wall. Hanging picture seemed to be painted around with wall paint on the frame.

We were all for quaint and looked forward to the little alcoves, courtyards and rooms to explore. Our room was accessible only via a narrow spiral staircase. Again would have been ok with this but after seeing the electrical wiring throughout and without clear indications of how to get places within the inn or exit the inn, I'm thankful there wasn't a need to evacuate. Felt there definitely could be fire hazard.

Common area for breakfast and pool could have been spectacular but the garden seemed to be left untended - dying leaves left on the plant, etc. Hydro plants looked sick and sparse. Fish tank with plants growing on the top had filthy water, difficult to see the fish.

Pool was quite lovely but towels, available the first day, were never replenished and not made available, or the situation remedied when we asked.

Staff was hit or miss - some were fantastic and other seemed as if they couldn't be bothered. Honor bar was a wonderful extra. Breakfast was ok, not extraordinary.

Had much higher hopes for the inn and our experience. Seems the inn's glory days were a few decades back and with little desire to restore the property to what it could be. Loved Old San Juan and hope to return but probably won't stay here again. Overall, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Beautiful people, wonderful interior design, and the most soul I've ever had the privilege to experience as a hotel guest. We actually went there to try to find something cheaper than the hotel we were staying with at the time, but ended up falling in love with the gallery and paying a far higher price than at our old hotel (San Juan beach hotel - do yourself a favor and never stay there).
Five parrots and God knows how many inside gardens - we loved it and would definitely stay again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Although we did not stay here, my husband and I walked over to check out this hotel and ended up staying for dinner. This place is incredibly unique and eclectic. The owner met us at the door with a large, white parrot perched on her shoulder. We enjoyed wonderful service from our waitress, "Kelly". I ordered the fish, my husband had the pork. Everything was DELICIOUS! We also, per Kelly's suggestion, had rum drinks with cranberry and lime...all this while relaxing on the outdoor garden patio. We will definitely book a room here the next time we visit San Juan.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison_WITraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews