We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 234
USD 212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
USD 161
USD 138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
USD 77
USD 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 61
USD 53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 216
USD 210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 302
USD 250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
USD 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pure Garden Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
USD 66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
USD 76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
208
18
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
18
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround houseltu pubrick's cafecomplete privacywest endevery morningcliff divingcolettecottagecavespropertysunsetoceanjamaicavacationduplexsnorkel
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Thank you Citronella for yet another amazing experience! I have been staying with you since the 80"s, and I am more in love with this beautiful place every time. From the welcoming staff and accommodating owners John and Cathy,you will want for nothing. The view from our porch of the cove house is simply breathtaking, and the water feels like silk.This year we hosted a dinner party at the great house for a very special friends birthday. Adrian came up with an amazing menu, the meal was the best we had all week . The attention to detail and many extra touches made the night flawless and unforgettable! I can hardly wait to come back to the place that always makes my heart happy! Thanks again , Laurie Bettinger.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thanks Laurie for taking the time to write the glowing review. And for choosing Citronella as your vacation destination time and time again. We hope to have you back again and make the next visit even better than the last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A sigh of joy, a smile of contentment, a heart full of memories... This is what we feel every time we step on to the veranda of the Cove House at Citronella. We have been staying here since the early 80's. We love the rustic beauty of the house and the lush vegetation that surrounds us. The view of the Caribbean from the veranda on the cliffs is unsurpassed. The house was spotless and the maids who come every day kept it that way. The owners, John, Cathy and their son Adrian and all of the staff were accommodating and friendly. We were greeted every morning with a continental breakfast of fruit, toasted spice bread and hot Jamaican coffee. We also ordered breakfast several times. It was always delicious. During this trip we were celebrating the 50th birthday of a friend. Adrian prepared a special dinner for 8 that surpassed even the best restaurants around. The small rustic restaurant for the guests was candle lit with reggae music playing in the background. The appetizer of black bean humus was the best we've ever had. The meal that followed was delicious in every respect. A great time was had by all.
We always feel safe when we stay here. Each house is private and peaceful. In the evening we always watch the sun as it sets. Citronella has probably one of the best spots on the cliffs for this daily event. We look forward to when we can return to our home away from home at Citronella. Jamaica, you steal our souls every time we come here. Paul and Linda Weckel

Room Tip: The Cove House is the largest house on the property. The veranda is wonderful. The upstairs west bedroom faces the sea. The upstairs back bedroom is quiet and has a huge bed. There is a nice downstairs bedroom as well. The house has a small kitchen, an area with a large table and a small inside sitting area, although most of our time is spent on the veranda. There is no AC or TV. We don't miss these at all. Each bed has netting to keep out ant insects. The open window slats brings in fresh air all day and night. Ceiling and floor fans make the room comfortable for sleeping.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Paul and Linda - Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We're so glad you have enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

When we were planning our 2013 vacation, we thought on Jamaica as a target to get to know some of this different world. We live in Santiago, Chile, and were excited to travel to the Caribbean and make the most of it.
We summarize the Citronella stay for us as the “real Jamaican experience”. My wife, daughter and me stayed at the A frame during about one week in February. Really all was outstanding. We thought that insect could bother us, but not even that! Sleeping in the cottage, with just having louvers controlling the comfortable, natural airflow, hearing the sound of the sea in the background, it is really hard to describe. Cathy and John, the owners were really nice to us. We were able to share with them their experience of 40 years related to Jamaica. The people who work there were also so nice to us. Special mention to Colette and Derrick, who cared about our breakfast. We were really delighted. It is the contact with nature, but on the comfort of a well-built and cared cottage.
Our experience was to enjoy the place, snorkeling (John provided us the required stuff), relaxing, watch the sunset while live Reggae was performed on the nearby located Rick’s café, prepare our own food, learning Jamaican recipes, enjoy the privacy of the place. Also, we rented a car, and had the opportunity to do several excursions. We were able to travel all around the island, having as base Citronella. We visited the Ocho Ríos Dolphin cove, and Dunn’s river falls. We recommend not to miss that!
We will remember the place and the people for ever, and it is our desire to come back. The good remembering will stay for us. Hope this post will help to people who are deciding about their vacation. Go to Citronella! You will appreciate it!
Francisco and family

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco_Prochaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks so much for the great review. We're glad you chose Citronella for your first trip to Jamaica and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My wife and I just got back from a very romantic and relaxing 4 day stay at Citronella. We stayed in the A Frame. Every cottage had its own private set of stairs leading to a platform and ladder into the ocean, each platform had a shower. The A Frame was an authentic open air Caribbean bungalow. We felt like real islanders. We slept most nights in the loft and enjoyed the ocean breezes which flowed through the house via wooden louvers that could be opened and closed. The A Frame is literally 15 feet from the edge of the rock cliff and overlooks a cove that is shared by the LTU Pub and Villas Sur Mer. The owners John and Kathy were very friendly as were all of the staff.
The best aspect of Citronella was the privacy. All of the houses were spaced sufficiently apart and landscaping helped to shield the cottages. We ate lunch at the Rock House, another popular cliffside resort and were thankful we chose Citronella. The cottages and sunbathing platforms at Rock House were on top of each with the restaurant and bar overlooking them.
Our house had a cooler, which we loaded up with beer, the property also offers snorkeling gear, which I’d recommend for viewing the abundant coral and fish in the cove. Kathy can recommend cab drivers that will pick you up from the airport in Montego Bay. We paid $80 each way. Ask your cab driver to stop at the grocery store in Negril and stock up on sundries (Beer and Rum). Try mixing dark rum and Jamaican Ginger Beer. The cottages have refrigerators and coolers. We packed in all of our beer and rum. There is a small store about 1/3 mile walk from the resort that we used to get more ice every day. Trevor (one of the staff members) will make runs to the store for you as well. There are a lot of folks hustling up and down the street, especially near Rick’s, but they are all harmless and nice and it is not nearly as bad as 7 mile beach.
The A Frame seemed to be the most private of the cottages, but the down side was the music from the bars on that side. Rick’s (billed as one of the Top 10 bars in the world) was surprisingly not bad, they featured decent live reggae every night, which we would listen to while watching the sun set. The LTU wasn’t bad either and both seemed to shut down the music by 9-10:30. The worst for noise was the Villas Sur Mer, a resort that appeared to cater to trust fund kids from South Florida or Orange County. They listened to a selection of bad techno and gangsta rap until 1 AM. We read warnings in other reviews and brought ear plugs. The beds features mosquito nets, but we had no issues with bugs in March and did not use them after the first night.
We walked almost everywhere for meals. Cabs are abundant, and stop to ask you if you want a ride when you walk. Make note of the color of the license plate. A true cab has a red plate, they pay local taxes and have appropriate insurance, private vehicles have white plates, but some will try to pick you up. It will cost you around $10 to take a cab into Negril. The Rock House had great food and you must have the jerk chicken with rice/beans at either De Bar or 3 Dives (same owners). My wife was glad she had her Hep A shot after eating at De Bar, as it looks pretty rough, but it was the best chicken I have ever eaten. Neither of us had any issues with getting sick from food or water. The food at Citronella was very good, you need to pre-order if you are going to have diner. They offer a free continental breakfast in the morning, but it is very modest. We bought lunch food and cereal, which held us over until dinner. The ants are bad, so keep your food in the hanging baskets. They infested a box of raisins we left on the counter overnight. The hot water supply was spotty when we were there as they are experiencing a severe drought and the property’s hot water supply requires pressure from the city lines to operate. This was a minor annoyance. I bathed down in the showers by the cove twice, the place is that secluded.
I would highly recommend Citronella, there are not many places left like this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at the A-Frame cottage at Citronella in March 2013. The property is beautiful! We felt as if we had our own huge property. There were lounge chairs, wood deck chairs and also another set of chairs with a cement table all right in front of the cottage. A-Frame has its own sea entrance, which seemed to be the biggest entrance of all the other cottages. The room had a full kitchen and big fridge, which came in very handy. The sun sets right in front of the room, so that was a huge plus. You can also watch the divers at Rick's cafe right from in front of the room. Cathy was a wonderful and friendly host. The housekeeping staff, Millie, Annmarie and Angela, were outstanding! They were extremely friendly and our cottage was kept immaculate at all times. If you're not a swimmer, though, Citronella doesn't have a pool. We prefer the sea, so that wasn't a problem for us. Would definitely recommend Citronella to anyone who wants to chill, relax, frolic in the sea and get away from it all.
Tom and Lucretia, New York, NY

Room Tip: A-Frame has a great sea entrace. The stairs aren't very steep and are very large and easy to navigate.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucretia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Tom & Lucretia - just wanted to thank you for taking time to leave the great review. We really appreciate it, and hope to have you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews