We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Club Ambiance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Ambiance
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This hotel might have been nice enough 30 years ago, but nobody has bothered to do anything since. The rooms are shabby and badly equipped. We had a coffee maker with no filters but actual coffee for 2 days, then filters but no coffee the other 10 days. The hot water came and went with little predictability, and at times there was no actual water coming out of the hot tap at all. The resort had an outbreak of pinkeye, which you could just blame on Jamaica...except that the staff members in the kitchen were visibly affected. We found a piece of a chef's bandaid in a burger. The food was of poor quality and repeated with little variety. The bar regularly runs out of both alcohol and mixers. There are cockroaches in abundance. The insanely loud water feature in the lobby (which you can hear in the rooms) regularly makes the tile floor slippery. There is no air conditioning in most of the hotel. The wifi only works in about 3 square feet of the hotel and is bad even then. The manager is in no hurry to fix issues. Hotel entertainment is dire and stupidly loud. If the hotel isn't at full occupancy, some of the all inclusive promises are broken. The two biggest suites are over the pool pump, so very noisy, as are the ones over the nightclub.

The positives? The nude beach is nice, some staff members are very friendly. At the end of the day, you are still in Jamaica...so that is always good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank PINKTAPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

This is the first resort my wife and I went to in Jamaica we did return a second time .this is a small resort but the food was outstanding and the entertainment was great the staff treated us so greatly I would recommend this resort if your looking for a smaller adult only resort

Stayed: October 2016
3  Thank RICHM03567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambiance87, Director of Sales at Club Ambiance, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

On behalf of the staff and Managers,thank you RICHM03567 for your kind accolades.Your expressed views have been shared to all and extended moreso to the Entertainment staff and Kitchen Department.We anticipate a future visit and wish you all that's good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Upon my arrival at Club Ambiance, I was instantly greeted and made to feel as if I was home. My fiance and I stumbled in out curiosity while enjoying our road trip when we decided to take a tour. The facility was beautiful, the staff was friendly, and the food was excellent. We instantly felt like family while we were there and we are already planning for another visit in the near future. Did I mention that the views are breathtaking?! Can't wait to visit Club Ambiance again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Latoya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I regret spending my hard earned cash at that place..spotty towels.. brownish sheets..crappy food.. skeleton staff..tv has only 3 stations. The place is run down. There was no sign of management anywhere to make a complaint. Even the beach had garbage. That was my second visit after 2 yes. Bartender Dwayne...Fiona and Shawn front desk sells the place well but inside you will regret it. Wouldn't recommend club ambiance to anyone..

Stayed: June 2017
11  Thank genevie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambiance87, Director of Sales at Club Ambiance, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you genevie2017 for your Review on your stay with us and regret your expectations were not met.The challenges you mentioned have been shared with the key Management personnel responsible for those areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Club Ambiance 9 to 16 June 2017
My Five Best List
1- The blissful moments that we had on this small beach were one of a kind and so relaxing, that I fell into a Zen that was so peaceful and rejuvenating. One may say these were truly million dollar moments.
2- During the week of our stay, there were less than 20 other guests, mostly Jamaicans who had come for just the weekend, and were gone by Monday. This contributed to the resort being very quiet and peaceful.
3- We had the nude beach to ourselves and at times even had the occasional beach service, during the weekend. Very few guests came out to the beach area during our total stay.
4- Our room #15 a Honeymoon Sweet, was a totally spacious large room. Private ocean view deck with two chairs & table at the entry of room. This unit contains: TV siting area with two large couches, coffee table, TV cabinet/storage with 32-inch screen, a small fridge, coffee maker with packages of coffee and sugar, a large king-size bed with a small TV, 2 night stands, chest of draws, writing desk & chair. Further a large walk-in closet with plenty of cloths hanging space/draws for storage, a safe/with lock & key, iron/board, large shoe rack. Then the bathroom with a double sink/large mirror, a large bath tube with a large window looking out to the ocean, there is also a shower unit off to the side and then the toilet.
5- The food over the weekend was a limited buffet with some of the best Jamaican dishes I have tasted. The cooks truly can take credit here.
However, on Tuesday the evening meal dropped to a menu and all meals from that point were from a menu. This menu was very limited with some dishes being left overs from the weekend. Again, meals where to be an all-inclusive buffet through-out our entire stay.
Worth mentioning, they also severed a great hamburger combination that helped save the day when the buffet changed to a menu, the short order cook can take credit here.

Names that I will mention are as follows:
Mr. Blackwood, Mr. Burchell, Gellian Riley, Princess,
Karen, Milton, Nikki, Kedesha, Phillip, Sean, Michael, Chris, Fiona, Leroy,
Cooks: Mama, Zerry-Ann, (also there is a short order cook his name I did not acquire)

The water was being turned off on several nights. Also we were forced to take cold showers because there wasn’t any hot water. I can not see Sunwing continuing to endorse this resort should it operate in this routine. Furthermore, it was encouraging to have a chance conversation with a member of the crew taking a serious look at a future acquisition. This would be so good for the staff remaining at this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlbertaBucanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambiance87, Director of Sales at Club Ambiance, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you AlbertaBucanero for your on point Review describing your recent stay with us at Club Ambiance Resort,and immediate apologies for the inconveniences with the cold water situation.The writer recollects you sharing that concern,the explanations and proof accepted by both of you, and which was rectified. We recognise and are pleased,that several aspects of your stay were very pleasant and the key points of staff influence on same highlighted by you,was noteworthy,our sincere gratitude for that.The possibility,real or perceived,of any future acquisition or ownership change,is not the main focus currently,and this writer is not aware of that activity.The thrust is the consistency and fervour of the combined efforts of all staff and Managers enhancing and improving and re-imagining the overall guests experiences and expectations,that is unswerving and a bullseye committment and pledge.Your Review is very helpful in many ways and wish and hope for a future visit perhaps through our wonderful professional partners SunWing,who collectively,continue to assist and be pro-active to guarantee our mutual clients needs and wants are dealt with effectively,fairly and quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.2 km away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Runaway Bay
82 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.6 km away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
54.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.9 km away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Address: Main Road | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: AU$221 - AU$412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay
Club Ambience Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing