We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,089)
Filter reviews
2,089 results
Traveller rating
1,182
512
236
86
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,182
512
236
86
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club fitness team zen restaurant aqua dance boot camp aqua fit travel smart great fitness tex mex presidential suite hunter steakhouse main pool kids club west indies kids pool ocean point martini bar
Filter
Updating list...
789 - 794 of 2,089 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had such a great vacation. My son had a blast playing poolside games with Junior and Lorenzo (both are fantastic with children and grownups). I have to mention, Andra the pool lifeguard, he developed a friendship with my son and played football with him when he wasn't busy. This made up for an amazing trip! Thank you Royalton team for great experience!

Room tip: We stayed in the presidential ocean view suite which gave us a lot of room and an amazing view.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonikelly1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACMRNG, Management Team at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Tonikelly1515,

Thank you for choosing Royalton Negril for your recent vacation and taking the time out to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to view your comments highlighting our fantastic hosts Junior and Lorenzo from the VIBE Team and our companionable Lifeguard Andre who contributed positively to you and your son's vacation experience; they will definitely be acknowledged for their exceptional service.

It was certainly a pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you again so that we can deliver another incredible vacation experience.

Best Regards,

Royalton Negril
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We, our family of five stayed this hotel for 7days. The room was family suite with ocean view. I was so surprised when I entered the room. There was only a huge king size bed and a huge sofa which can be transformed to another giant sofa bed for 5 of us. We liked a bath tub in the middle of the room but it seems we were so packed in a small space like camping. The view from the room was beautiful and we enjoyed the sounds of waves from the beach. The buffet restaurant was nice for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. March is not their fruit season so we didn't get variety of fruits. we only ate mango once and no guavas. I enjoyed sweet and juicy grapefruits instead.

We got really bad luck on the second day in this resort. About $215 cash was stolen from our room safe while we were at pool during lunch time. It was quite disappointing for us because we trust people all the time. Since then, I surprisingly noticed the hotel staffs have access to the every room so easily without any permissions; maids, service staffs, plummers, electric technicians, and repair mans and so on. Since the incident, we became very careful locking our safe and room door. Our room 2122 door didin't lock automatically by just closing so we had to pull it hard to lock all the way. So did the safe. You have to be carefel closing the front door and safe door. Anyway, we reported the incident to a security. He seemed find the stolen cash but we were not 100% sure that the cash was ours so there was nothing we can do. We talked to Maneger and securities so many times to solve the proplem. That was so tiring and time consuming for nothing so we decided to have fun, putting it aside. We received the written report from the resort's security so we are going to report to the Royalton customer service because we didn't hear about the investigation.

The kids' and the adults' pools were beside each other so those were nice and convenient. Good thing about this resort was you don't need to worry about losing your towels. You don't need to return them and the staffs take care of them. The havanas at the pool and beach were so nice and comfy but you have to get up early to put your towel or belongings on them so you can keep them and have good time during days in the Havana.

Entertainment staffs were super nice and friendly and all sports activities were well-organized. Aquafit was fun at the pool. Yoga seems very popular. Big thanks to Entertainment staffs.

The beach was nice during day but there were jellyfish and sandflies in the early morning and evening. My husband and I got stung by jellyfish during day but don't worry if you are just having a dip. We love swimming and snorkeling. That was that was reason why because we got stung hahaha. The Nice bar lady staff washed my stung face with overproof white rum and pain went away at that time. It was interesting to see each country has own remedies. I still have some bumps from the stings.

Let me get back to the restaurants there. The Hunter has great BBQ, Japanese restaurant has fantastic teppan yaki show and food. Capliso has great Jamaican patties. You don't need any reservations for the restaurants except Japanese one but we have to wait quite long time and the ladies at the restaurants door were not so friendly. Lunch time Jerk Chicken with the sauce was thumbs up. We enjoyed two night shows; Hip hop and Jamaican one. The café was very nice for 24 hrs. The sports bar could be great entertainment for kids and adults. Kids club and teen club were fun for kids and staffs were very responsible and caring. My all children enjoyed their events.

It was fun and we had great time even though we had some bad luck.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank shiho b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmrng, Management Team at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear ShihoBP,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate your comments highlighting our elegantly styled rooms, stunning views, selection of restaurants, comfortable Bali Beds by the pool side, 24hr Caffe Lounge and the friendliness of our amazing entertainment and fitness team. Suites are serviced daily by Housekeeping and Mini-bar team members and a record of each entry is systematically logged. Maintenance, security and IT technicians will occasionally service a guest's room upon request.

You stated that security managed to recover your missing item and we are pleased that they were able to do so. Despite this inconvenience, we are satisfied that there were positive aspects of your vacation and it is our sincerest hope that you will grant us the opportunity of serving you to a future experience which will surpass your last.

Regards,

Royalton Negril
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Before going I spend a lot of time reading the reviews and was confused as how the reviews varied so much...on my return I can say they are all true. During our stay we had the best experiences and the worst. It all depends on the staff. I would say about 60% of the staff are amazing and go out of their way to help and the others are useless and their response to everything is NO.

The entertainment staff (Shanika, Junior and Lorenzo) are amazing. They are a wealth of Knowledge. Everton the fitness instructor is great. He connects with everyone and remembers your name. King and Celone at the pool bar are amazing and keep the bar area very lively. Ask King to make you a King special you will not be disappointed.

The kids club staff were great and my daughter loved them. The issue was most of the time the club was always full. This was an issues that could be have been anticipated and resolved. We were travelling during spring break and Easter you think management could have anticipated and have had more staff on site. Also there is a teen club, my son enjoyed hanging out here, but i would like to see that open later. It is for 13-17 year old but closes at 9pm.

Lack of towels is an ongoing issue, Again a issue that is an easy fix if management chooses to pay attention to the matter.

The restaurant reservation system is useless. Every night we were there the restaurants are empty but they say no reservations are available. And forget about eating together if you are travelling in a group larger than 6. Despite the tables being movable and they could easily be joined the response was always no. We would sit at the Martini bar waiting for a table while the restaurant sat empty. Makes no sense.

Nightly shows need a lot of work.

we met a few families who had money from safe stolen and their experience dealing with security and was not good. Got the run around and lots of time trying to track down who they were supposed to talk to.

Also the Sunwing rep in the hotel not very helpful.. They will sell you a package but not very helpful when things don`t go right. We bought an excursion for a large group and there was not a enough room on the bus to transport us to the excursion. I believe they oversold it and were scrambling to figure out what to do. The rep told me that it was our groups fault because we wanted to travel together to the excursion. I assumed that was the point when you purchase as a group.

Overall the hotel has a lot of potential and already some great people working their but need to work on the details and consistency.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ramtravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACMRNG, Management Team at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Ramtravels2014,

Thank you for choosing Royalton Negril for your recent vacation and taking the time out to share your experience with us.

We are pleased to view your comments highlighting our entertaining VIBE Team, especially Shanika, Junior and Lorenzo, our professional Fitness Instructor Everton, Bartenders King and Celone and the dedicated Child-care professionals; they will be acknowledged for their exceptional service.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconsistent service you have received while on vacation at our resort, we always strive to meet and exceed the expectations of our valued guests and in order for us to improve, your concerns were carefully noted and shared with our Training manager who will address your hosts issues, Housekeeping manager and Entertainment Manager who will implement the necessary measures for improvement and avoid any recurrence.

We hope to welcome you again so that we can deliver an incredible experience that will exceed your last.

Warmest Regards,

Royalton Negril
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The resort was absolutely beautiful and the workers were all so wonderful! Andre, Everton and Kaffain were all super great fitness team members who made the experience here very enjoyable and entertaining! Kaffain made the Boot camp workout fun yet super challenging at the same time! Andre was very kind and made trips to the gym super fun and entertained us around the resort! Everton was very personal (in a good way!) and interacted with everyone memorizing peoples names and made everyone feel welcome! The beaches were stunning as well!!!!!! The overall experience was incredible! :-) one of my favorite parts as well were the dance shows at night.... ALL the dancers were absolutely incredible!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACMRNG, Management Team at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Elizabeth A,

Thank you for choosing Royalton Negril for your recent vacation and taking the time out to share your experience with us.

We are pleased to view your comments highlighting beautiful resort, gorgeous beaches, hospitable hosts, especially Andre, Everton and Kaffain who contributed positively to your trip; they will definitely be recognized for their exceptional service and our exciting entertainment.

It would be our greatest pleasure to receive you again so that we can deliver another incredible vacation experience.

Best Regards,

Royalton Negril
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My wife and I stayed at this resort just before March break, so happily we missed the crowds. We’ve stayed at many resorts so we have some experience. We opted for the Diamond package, which has its ups and downs.

Bad:
1. When we arrived, being Diamond Club members, we were taken by golf cart along the back of the hotel to the “Diamond Club” check in building. First, you should never ever take a guest along the back of the hotel where the garbage bins are located, especially not the “Diamond Club” guests who are supposedly VIPs. I felt like I was being taken to the hired help entrance. It was a horrible idea that the first view I get of the hotel is the garbage bins and the back of the hotel. From a marketing perspective, horrible plan.
2. The place needs a bit of repair, which is surprising given that its only about a year old. Hallway doors from the stairwell were missing handles (not safe from a fire safety perspective), close to the stage there were steps missing requiring guests to take a large step (easily double the size of a typical step) to get up and down. Elderly were having a really hard time.
3. We were there for 7 days and 4 of those days the room wasn’t cleaned until after 5pm, once it was after 6pm. That’s when you want to get into your room, take a shower, and get ready for dinner. We did complain it was a bit better after that, but not much.

Soso:
We opted for the Diamond Club, which is good and bad. We didn’t see our “butler” the entire time we were there, but truthfully I’ve never needed one before, so no big deal. However, others we talked to received fruit baskets, wine, and great service from their “butler” so its hit and miss. However, being in a quieter part of the resort, having a quieter pool area, having more opportunity to get a chair by the ocean (we never had a problem), having a fantastic ocean view was worth the extra cost.

Good:
1. Overall this is a high end resort. We found the buffet food only acceptable, but way better than plastic foods in lower end resorts. The restaurant food was excellent.
2. The resort is very clean and very friendly. All the staff did a great job catering to us, which is what you want on vacation.
3. The first room we were shown was musty, we asked for an alternative and were given one right away. The second room was fine.
4. The beach was outstanding! It was clean, it was well maintained, and the beach staff very friendly.

Overall we had a fantastic time and will go back.

Date of stay: March 2018
6  Thank nework_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACMRNG, Management Team at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Nework_king,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation and taking the time out to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to read your comments highlighting our fantastic ocean views, exquisite taste of our A La Carte Restaurant meals, cleanliness of the resort, hospitable and companionable hosts, gorgeous beach and the friendliness of the beach hosts.

Kindly accept our sincerest apology for any inconsistent service received during your stay, your concerns were duly noted and shared with our Diamond Club™ Manager, Maintenance Manager, Housekeeping Manager and Butler Manager who will treat these issues as areas of opportunities for improvement and avoid any recurrence.

It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you again so that we can deliver an experience that will certainly exceed your last.

Best Regards,

Royalton Negril
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews