We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
245
76
14
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
76
14
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan juan gateold san juanquiet streetmain cathedralmosquito nettingrooftop terraceyogurtsitting areaboutique hotelel morroboiled eggsfirst floorgreat boutiquehotel elconvenient locationbeautiful roomdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Loved this quaint bed and breakfast in Old San Juan. Walking distance to everything. We stayed here post cruise. They helped us with restaurant suggestions and let us use their computer to confirm our airline reservations for the next day. Our room was on the first floor near the fountain and was great. That particular room would not be good for anyone that has to go up stairs since the bathroom was about 6 steps up from the bedroom. There was a common area upstairs with all kinds of cats of Old San Juan. Some of the cushions and curtains up there could of been cleaned up a bit but we still loved the charming villa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Last time we stayed in Old San Juan we splurged on the Hotel El Convento, which was worth it but we feel like we've been there, done that. We were happy to find this beautiful B&B right next door which had great rates and also allowed us a single night Friday stay prior to our cruise.

The location is perfect for exploring all of Old San Juan on foot. El Morro is about a 10 minute walk. Great restaurants, shops, and Walgreens are also a short walk away. We had booked rooms 7 and 8 with our travel partners, but when we arrived we were upgraded to the rooftop suite, which is adjacent to room 7. Both rooms were beautiful, tile floor, beautiful fabrics, heavy wood furniture. Tiny but that is to be expected in this historic area. The rooftop deck was a perfect place to enjoy a cocktail in the evenings, as well as meet all the neighborhood cats who were very friendly.

Breakfast was a nice continental with good coffee, juice, toast/pastries, fresh fruit and cereal. Perfect start to the day. Did a nice 4 mile run down through the cruise shop docks and through the historic areas.

The staff here were so nice, really could not have asked for anything more. I miss it already!

Room Tip: Our cab driver was unsure where Villa Herencia was, it is literally right next door (towards the water) from Hotel El Convento, so tell them to head there and you will be off to a good start.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here for one all-too-brief night before moving on to Vieques. We arrived late in the afternoon and took a taxi van, which was just barely narrow enough to fit through the back streets of OSJ. The inn is located near the western end of OSJ, so you get a good view of town on the drive in.

The inn is cozy and intimate; we loved the courtyard and the water feature. We stayed in a room upstairs (H8), which has French doors that open out onto the sun patio. When we first arrived, we saw tons of cats basking themselves in the afternoon sun. One even wandered into our room and gave a friendly purr!

The room is well-appointed and we slept comfortably. The staff were very helpful and arranged an early morning taxi pick-up to get us to Isla Grande airport.

Overall, our experience there was short but sweet. We'd love to return for a longer visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after spending a week on Vieques. We wanted to see the historical sights of Old San Juan... and we did. The staff here was extremely helpful (they helped recover my husband's hat that he had left on the airplane from Vieques) and friendly, providing suggestions, tips, and excellent service. We stayed in the suite upstairs, since my husband and I were traveling with our niece. It had two bedrooms with a sitting room in between. The beautiful antique drinks cart, the swagged canopy bed, and the outdoor patio with 2 bathtubs, LOL -- just added to our delight with the place. We enjoyed drinks on the rooftop patio with other guests and "the cats of Old San Juan." The hotel is on a quiet side street, but within easy walking distance of all the Old San Juan sights. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our only disappointment was the less than spectacular breakfast offerings -- but the coffee was good.

Room Tip: The 2-room upstairs suite was a gem. This is the room I'd want if we went again.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rireg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

If your expecting the Marriot, go to the Marriot. If you want a taste of Old San Juan you'll find it at Villa Herencia. It's a good thing to be a little off the main path. Quiet streets and less traffic but a easy walk to everything you'll want to see. The rooms are comfortable and nicely upgraded without taking to much of the flavor of Old San Juan out of them. Kind of reminded me of the french quarter in New Orleans. Very nice continental breakfast and the internet WiFi is decent. Don't miss a visit to the roof top patio and bring a god book because you'll want to stay. Everything was clean and neat and the staff is pleasent and ready to help should you need it. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews