We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,602)
Filter reviews
4,602 results
Traveller rating
3,080
1,071
267
133
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,080
1,071
267
133
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscassava terracethe red flag servicecatamaran cruisepiano barotaheite restaurantheliconia grilllychee restaurantcouple negrilour honeymoonnude beachother resortsthe fine dining restaurantwater sportsswim up barbloody baylobster nightrepeaters dinner
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 4,602 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My wife and I made our first trip to Jamaica and on the advice of our travel agent, decided on Couples Negril. What a great choice. We had a great time. The best was the Couples staff. You could not asked for a more friendly and efficient staff. We have travelled throughout the Caribbean including Sandals and the staff here were the best.
The beach was great, clear water and a great walking beach. No big issue with people trying to sell stuff on the beach. There was lots to do with hobie cats, paddle boards, etc.
Did a snorkel trip as well as a night snorkel which was a lot of fun. The food was exceptional. All restaurants served great food and it was not over the top in serving size. Only negative was the trip to Margaritaville. Waste of time. I guess it is nice to provide the option but you will never get back those 4 hours! I cannot say enough good things about this resort. We will be back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was our second trip to Couples Negril (first one was 9 years ago). It appeared that not that much had changed over the years in terms of rooms, restaurants, pool, beach, entertainment.
Arrival: after a loooooooong flight from Amsterdam, we arrived around 6pm at Montego Bay airport. Immigration procedures and collecting luggage went quite smoothly, so after some waiting at the Couples lounge in the arrival hall, we departed for what was supposed to be a 1.5 hr drive to Negril.
As there had been some recent gang killings in the Montego Bay area, police had set up some checkpoints on the road to Negril, which resulted in huge traffic jams and us not arriving at Couples Negril until 11pm, thirsty, hungry and tired after having traveled for 23 hours.
We were welcomed with a cold towel, a glass of bubbles and a big smile by the girl at the front desk, who joined us to show our room, while the bellboy followed with our luggage.
Room: we had a Deluxe Ocean room at the ground floor. The room itself was nice, with renovated bathroom. The only issue was the location opposite a storage facility for towels and bed linen, and opposite a ice container, so every morning around six we were wakened up by the noise of cleaning staff and their carts who came to collect the materials they needed to do their job, and by the noise of the ice container being refilled.
Cleaning of the room was impeccable, and every day we found a new animal on our bed, made from towels.
Restaurants: at the open air Cassava Terrace for breakfast and lunch a buffet with a wide range of cold and warm dishes is available. Quality is good. Service varies. Some of the serving staff is very nice and friendly. Others give the impression they have to do a job, but would prefer to stay home or spend their day at the beach. This restaurant also is used for dinner, some nights buffet as well, other nights a la carte. In the evening the restaurant is very dark, so we needed our phones as flashlight.
Best restaurants for dinner in our opinion are Otaheite (reservation required) and Lychee (Asian cuisine). These really are outstanding, with much better service than at Cassava.
Then there is the Beach Grill & Heliconia for lunch (mainly burgers and pizza) and dinner. Just average. In the evening sometimes long waiting times.
Pool and beach: we did not spend any time at the pool, so cannot say anything about it. The beach is very nice, wonderful white sand, clear water, no rocks. There is enough loungers. No umbrellas, but many trees to provide shade when needed. The resort has a separate nude beach, pretty small and quite popular so you have be early to find your preferred location. The nude beach has its own beach bar.
Entertainment: the resort has an entertainment team which arranges all kind of activities in and around the pool and on the beach during daytime. In the evening there is entertainment (singers, bands) in the Cassava Terrace restaurant. Quality varies a lot. In our memory evening entertainment was better nine years ago. For us the Silverbird Steeldrum band were the best. Some nights, depending on the weather conditions, evening entertainment (and buffet dinner) is on the beach.
In general the entertainment here ends at 10pm, 10:30pm at the latest. Those who do not want to go to sleep at that time already, have to move to the piano bar, where there is sing-a-longs and karaoke until the early hours. The piano player is creating a great atmosphere, and there in general there is a lot of fun and laughter in the late hours.
Resort: the gardens between the buildings are wonderful. So many trees and plants, maintained very well by the staff.
In conclusion: nice resort, great beach, good food, in general somewhat older guests.
Tip: have the photoshoot done. You pick the nicest pics and pay per pic.

Room Tip: Ocean view and beach view rooms have the nicest view, and in general are the most quiet ones.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hans_Ellis_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our second trip to Couples Negril and we are counting down the days until our next trip. The staff provides impeccable service and they genuinely care about their guests. We were treated like family. The food is amazing at every restaurant. We love all of the water sports and the life guards are so helpful. Shanae created a beyond spectacular private dinner on the beach for us. If you are looking for the most beautiful water and setting you can imagine with service that is second to none Couples Negril is your place.

Stayed: April 2018
5  Thank 1freeswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I recently traveled to Couples Negril to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. We had read many reviews about this place before and saw many repeaters who continually go to this location yearly. Now once that we've been, we know why. It's incredible! They have one of the most beautiful beaches, great beach seating each providing a water float. The food was amazing and we had lots of choices to choose from nightly, however our absolute favorite restaurant was Lychee! It was an incredible Asian cuisine that served fresh sushi, amazing pad Thai, delicious lobster, and a variety of incredible appetizers. Each day/night the resort had activities and entertainment planned. Daily we played volleyball both beach and pool with the fun-loving enthusiastic, Ackeem. He always greeted us by name and made sure we we're always happy and enjoying our stay. Great hospitality! Among Ackeem were other individuals in the resort who made our stay exceptional as well! Great service! Stop by the pool bar to see the sweet Ivylin and Denva who will both keep you laughing. Renae made our days entertaining with daily trivia and always had a smile on her face.
The resort has a variety of excursions and activities Available to all guest. We went paddle boarding, kayaking, on the catamaran cruise, scuba diving, and the glass bottle boat tour. We really loved all the amenities included and had great service with both Ryan and England in the water activities center!
Don't forget to take advantage of the photography session provided by the resort, Jason took some of my most favorite pictures to capture our memories!
We enjoyed everything about this resort and hope to return soon!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Whitney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My partner and I (in our mid-late forties) visited Couples Negril for 10 days from mid to late March 2018. It was our 4th visit to Bloody Bay (unfortunate name), and 2nd to CN. And, in short, we’re already looking forward to being back :)

The DETAILS…..

1. Beach and location. This is a great little stretch of shoreline at the end of the beach, so it’s pretty much the resort’s. Great sand and water! Also, beach towels and chairs always available, however, to get your absolutely preferred spot, you’ll need to get up and claim it by 8:30am (that sucks). However, if you miss it, don’t sweat it as you will find something great and you can adjust over the course of the day ….if you can be bothered.

Also, since our last visit, it looks like there have been improvements with the size of swimming areas. It looks like you can both go further out – and not have to worry about the few boats that go by – which is fantastic!!! Also, there was a roped zone/lane that lets people swim the past all the resort swimming areas. Great idea, and coordination amongst resorts!

Nude beach and swimming area. We really appreciate this option. The area is clean, nicely enclosed and always respectful people there. We cherish this opportunity to be free (plus, get rid of tan lines!).

2. Site and atmosphere. It’s a smaller resort with lovely gardens and atmosphere. A big plus is that it is not a “party AI”. No loud music constantly blaring. Most people are 50+, although we did occasionally see a few couples in 30s. This is a place for quiet and restoration.

That said, you will always find some people who are a little louder, but that’s generally not the case. Those who want more social buzz situate closer to the central pool, while those that want tranquility go to the periphery. Nice.

Also, it was great that water or drinks, showers and bathrooms were never far away. We generally only used the smartphone in our room, but when needed Wifi was available everywhere, consistently.

We LOVE the grounds. The lushness, variety and spacing that they offer between and around buildings is truly one of the things that makes the resort very special. Couple Negril recognizes the importance of this towards the quality of the resulting experience.

The new Royalton development on the neighbouring property (former Grand Lido): This redevelopment opened this year next to CN and it’s a different type of scale (big) and cliental (families) than the Grand Lido that was there before, which was in keeping with the rest of the resorts. There are two main effects on CN:

First, the Royalton is all about programming, which means talking through sound systems and music, but fortunately it’s not audible all the time and, generally, it’s most significantly heard when you go out in the water. It is a very DENSE resort – more like a city – so it is not a place for tranquility. But, CN is pretty nicely insulated from it. Note: We were not staying in the blocks most closest to it.

Secondly, the extent of the new Royalton development went WAY beyond what it was as Grand Lido. They killed the amazing sunset & landscape view that ALL the other resorts on Bloody Bay had, by developing out to the further reaches of the peninsula. So, now rather than having a beautiful silhouette of an expanse of palm trees terminating with the setting sun, you have the silhouette of the never ending big blocks and flat hard lines right out to the sea edge and then the sunset (they saved three palm trees for the end). You have to be very careful now how you frame your photo (see photos below) This is shameful. Shame on them and on the municipality for permitting this design.

3. Staff. VERY hard working, polite, with smiles on their faces. Professional, do their job well, and never stand around waiting for a tip (which is not technically permitted at this AI. We did, however, reward service where they went above and beyond). We were always treated very well. Great consistency. We love that even backline staff who come out doing errands always offer up a ‘hello’ or ask ‘is everything good, mun??’. It really makes you feel welcome. They are ALL excellent workers! By the way, thanks to Akeim at Guest Services who treated us well the whole trip. However, it’s worth noting all at Guest Services were great, as well as front desk from check in to check out.

4. Room. Clean, nicely decorated, maybe some elements slightly outdated, but also evidence of good renovations too, like new washroom, flat-screen tv (with good channel selection… which we rarely used). Lots of shelving. Nice balcony and views. Quiet and close to everything. After walking around, it looked like almost all buildings would be good locations.

5. Food/restaurants. Generally VERY GOOD - from breakfast to dinner. There was excellent variety and very good quality ingredients, so we never got tired of the menu. That’s pretty amazing, and an key criterion for us. Some dinners, mostly appetizers, could be excellent. Reservations were only required at one restaurant which is nice.

Thank you very much to Tasheka at the main restaurant bar and Nikoy at the omelette station in the mornings. They are working very hard, and it does not go unappreciated.

We really like the new Veggie/Juice Bar, which provided awesome drinks, plus light eating throughout the day. Shout out to Taneisha and Cavel, who were both always working very hard every moment that it’s open. They always produced the goods! I loaded up on coconut water, and they always made great pineapple, banana, papaya w. honey smoothies. That’s for keeping us healthy and happy!

We were also VERY pleased to see them offering a very good range of GLUTEN FREE options, and clearly marked as such. A whole section has been created. Fantastic. However, we’d really appreciate a couple of improvements:
a. Offer gluten free hamburger buns, so burgers can also be enjoyed
b. Offer gluten free pizza crust. Heliconia Restaurant offers great lunch time/day menu, but most of it can’t be enjoyed for people needing gluten free.
We should also acknowledge servers, Shadane and Julia (trainee) for a great job. However, there are so many servers who, generally, all deserve acknowledgement. They always made sure we were tended too. If anything, I’d say hold back a little on the coffee pouring. If I left the table for a minute, I’d come back with an entirely full cup again. I didn’t like wasting all that great coffee, but I can’t drink that much either!

6. Recreation/activities. Hobie Cat; paddleboards/kayaks; snorkelling, sunset cruise; all free.yoga and pilates, included if you like. Also, many great little activities, like couples massage, jewellery or hat making, rock painting, mixology. We really appreciated the addition of the classes in: Jamaica history, herbology, and coffee (great job, Deene and your apprentice. We didn’t catch her name but she was very personable). The nature walk around the grounds was well worth it. Donovan was perfect – knowledgable and a gentleman. Thank you. Also, the night frog hunt was actually a really cool (and short) excursion. Thanks, Sonya!

One annoyance, however, was that rock painting never happened. It happens once a week, and no one ever showed up twice. It was never indicated that it was cancelled. It’s a loss for the opportunity for the personalized souvenir/experience, plus we’d rather continue relaxing somewhere else or taking part in another schedule activity. This happened with a couple of other classes too. So, the consistency should be improved – or, if it not’s going to happen, please indicate that on a board somewhere. Time is precious,and limited in this paradise.

There are also four nice tennis courts, with clinics and private lessons INCLUDED. We both took advantage of this and really felt the quality was excellent. Thank you very much to Kevin, the private instructor, who gave me some great tips to go away and work with. Also, the visiting instructor while we were there, Jim, was excellent too. He ran great exercises, adapted to skill levels, and focussed on hitting with concise, meaningful tips. THANK YOU.

7. Entertainment. We really liked the entertainment group. The shows were based on local talent and local arts. We really like that. But, of course, there were some shows that played “the hits”, but even then it was good talent with their own interpretations. Also, they were there to entertain you – it wasn’t the generic shtick of making your audience the entertainment , i.e “grab reluctant people from the audience and make do silly things that they really don’t enjoy doing”. This was funny in high school.

Shout out to Okeno, who is always busy keeping people happy.

We also loved the Silverbird (?) Steeldrum band. Fantastic youth, talent and energy!

8. Gift shops. Two of them, one more clothing & accessories related. Both quite good with selections on a variety of items. Pretty nice stuff too.
Timoy was very attentive, professional and friendly. Great job!

On another note, we enjoyed that vendors on the site were generally not pushy, just smiles.

THE SUMMARY:
Overall, there is nothing notably negative that can be said about this AI --- it’s all great stuff. Couples has really put a lot of thought into what their clients value and what is at the core of that experience, and they are sticking with that. High quality and thought to details are fuelled by great staff.
A great AI with excellent overall value. We’ll be back, and we can’t wait!

Happy trails!

GlobalTime

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GlobalTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews