We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean dawn”
Review of Caribbean Dawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribbean Dawn
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Wonderful place with greaaaaaat swimming pool. If you have a chance to meet Jason you'll be in good hands. Always here for you and take care of you. Magnificient view and very quiet place. ( i'm french so a lot of fault sorry!!! ) since i'm in jamaica it's the better place we sleep. If a go again in jamaica it's sure i rent this place again. Thanks!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank JS212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Glad you mentioned the pool, view and Jason's personal service. Those are the top 3 features of Caribbean Dawn. We love greeting travelers and visitors from all over the world, especially the French! Peace. JC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

One of the best vacations by far!!

This property is like your own villa at a guest house rate with all the best views and sounds of Jamaica's gems.

Make sure to take the back trail from the house to the beach...and try the jerk sausage with festival. If you have a travel size telescope...you should bring it along with your camera!

Plan your meals ahead of time with Jason so you dont forget to eat! Huge thanks to Jason and his team for sharing the magic of the Boston Bay area!

Can't wait to get back!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BlackIndie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Glad to hear that Jason's personal service was helpful. I agree that the Boston Bay area is magical. Look forward to your return. Peace. JC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

on the upside, the views from my room were spectacular over the ocean and boston beach and i loved how the elevation of the hotel meant that, for once, i could look down on the john crows flying. jason - the property manager - was exceptionally helpful in arranging tours and giving local knowledge. you couldn't ask for a more helpful or genuine person, so massive thanks to him to helping my stay be as enjoyable as possible. the place is also well situated to enjoy boston bay and the famous jerk huts there. if you don't mind walking for 30 mins or so, you can also get to winifred beach easily. the blue lagoon is not walkable, but jason will happily drive you (for a fee). if you have a car, it's in a great location for portland, imo.

however, the place does come with some caveats. i found it odd that no breakfast or dinner is offered (not even for extra money) but yet no cooking facilities existed in the room. usually you get one or the other. i personally didn't mind the trek up the hill to the property as i am physically fit (although even i found it challenging!), but beware that if you are not, you will have a very hard time walking it. if you do not have a car, jason will happily drive you for a fee. on that, be aware that if you don't have a car, trips and excursions to anywhere around there (and jamaica more generally) are going to cost you A LOT. finally, given that this was the most expensive place i stayed in (budget traveller!), i was surprised by how many ants were in the room. i didn't have this problem elsewhere in jamaica.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuhpeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Thanks also for acknowledging the amazing view, the great location for easy access to all of Portland and Jason's personal service. Watching a jancrow glide by a few feet from the balcony is a thrill from which I never tire. They are graceful fliers indeed and seem to gravitate towards our hill. We rent a total for 4 rooms. All of our rooms have a refrigerator, toaster, drip coffee maker, electric tea kettle as well as plates, cups, bowls and silverware. One of the rooms does have a small kitchenette with 4 burner stove, pots, pans, etc. Additionally, breakfast and/or dinner is certainly available and can be prepared upon request and for an extra cost. Apologies if that was not communicated. Ants may occasionally wander into a room, especially if they detect something they like (food scraps, crumbs, sweet things, etc.). We'll be sure to set out more ant traps to counteract this. However, I cannot guarantee zero ants in the country. Thanks again and I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future. Peace. JC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

My fiance and stayed at this property for 3 nights and we were blown away by the amazing view the property had! We were greeted by Jason, who was very friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. He recommended beautiful beaches, delicious food spots and fun activities for us to do. He accompanied us to Reach Falls and made sure we received wonderful treatment. We enjoyed the pool which was very clean and also had an amazing view. I highly recommend this property to anyone staying in Boston Bay! THANK YOU

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and Jason's personal service. Hope you have the opportunity to stay at Caribbean Dawn again in the near future. Peace. JC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

The Caribbean Dawn is the ultimate Jamaican experience.The driver and caretaker Jason is very attentive of the guests..The views are breathtaking and beautiful.The sleep is very amazing with door open and view of water and cool breeze blowing and reggae music sometimes playing.The city of Port Antonio has a beautiful marina and the local people and food is a must experience.If you enjoy to have a real Irie vacation this is the place to visit.Let me add the beach and local attractions is itself worth the trip,along with the stay on top of the mountain at the Caribbean Dawn.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank roydboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay on the hill at Caribbean Dawn. It's very satisfying to host returning guests. Thanks also for mentioning Jason's attentiveness to guests as well as the view and cool breeze. I agree that the nearby, twin-harbored town of Port Antonio ("Porty") is a must visit that has something for everyone (marina, bakeries, restaurants, markets, banks, colorful characters, etc.). Thanks again for your return business and hope to see you back again soon. Peace. JC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
6.3 km away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
3.1 km away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
167 reviews
2.9 km away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 km away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
0.5 km away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
807 reviews
7.1 km away
Bay View Eco Resort & Spa
Bay View Eco Resort & Spa
#13 of 29 in Port Antonio
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Dawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Dawn

Address: Harmony Heights | Boston Bay, Port Antonio Fairy Hill Post Office, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Port Antonio
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing view. Private room, bath & balcony. Pool. Personal service. Lots of common space. Ease the mind, body and spirit. Spectacular sunrises. Sublime sunsets. Undeveloped and uncrowded. Surf, Swim, Tour - Eat, Drink, Sleep - View, Vibes, Irie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Dawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Dawn Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing