We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destined for greatness!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Destined for greatness!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I were fortunate to spend a night at the Spa Retreat the evening of April 20th. From the time we rode through the gate we were truly impressed with the quality of the resort. Although they have only been up and running for about 6 months the lush, meticulous landscape that embraces the resort appears to have been there for decades. The resort is immaculate and very intimate. This is an exceptional place for couples who appreciate great service and wonderful amenities. My wife had a massage with Denisha and said it was the best she had ever had anywhere. We have traveled to many nice resorts throughtout the carribean including anse chastenet (st lucia) and Bitter End Yacht Club (BVIs). The Spa Retreat does a fantastic job of balancing the quiet boutique feel with the luxuries that many find important like strong water pressure and cold air conditioning. Nothing appears out of place and the staff is friendly and helpful but not overbearing. The food is the best in Negril and a moonlight dinner for two by the water over candlelight is a must. They even provide small flashlights to help read the menu as your primary light is the stars and the tiki torches, very nice touch. You truly feel like you are at your own private resort and the resort owners dog Rosa adds a homelike atmosphere often accompanying snorklers on their jump into the crystal blue waters in front of the resort. Another bonus is that unlike many negril high end cliff resorts they have a beach where the lounge chairs are so you can still enjoy the beach feel while enjoying the unique experience that is the negril cliffs. Plan to leave the resort feeling refreshed and without a care in the world.

Room Tip: We were upgraded into the ocean view suite which had the best views in the resort from our porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AndyatlAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your fabulous review of The SPA Retreat Boutique hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our intimate property, including the small beach area, which we must agree is the perfect addition to our cliff side accomodations. We look forward to your return to "Negril's Newest Gem"! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    45
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
397
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at The SPA Retreat for four nights in April and our only complaint was that it wasn't long enough! We had high hopes for the hotel based on pictures we had seen and reviews we had read, but the property exceeded our expectations. The stonework and lush tropical landscaping were beautiful, but what really struck us initially was how peaceful it felt! We stayed in Octagon 2, which had gorgeous views from every window and door and we left the windows and doors open much of the time to smell the sea breeze and abundant tropical flowers. We loved the feeling of privacy we felt, and it was like a second honeymoon (after 17 years of marraige), staying in the unique stone cottages.

One of our very favorite things to do was snorkel right on sight, and we spent two mornings viewing the amazing world found just under the surface. We had thought that we were going to reserve a boat and guide to take us somewhere to snorkel, but decided against it when we found the snorkeling so amazing in the reefs in front of the hotel. The best snorkeling is found in front of where the spa is located. The reefs were teeming with a variety of colored fish and many times we were surrounded by clouds of small silver fish. The most beautiful thing we saw was a giant spotted eagle ray gracefully swimming by.

We would recommend requesting Howie to drive you around if you want to venture off the property. He is so friendly, with a ready smile, and told us all about what we were seeing and really knew his way around. He took us to Rick's Cafe and Mayfield Falls (which we would recommend) through the mountains and knew just the place when we wanted to try some local food for lunch. We tried "Juicy Patties" and had a pattie, which was a flaky pastry filled with meat or vegetables, and coco bread. He also took us to some local vendors to try all kinds of fruits that we had never heard of, and got us a great deal on jetskiing. We also used Donavan, who was a great driver as well, who took us to try fresh coconuts and to the craft market.

The staff was so friendly and helpful, but nonintrusive. We fell in love with Sherrill who helped us with breakfast every morning and was sweet and easy to talk to. Wayne, the bartender, was really great as well. Neither I nor my husband drink alcohol, and Wayne had fun creating different virgin drinks for us to try. Dian, at the front desk, went above and beyond to help make sure we had everything just the way we wanted it. Everyone was ready with an easy smile and willing to do anything they could to accomodate us.

We would recommend getting a massage while you stay. The spa is going to be gorgeous when it is completed, but it didn't matter that it wasn't done while we were there. We had our couples massage seaside, under a white fabric-draped awning, and nothing could be more relaxing than hearing only the sea crash against the reefs, feel the cool sea breeze, smell the salty air and the abundant flowers, all while having a relaxing massage. Michelle gave me the best massage of my life, and my husband said that Daniesha did a very good job as well.

We ate many of our meals at The Blue Mahoe, on site. We only went all-inclusive one day, since we were out and about during lunch, but the other days we got the package that included breakfast and dinner. For breakfast, we enjoyed the omelettes, muffins, fresh juice and akee and saltfish (the Jamaican national dish). The best thing we had at lunch was the coconut shrimp. Dinner was delicious. We really enjoyed the appetizers, so order more than one! The coconut shrimp and calamari were our favorite, but the bruchetta and lobster skewers were a close second. Our favorite entrees were the scotch bonnet chicken, the surf and turf, and the coconut snapper, but everything was very good. Our favorite sides were the bammy and the callaloo.

All in all, we were surprised how relaxing and peaceful it was. We really felt that we had made the right decision going with a smaller, boutique type property, especially after visiting seven mile beach with it's crowds of people and more commercial feel. This is the perfect getaway if you want peace, quiet, relaxation and beauty, but in easy reach of lots of exciting and interesting things to do and see. We would love to go back!!

Room Tip: The octogans (cottages) are the most unique and have the best view. Octogan 1 is close to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bryanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
It was a pleasure to have you as guests of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! It is always nice to receive positive comments & feedback from our guests. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and customer service from our team. We must agree, the snorkelling along the reefs is spectacular! Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I spent a week in Jamaica to celebrate my recent retirement and birthday. We took a day trip from our resort in Montego Bay to Negril to try out the new spa and to visit friends at another resort. We're from Ottawa and are familiar with the Spa Day Retreat in Kanata so we wanted to see what the Negril spot was like. It was fabulous! We only had time for massages and wine at the bar but we plan to return for a stay next time we're in Jamaica. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Poseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the trip from Montego Bay to visit The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel for massages & wine! What a pleasure to host such special clients of ours from our SPA's in Ottawa, Canada at our new location in Negril, Jamaica! We trust you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to having you as guests at any one of our international locations again soon! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

In a nutshell: beautifully designed and landscaped property, gorgeous views (it's on Negril shoreline, so what do you expect?) , excellent food, warm hospitality from staff AND owners.

The property isn't much to look at from the road; but once inside you're in for a treat. Each room is a separate little octagonal (8-sided) thatched-roof cottage with stone walls, a patio facing the sea, and lots of windows. I fell in love with the raised ceiling and exposed wooden beams. Except for the lack of tv and telephone (at the time of my visit they were still working on the property), the room was PERFECT. And if you REALLY want to retreat, the lack of phone and tv will be perfect for you!

Now let's talk about the restaurant. More wooden beams in the ceiling, and lots of beautiful blue mahoe wood floors. Lots of sea views. FANTASTIC food. I had a PERFECT jerk chicken salad; my colleague had a traditional Jamaican coco bread stuffed with lobster. The staff was warm, friendly, informal yet professional, and the owners are very hands-on and friendly but unintrusive.

This trip was for work, but I've made a note that my husband and I MUST return to this hotel to... Retreat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the Octagons. Those have the sea views and are simply charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this fabulous review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We welcome positive comments and feedbck and are thrilled to learn of your experience with us. Our team is delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and warm hospitality. In the future, we would be pleased to enhance your stay by supplying a flat screen television in your accomodations, a service we offer upon special request. Guests are also provided a personal cell phone per/room for access to room service, the SPA, or the Front Desk. This phone is also loaded with international minutes (in Canada & US calls only) for free calls back home from the privacy of your room. We look forward to your return! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Spa Retreat in March. The staff was excellent. They worked hard to meet our every request, and made an effort to make a personal connection that you don't often see at resorts. Food and beverages were terrific. Grounds are immaculate. The construction (stone and hardwoods) is beautiful.

We chose not to go all inclusive. It was a good choice for us as we are not big drinkers, and we ventured off site for some meals.


It was not all perfect for us. The property is brand new. In some cases, its not quite done. There is still construction in the Spa area so some services may be impacted from time to time. They were just completing their on-site water supply. Unfortunately for us it was not completed soon enough as we did experience some water pressure problems.

I saw visible evidence of a fix for this issue, so I would not expect anyone else to have this problem. I was impressed by the staffs' efforts to address the issue - which was really beyond their control while we were there.

We saw and reported some rough edges in the rooms. None of these presented any problems for us - just some things that you would expect to find a little nicer at a resort of this caliber. In all cases, the staff wrote down our suggestions, and the owner met with us to Thank us personally for the suggestions. I have confidence that all of the minor suggestions we made will be addressed.

I would return, and I would recommend it. We came away from The Spa Retreat refreshed and relaxed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are best, but look for units with a full roof over the porch. Thatch only won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We are always so grateful for feedback as these are opportunities for our team to continually improve. We trust that you enjoyed your time spent with us in Negril, Jamaica. Anticipate a newly enhanced water pressure system and state of the art SPA facilities upon your return! Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.1 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
206.0 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.9 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.4 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
3.3 km away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
3.0 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price range (per night): $282 - $463
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing