We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most amazing holiday”
Port Antonio!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Port Antonio!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Port Antonio!
Bedroom Decks
Pool with a View!!
Pool
Villa Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pat C
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding views and very comfortable”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This villa has the benefit of not only the patio to the front but also a balcony that both of the bedrooms open up onto. This combined with the terraced pool area means that although the villa occupies a smallish plot there was plenty of opportunity for the three of us who stayed, to have both privacy and shared space. You can also take in the magnificent views from these different vantage points and it is honestly difficult not to be mesmerized by the beautiful of this place.
The beds were terrific and the screening in the bedrooms and air conditioning made for comfortable sleeping. Sleep was disturbed by the two guard dogs, kept chained on the site, doing their job, off and on, throughout the night. Denis sleeps on the premises and there is also a guard on duty at night so probably only the so cute, free roaming goats attracting the dogs attention. We had no security problems in Portland at all, it's very laid back.
The pool is a fabulous asset in the wonderful hot Jamaican sun and there is a poolside net you can use to fish out the vegetation that falls in from the beautiful poolside planting. It gets some much appreciated shade mid afternoon and is a lovely spot for an afternoon nap.
Bev comes up to the villa to prepare meals. She took our orders for evening meals and the following mornings brunch, if required, each morning. The food was really good and we are all big fans of Jamaican breakfasts. Best to make it clear if you want the receipts and any change up front, and you will need Jamaican $. We paid about 40k JA$ for the three of us for three modest evening meals and four enormous breakfasts...including a sound supply of great rum punch, beers and our own body weight in fruit. Best not to leave any fruit out in the living areas as ours was being gnawed at...pretty sure it wasn't a goat. Talking of being gnawed we didn't have any real problem with mosquito. Sprayed ourselves and the bedroom frequently and got away with only a dozen bites or so. Housekeeping was the weakest point in this villa but frankly the setting should not be missed on account of it and the owner is available by text or phone if you have any problems during your stay.
The villa is high on the hillside which means it has great cooling breezes and an expanse of horizon that are fantastic. You really have to rely on a car to get around even short distances. The access, rough, hillside, dirt track that takes you the last 80 metres is not for the faint hearted but you get surprisingly used to it. Charlie drove us in a less than comfortable car that rattles along. He is a nice, reliable, friendly guy but I'd recommend getting a driver with a decent car if Charlie can't provide one. Portland roads are mostly pretty dire and take a tole on cars so they spend time being repaired but its very uncomfortable traveling in an old vehicle on day or half day trips. Charlie considers himself the only driver who works for the villa but the owner Fred thinks otherwise so worth checking before you start your stay.
Trips out..Reach Falls is the furthest point so go there and then visit Long Bay an the way back..pretty much the next furthest place of interest. Winifred beach to swim, Geejays for wine and cocktails and the Trident hotel for food, drink and a day by their infinity pool are all worth your time too, bearing in mind the last two are a bit pricy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: poor housekeeping
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing holiday”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a super super time at Tranquility Villa.
We are a family of 4 with 2 young boys aged 4 & 5yrs. They boys keep asking when we are going back!
The Villa's size was perfect for us and with amazing views of the mountains and the sea, so spoilt, the pool was just right too.
We are were extremely well looked after by Bev & Dennis. They make mean food and drinks. We could not have asked for more. Thought we had put on lbs from the amount of dumplings (a bit like mini donuts) we ate that Bev cooked but surprising didn't, think it was all that fresh fruit we ate too :)
We did activities every day come rain or shine (we had both and boy does it rain!!). We visited Frenchman's Cove, Bikini Beach & Winnifred Beach, we climbed Reich falls (Ben my youngest cried when it was time to turn round and climb back down, he loved it and wanted to keep going up!), we went to the Blue Lagoon twice and I hope the memory of my boys jumping from the boat in to the lagoon with shear joy on their faces will remain with me for ever. We took the bamboo raft down rio grande and ate so much jerk at Boston! Ah such fun we had.
Wished we had hired a car but we would not have known the way from Kingston. We therefore had to get a taxi everywhere. That ended up being expensive! However, we were well looked after by him.
If you are coming from the UK, take GBP£ not US$ then change at a local cambio where you get a better rate. Dealing with US$ was a right pain and we ended up having to go to the local cash point every other day as there is a limit on how much you can take out at one time.
I would love to return one day. The boys favourtie things were swimming naked in the rain, the blue lagoon and the falls!
I had the serious holiday blues when I got home, we all did. We fell under Port Antonio's spell.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C
Gimingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Perfect Idyll”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Tranquility Villa is without doubt the most idyllic place we have ever stayed. Set in a truly beautiful location above Port Antonio, the spectacular views of colourful tropical jungle against a back drop of the Blue Mountains to the south and the turquoise Caribbean Sea to the north were unrivalled and provided the perfect place to while away lazy, relaxing hours. Indeed we didn't feel the need to go anywhere, especially as we were looked after so brilliantly by Dennis and Beverley, who couldn't have been more kind and friendly. Fantastic home cooked Jamaican food and lovely attention to detail, such as romantic floral touches and delicious fresh soursop juice, they were brilliant hosts. Thank you, thank you!
All in all, we LOVED everything about Tranquility villa and would definitely head there again should we have the chance to return to Jamaica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thanks for the kind words ~ So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Tranquility!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan92504
Plympton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Views that can't be beat”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our recent stay at Tranquility Villa was very relaxing. Beverly was a great cook and introduced us to delicious Jamaican cooking. Oxtail will now be on our menu!
Charlie was a great spokesperson for this beautiful part of Jamaica and took very good care of us as he showed us all the sights. The villa was very comfortable and well maintained but the best feature was the views from all the decks...unbelievable!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sachmill
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and extremely well looked after”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a truly lovely time at your villa. It really is in a fantastic location and we really fell in love with everything the parish had to offer (especially Frenchman’s Cove and Winnifred Beach) All the meals Beverly cooked were absolutely delicious and Dennis ensured that we would want for nothing and both put us very much at ease.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing