We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,395)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveller rating
513
442
202
114
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
442
202
114
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgilbert blackwoodhoneymoon suitewater pressuresmall resortbeach arearecommend this resortbeach towelsentertainmentjamaicavacationdiscobandcouplesrummamaalcoholcrew
Filter
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2005

My lover and i had stayed at Club Ambiance on Dec. 8th-12th. Our experience was WELL ABOVE EXPECTATIONS. We researched the resort prior to our stay...so we knew what to expect for the $ we paid.

We were looking forward to experiencing the personal attention from the staff.
We also looked forward to the authentic Jamaican cuisine, and live Caribbean music. (much love to the House Band "The Real Boys")

I must say from the time we pulled into the parking lot until the time left the parking lot on our 5th day it was NOTTHIN BUT PURE LOVE shown to us from everyone. A cold drink was handed to us upon arrival! (classy)

We had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean...I must say we were a bit taken by surprise to see the TOPLESS visitors on the beach...but HAPPILY SURPRISED. (you must remember this is an ADULT PROPERTY) We appreciated the freedom and mature atmosphere Club Ambiance provided. (also check out the Playboy Channel~FOR FREE~wink,wink. We also found "Live Adult Entertainment directly across the street :-))

WHATEVER you do...DO NOT use your cell phone. The roaming and connection rates will kill you 'Mon! You should really buy a phone card or internet card to communicate with loved ones.

You should also bring lots of 1 dollar bills (the staff deserves it!) We tipped everyone as we went along throughout our stay. Make sure you have change and please understand the exchange rate 60-63 Jamaican to 1 US.

We enjoyed having a personal driver to take us to different locations. It allowed us to be on our own time schedule and get a REAL sense of Jamaica.

PLEASE NOTE: BEFORE YOU GET IN A CAR WITH A DRIVER CONFIRM YOUR RATE!!!
The average rate for two people to go to Ocho Rios Dunns River Falls is $40.00 US round-trip total. (not including tip)
A trip to Nine Mile (Bob Marley's birth and resting place) was $60.00 round trip.
AGAIN PLEASE CONFIRM RATES PRIOR GETTING IN CAR AND RATES CHANGE FROM MORNING TO NIGHT!!!!!

WARNING: The mattress is not soft.

For all you "smokers" keep your eyes, ears and NOSE open~there is always a BETTER DEAL~EZ to find~
All in all...we plan on staying at Club Ambiance AGAIN...and AGAIN
One Love to Gilbert(General Manager)and Crew you guys really made our experience memorable.
PS
We will post more pictures soon~
Meko and Trish
From the Village of Rainbows :-)

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Sunshine8257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2005

We stayed at Club Ambiance 27 November - 11 December for the second time and were in a standard room. Our prevous visit was in September 2003 and we found that trip to be above expectations. Having read some not so good reviews in recent months we were a little worried that our expectations of this resort may have been a little high. We can honestly say that we were not disapointed. Rather, the experience this time round was even better than the first. Improvements have been made and continue to be planned.
A big critisism of this resort has always been the size of the beach. Despite keeping ourselves up to date via TripAdvisor,we were very pleasantly surprised to find that the resort now has a second beach on the other side of the pier leading out to Legends Bar. Not only that, whilst we were there, the staff began rebuilding the original beach and the plan is to increase its size by two thirds. They were well on the way to achieving that when we left.

Comment must be made about the staff of this resort given that many have complained in the past. They were superb!. We met as many members of the staff as was possible and every one was courteous, friendly and more than willing to please. As was said to us on numerous occasions they feel it is their responsibility to ensure their guests receive the best experience. After all we are on vacation and it is "no problem" for them. This attitude extends to the management of this resort who, when asked, confirmed the view that the staff are their most prized asset. It would be unfair to mention individuals at this resort. Ever single one without exception gave exemplary service.

The hotel itself has been widely critisised for its ageing appearance. Whilst that is a fact the maintenance team work very hard to keep the accomodation and resort in the best possible condition. A previous reviewer complained about insufficient hot water. We had no such problems and we were at the resort at the same time. We heard no other complaints in this regard. We did, however, hear someone complain that she had to wait 3 hours to get beach towels and when she received them they were different shades of blue!. I for one, if faced with a vacant towel station (as sometimes occurred because staff were assisting guests) would get my own towel from the locker! No problem mon, we're in Jamaica.

The food was good and varied and we especially liked the jamaica cooking classes given by Mama. We found no problems with the bars, service or strength of the drinks (all complaints by previous reviewers)

This is a budget resort and cannot be compared to other, more upmarket properties but it is our opinion that Club Ambiance, with its superb staff, gives a real flavour of Jamaica. We much prefer to soak up the culture of the Island than be presented with a corporate face of many of the larger mega resorts.

If you want a relaxing, laid back, romantic break, with staff who will go that extra mile to make your vacation a pleasure. Club Ambiance is the property for you. Having travelled the world in a range of accomodation, Club Ambiance is the only resort we have chosen to return to. We will be Back!!!!

28  Thank alandJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2005

Well, my wife and I just returned from ten days at the Club Ambiance (20-29 November). Had a non stop flight from Baltimore to Montego Bay, so that was good. Plan on spending lots of time in airport going through immigration (took at least an hour). Can't take baggage carts out of airport, so porters are necessary at a dollar a bag. 60KM drive to hotel took 1 1/2 hours due to lots of construction on roads. We arrived and ate a snack in restaurant while waiting for room to be ready (Room #29 - stay away from it). We had lots of problems with this room to include towel hangers falling off of wall; burnt out lightbulbs and worse of all no hot water most of our stay. I discussed these problems with Gilbert the manager and most were fixed, but the hot water remained a problem the whole stay. Talked to others in hotel and they did not have same problem. Hotel was fully booked, so could not exchange rooms. Staff very friendly and entertainment at night OK. If you plan on snorkeling while here - forget it! The seabed is very shallow vicinity hotel and not at all condusive for swiming or snorkling. The dive center does offer a trip to a local reef - but only for an hour and $15. Towels for beach or pool and other equipment such as canoes, paddle boats and floats are available at pool side. Other reviewers have commented on the food - but I have to say it was OK, but nothing special. The catch of the day each day was good, but beef products pretty tough. We took shuttle bus ($10 per person) to Ochos Rios for two hours of shopping and I recommend you spend most of the time at the local crafts market. Prices at the gift shop in hotel are very high. We had rain several days while there and the staff did everything they could to keep guests entertained. The hotel is definitely old and in need of renovation, but for the price you can't beat it! If you want further information, you can contact me at randybmeijer@yahoo.com.

Stayed: November 2005
9  Thank 337Regal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon at CA, and absolutely loved it--we didn't want to leave. The weather was beautiful, the food was delicious, the staff was friendly and the accomodations were lovely. A bottle of champagne awaited us to congratulate us on our wedding, and we were kept thoroughly entertained by the nightly shows and daily activities any time we wanted to join in. Drinks and food were constant, and very yummy. We were not disappointed at all, and were, in fact, extremely pleased with our stay and accomodations. The only drawback that we experienced was the sound system down on the patio when some of the bands played--it was so loud until around 11 at night--we were very near to it, but it wasn't too bad. We'd recommend it to anyone wanting a laid back holiday.

Some advise--bring plenty of U.S. ones; they don't have many at the hotel, and it's a good idea to tip anyone who lends an extra hand to help (if you don't, they don't mind asking for it!). Also, customs was intense--both in Jamaica and U.S. side, so plan on spending two full days arriving and returning. The bus rides are crazy to and from the airport, but can also be fun, if you're able to close your eyes and say, "No problem, mon"!

We didn't do any of the tours but Dunn's River Falls, but it was so worth the extra little bit to go on that tour...be sure you take the time to check it out...and save your money for the market there or in Ocho Rios--it's much better than the gift shop at CA :)

Thank you, CA, for a beautiful and memorable honeymoon! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank certs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2005

I have to disagree with some of the comments ive seen about the "area outside of the resort" of Club Ambiance. Me and my boyfriend stayed there in September for 1 week and regulary went outside of the resort for entertainment. The whole idea of tourism is to try and give to the local community that you're visiting. Although the hotel was brilliant in all areas-service, views, cleanliness and entertainment i would recommend people to venture up the road to try out the local establishments. The locals that we spoke to said how they wished the tourists would come and visit their bars, shops etc to get a taste of real Jamaican life outside of the resort and they were all very welcoming when we did this. People dont need to be naive and go trekking up the mountains on their own but theres plenty of little bars all around the hotel that would be grateful of any business given to them. Ziggy who ran the hat stand next door to the hotel told us that rarely do tourists leave the hotel apart from on the organised coach trip so noone really gives him any passing business. Unlike many others, he is the lucky one who manages to trade inside the hotel grounds so he can build up a good trade. Think of the people in the surrounding area that you're visiting that are sat waiting for tourists to come to them. Ziggy and the locals were just one memorable part of the trip that has persuaded us to go back again next year-and maybe even the year after for the Cricket World Cup!!

Stayed: September 2005
12  Thank Inspiration31131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews