We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Ambiance is Irie....”
Review of Club Ambiance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Ambiance
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed 23 December 2005

We have just returned from a fun filled week at Club Ambiance. The staff were wonderful and bent over backwards to ensure our stay was memorable.

Look out for the ever smiling Roderick who makes first class omelettes and pancakes also Phillip who rustles up fantastic cocktails in the Coconut Bar. Watch out for Milton's dry sense of humour. He and Kevin kept us well served all week in the restaurant where the food was varied, plentiful and exceeded all expectations.

There was lots to do - all courtesy of the lively Entertainment Staff. Dave Ricketts headed the 4 Real house band and we loved his versions of Electric Boogie and Purple Rain.

If you decide to visit Jamaica, please, please visit Club Ambiance as you will not be disappointed.

The Duffs - South & West London Branch

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank rachan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,074 of 1,382 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Orlando, Florida
116
Reviewed 19 December 2005

My lover and i had stayed at Club Ambiance on Dec. 8th-12th. Our experience was WELL ABOVE EXPECTATIONS. We researched the resort prior to our stay...so we knew what to expect for the $ we paid.

We were looking forward to experiencing the personal attention from the staff.
We also looked forward to the authentic Jamaican cuisine, and live Caribbean music. (much love to the House Band "The Real Boys")

I must say from the time we pulled into the parking lot until the time left the parking lot on our 5th day it was NOTTHIN BUT PURE LOVE shown to us from everyone. A cold drink was handed to us upon arrival! (classy)

We had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean...I must say we were a bit taken by surprise to see the TOPLESS visitors on the beach...but HAPPILY SURPRISED. (you must remember this is an ADULT PROPERTY) We appreciated the freedom and mature atmosphere Club Ambiance provided. (also check out the Playboy Channel~FOR FREE~wink,wink. We also found "Live Adult Entertainment directly across the street :-))

WHATEVER you do...DO NOT use your cell phone. The roaming and connection rates will kill you 'Mon! You should really buy a phone card or internet card to communicate with loved ones.

You should also bring lots of 1 dollar bills (the staff deserves it!) We tipped everyone as we went along throughout our stay. Make sure you have change and please understand the exchange rate 60-63 Jamaican to 1 US.

We enjoyed having a personal driver to take us to different locations. It allowed us to be on our own time schedule and get a REAL sense of Jamaica.

PLEASE NOTE: BEFORE YOU GET IN A CAR WITH A DRIVER CONFIRM YOUR RATE!!!
The average rate for two people to go to Ocho Rios Dunns River Falls is $40.00 US round-trip total. (not including tip)
A trip to Nine Mile (Bob Marley's birth and resting place) was $60.00 round trip.
AGAIN PLEASE CONFIRM RATES PRIOR GETTING IN CAR AND RATES CHANGE FROM MORNING TO NIGHT!!!!!

WARNING: The mattress is not soft.

For all you "smokers" keep your eyes, ears and NOSE open~there is always a BETTER DEAL~EZ to find~
All in all...we plan on staying at Club Ambiance AGAIN...and AGAIN
One Love to Gilbert(General Manager)and Crew you guys really made our experience memorable.
PS
We will post more pictures soon~
Meko and Trish
From the Village of Rainbows :-)

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2005

We stayed at Club Ambiance 27 November - 11 December for the second time and were in a standard room. Our prevous visit was in September 2003 and we found that trip to be above expectations. Having read some not so good reviews in recent months we were a little worried that our expectations of this resort may have been a little high. We can honestly say that we were not disapointed. Rather, the experience this time round was even better than the first. Improvements have been made and continue to be planned.
A big critisism of this resort has always been the size of the beach. Despite keeping ourselves up to date via TripAdvisor,we were very pleasantly surprised to find that the resort now has a second beach on the other side of the pier leading out to Legends Bar. Not only that, whilst we were there, the staff began rebuilding the original beach and the plan is to increase its size by two thirds. They were well on the way to achieving that when we left.

Comment must be made about the staff of this resort given that many have complained in the past. They were superb!. We met as many members of the staff as was possible and every one was courteous, friendly and more than willing to please. As was said to us on numerous occasions they feel it is their responsibility to ensure their guests receive the best experience. After all we are on vacation and it is "no problem" for them. This attitude extends to the management of this resort who, when asked, confirmed the view that the staff are their most prized asset. It would be unfair to mention individuals at this resort. Ever single one without exception gave exemplary service.

The hotel itself has been widely critisised for its ageing appearance. Whilst that is a fact the maintenance team work very hard to keep the accomodation and resort in the best possible condition. A previous reviewer complained about insufficient hot water. We had no such problems and we were at the resort at the same time. We heard no other complaints in this regard. We did, however, hear someone complain that she had to wait 3 hours to get beach towels and when she received them they were different shades of blue!. I for one, if faced with a vacant towel station (as sometimes occurred because staff were assisting guests) would get my own towel from the locker! No problem mon, we're in Jamaica.

The food was good and varied and we especially liked the jamaica cooking classes given by Mama. We found no problems with the bars, service or strength of the drinks (all complaints by previous reviewers)

This is a budget resort and cannot be compared to other, more upmarket properties but it is our opinion that Club Ambiance, with its superb staff, gives a real flavour of Jamaica. We much prefer to soak up the culture of the Island than be presented with a corporate face of many of the larger mega resorts.

If you want a relaxing, laid back, romantic break, with staff who will go that extra mile to make your vacation a pleasure. Club Ambiance is the property for you. Having travelled the world in a range of accomodation, Club Ambiance is the only resort we have chosen to return to. We will be Back!!!!

28  Thank alandJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2005

Well, my wife and I just returned from ten days at the Club Ambiance (20-29 November). Had a non stop flight from Baltimore to Montego Bay, so that was good. Plan on spending lots of time in airport going through immigration (took at least an hour). Can't take baggage carts out of airport, so porters are necessary at a dollar a bag. 60KM drive to hotel took 1 1/2 hours due to lots of construction on roads. We arrived and ate a snack in restaurant while waiting for room to be ready (Room #29 - stay away from it). We had lots of problems with this room to include towel hangers falling off of wall; burnt out lightbulbs and worse of all no hot water most of our stay. I discussed these problems with Gilbert the manager and most were fixed, but the hot water remained a problem the whole stay. Talked to others in hotel and they did not have same problem. Hotel was fully booked, so could not exchange rooms. Staff very friendly and entertainment at night OK. If you plan on snorkeling while here - forget it! The seabed is very shallow vicinity hotel and not at all condusive for swiming or snorkling. The dive center does offer a trip to a local reef - but only for an hour and $15. Towels for beach or pool and other equipment such as canoes, paddle boats and floats are available at pool side. Other reviewers have commented on the food - but I have to say it was OK, but nothing special. The catch of the day each day was good, but beef products pretty tough. We took shuttle bus ($10 per person) to Ochos Rios for two hours of shopping and I recommend you spend most of the time at the local crafts market. Prices at the gift shop in hotel are very high. We had rain several days while there and the staff did everything they could to keep guests entertained. The hotel is definitely old and in need of renovation, but for the price you can't beat it! If you want further information, you can contact me at randybmeijer@yahoo.com.

Stayed: November 2005
9  Thank 337Regal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon at CA, and absolutely loved it--we didn't want to leave. The weather was beautiful, the food was delicious, the staff was friendly and the accomodations were lovely. A bottle of champagne awaited us to congratulate us on our wedding, and we were kept thoroughly entertained by the nightly shows and daily activities any time we wanted to join in. Drinks and food were constant, and very yummy. We were not disappointed at all, and were, in fact, extremely pleased with our stay and accomodations. The only drawback that we experienced was the sound system down on the patio when some of the bands played--it was so loud until around 11 at night--we were very near to it, but it wasn't too bad. We'd recommend it to anyone wanting a laid back holiday.

Some advise--bring plenty of U.S. ones; they don't have many at the hotel, and it's a good idea to tip anyone who lends an extra hand to help (if you don't, they don't mind asking for it!). Also, customs was intense--both in Jamaica and U.S. side, so plan on spending two full days arriving and returning. The bus rides are crazy to and from the airport, but can also be fun, if you're able to close your eyes and say, "No problem, mon"!

We didn't do any of the tours but Dunn's River Falls, but it was so worth the extra little bit to go on that tour...be sure you take the time to check it out...and save your money for the market there or in Ocho Rios--it's much better than the gift shop at CA :)

Thank you, CA, for a beautiful and memorable honeymoon! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank certs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.2 km away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Runaway Bay
77 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
4.2 km away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
2.9 km away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
54.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Address: Main Road | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $228 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay
Club Ambience Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing