We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”
Review of Lime Tree Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Mountains National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lime Tree Farm
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Beautifully situated at about 3500 ft in the Blue Mountains, Lime Tree Farm is a superb base for hiking, birding or just relaxing in peace and quiet. Charlie, Suzy and Roger were wonderful hosts, always happy to talk to their guests and share their experiences. The accommodation was to a high standard and the communal bar/dining area proved to be a great place to share the events of the day. Food was local, fresh and prepared to a very good standard. Excellent trip to Cinchona Gardens and great birding on the Old Mine Trail and again in the Blue Mountains National Park. There is a sun terrace but no swimming pool (who needs that all the time anyway). Don't bother with a hire car, let Charlie & Roger do the driving on what are, it must be said, very poor roads. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to see a different part of Jamaica away from the usual tourist traps and who has a genuine interest in the outdoors.
Pete & Gill

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatureloverCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent 3 nights here as part of a 3 centre 11 day trip to Jamaica. Lime Tree Farm is an 8 acre hillside coffee plantation with three separate spacious guest suites, situated on a high level plateau with superb views of Blue Mountain scenery. Hosts, Charlie and Suzie, and Roger, are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and plan and escort various activities - walking, hiking, birdwatching, visiting the magical Cinchona Gardens. Or you can see how the coffee is made, (and drink plenty), or just relax in glorious scenery at the farm. Mealtimes are convivial affairs, guests and hosts sitting round a huge wood table, enjoying the views - both close up views of tiny humming birds, or distant peaks. Suzie and Keisha make the most wonderful breakfasts and dinners. Jamaican breakfast specialities such as salt fish with ackee, light as a feather dumplings, fried plantain, and dinners including callaloo soup, jerk pork, chicken curry, fish dishes. Fantastic! It's a must for 3 days if you're visiting Jamaica. A lovely contrast to the coast and beaches. We hope to return.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similar, spacious and have views from their terrace.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed four nights at Lime Tree and in addition to the incredible peace and beauty we just loved everyone there. After four days we felt like friends and were sad to say goodbye! what a cool atmosphere, really homey and personal. We loved eating meals together, and they were so good! Sharing stories, and even making pizza together! The area offers hiking and bird watching sunning and just watching the weather change is a treat. Spectacular views! The room was very comfortable and soundproof which allowed us to sleep well as there can be some wind up there at times. I also felt we got to see another side of life, and feel the community energy. Thanks to all who gave us a great experience.

Room Tip: We had a deck on top of ours for morning yoga!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBeth_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My fiance & I started in Montego Bay & ended our trip here. Once we got here we wished we would of come here instead! We got to experience the real Jamaica (not many tourists like Mo Bay- only 1 other group was here) & the beauty of the Blue Mountains. The food was incredible (unlike Mo Bay)! Suzi is a great chef. The rooms are comfortable & provide an awesome view of the Blue Mountains that pictures do not give justice to. We watched to see how the coffee was processed then bought as much as we could because it is great coffee & is much cheaper there than anywhere else. Everyone was so friendly making this a very relaxing trip. The hike to the peak was beautiful and the view from the top was awe-inspiring. My fiance proposed to me there making it the perfect ending to our trip. We will likely go back there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I loved my 2.5 day stay there so much that I hardly know where to begin. My friend and I arrived in Kingston early in the morning and our driver was there to meet us. The drive up was beautiful and it does get a bit rough on the way up, thus the necessity of a 4x4. We were so surprised that a fabulous Jamaican breakfast awaited us. The meals just kept getting better and better - Kisha and Suzie are fabulous cooks and hostesses. Cabins do not do justice to the accommodations. They are individual haciendas consisting of a front porch with table set, large bedroom with additional seating and a bathroom. They are very nice and bed and linens were great. There is an outdoor patio with spectacular views of the mountains. The property is a small coffee plantation that you can walk through at your leisure. We really wanted to relax so we only took one hike but everyone is there to ensure that you do as little or as much as you'd like. The location is so beautiful - almost spiritual. I know it sounds hokey but I have travelled to 85+ countries and I just felt so happy there. Of course Charlie, Suzie, Roger, and others just make you feel like family. You really feel like you are their guests. This is a must stay for at least a couple of days even if your real destination is the beach or Kingston. It is well worth any detour to anywhere else in Jamaica - alone, couple or with family. I will be going back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains National Park
9.7 km away
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Blue Mountains National Park
59 reviews
13.3 km away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
888 reviews
9.0 km away
Strawberry Hill
Strawberry Hill
#4 of 25 in Kingston
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Blue Mountain Wilderness Retreat
Blue Mountain Wilderness Retreat
#2 of 2 in Blue Mountains National Park
1 reviews
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Blue Mountains National Park

Been to Lime Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Farm

Address: Tower Hill | Mavis Bank PO, St Andrew, Blue Mountains National Park, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Blue Mountains National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Blue Mountains National Park
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Tree Farm is the perfect Jamaican holiday retreat for the independent traveller. Our beautiful ecological holiday cottages are set on a working coffee plantation that is nestled high in the magnificent unspoilt Blue Mountains of Jamaica. Combined with our first class, locally sourced organic cuisine, our Jamaican holiday cottages are the perfect luxury to come back to after exploring Jamaica's Blue Mountains with its rich flora, fauna and wildlife, whether hiking or by 4x4 jeep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Farm Hotel Blue Mountains National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing