We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis of calm.beauty and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis of calm.beauty and service”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Small boutique at top of hill with fantastic views over sea

Rooms all good as stayed in both top of range and lower end - well fitted and in excellent decorative order

Food / service in pretty bars / restaurant all excellent with most attentive service

Hotel arranges trips locally with taxi firm - probably better as roads are poor - also free shuttle taxi to beach

Very hard to find fault with this establishment

Room Tip: Ask to have dinner one evening on the observation platform - 360 degree view plus stars !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venturer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you. The next time the garden project and the 'jungle spa' will be complete providing another quiet area for relaxation. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    51
    12
    14
    16
See reviews for
38
202
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We spent one week in this small scale hotel, just enough to explore this undiscovered and unspoiled region of Jamaica. Thanks to Shireen, who planned our trips, we discovered Reach Falls from a landinward road and returned to Port Antonio by the coastal road. We visited a coffee plantantion in the Blue Mountains and reached it by a nice hike. We discovered the nice local beaches like Boston Bay, The Blue Lagoon and Winifred Beach.
But most of all, when we returned from our trips we were happy to be back in our hotel with the friendly staff. They always knew our program and our needs for example to have an early dinner to start fresh the following morning. The breakfast was well balanced with a lot of fruits, selfbaked bread and jams. For dinner you had enough choice and it was well prepared with that little more spices than we use in our kitchen.
We hope to come back once!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosmansalain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A wonderful stay at this secluded tree top hotel. The birdwatching could be done with a glass in hand! The staff were very friendly and could not have done more for us. Any problems were dealt with efficiently. Shireen was a mine of information and trips were arranged with ease.Such a good centre with so much to do including birdwatching trips, river rafting, the beach and Port Antonio. The food was excellent with every attention to detail. A very relaxing week's holiday.
Pete and Gill

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureloverCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you. We know its hard to get birdwatchers to come back, but maybe there was one little bird on your list that you did not see...hopefully an excuse to allow us the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Hotel Mocking Bird Hill was overall an amazing experience. The staffs warm and welcoming personalities made it easy to relax and feel at home. We spent a total of ten days here so we have had the opportunity to really get to know the owners. They are both wonderful ladies and are always there when you have any questions or concerns. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you. It was a pleasure welcoming you and we hope we will have the pleasure again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill as part of their "10-day Birding Jamaica Celebration". The hotel is in a lovely setting, the staff are attentive and the food is wonderful - not to mention the gardens full of birds. The birding in the nearby John Crow Mountains was a great experience, largely due to the excellent bird guide that the Hotel arranged. There is also a quiet cove near the Hotel for swimming and relaxation. All in all, this was a delightful vacation that allowed us to see all of the endemic birds, hike in the mountains and relax at a wonderful eco-hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art and Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the birds 'behaved' and you were able to see all the Jamaican endemics. All the very best from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.8 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
466 reviews
1.1 km away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
2.9 km away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
0.5 km away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
75.2 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Property: Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price range (per night): $274 - $757
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing