We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A week in Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Property
Private Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Front of Property
Private Beach
Private Beach
Club House
Sunset at Rick's Cafe
Infinity Pool at Club House
Pool at Club House
Sunset at back of property
Kitchen
Front Property
Powder Room
Dining Area
Kitchen - Washer/Dryer
Little Bay Country Club - Birds Eye View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Negril, Westmoreland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sara E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week in Paradise!”
Reviewed 9 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Canary House was a wonderful place to stay with breathtaking views of the ocean from the cliffs located at the rear of the property. There was an infinity pool that overlooked the ocean and a private beach area within the complex, if you wanted a quiet vacation. If you needed to explore, Bloody Bay Beach was within walking distance but there were mostly resorts; it also included a market area. Seven Mile Beach was short drive away with the driver. We walked the beaches each day and could stop for drinks or snacks at Seven Mile Beach. The Seven Mile Beach was beautiful with turquoise blue waters and white sands and there was much more activity and restaurants to explore. The driver, Troy was very knowledgeable of the area and stopped at a grocery store, fruit stand and Jerk Chicken place that was amazing upon our pick up from the airport; he gave us an informative tour of Jamaica. The condo included a kitchen and barbeque which allowed us to prepare our own meals for the week. This was a much more relaxing vacation than staying at a resort with constant music playing, scheduled meal times and drinking going on. We went to the Zimbali retreat at Prity's recommendation and thoroughly enjoyed the tour of their farm, retreat and watching the 5 course meal that was prepared in front of us. We tried to learn the many different types of fruit and vegetables that we were shown earlier and received more knowledge of the Jamaican culture. Mama Dee, the housekeeper was a wonderful host and welcomed us as soon as we arrived. We went to Rick's Cafe to take in the sunset and also explored the caves at Xtabi. We didn't want to leave or want our vacation to end!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2018
Thanks Sara for your kind words! We are happy to have had such wonderful guests like yourselves. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Jamaica and at Canary House Negril!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tubadaddy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“An incredible home away from home in paradise!”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

There aren't enough words to describe our recent stay at the Canary House and Jamaica! But I'll give it a shot!

Our hostess with the mostest, Prity, was/ is amazing! Before, during and even afterwards she was just a quick text away to help us in any way necessary. She answered all of my questions (of which there were many) very promptly and offered many valuable and helpful tips. And while we were on the island, she let us know if she wouldn't be available for a specified time period. And, to top it all off, she has a very enjoyable sense of humor. Love her!!!

Her housekeeper, Momma Dee, is also a total delight! We love her to death! She is so sweet and, by the way, an incredible cook! We were fortunate enough to spend some quality time with her, her husband Roy (a beautiful human being) and even her daughter and granddaughter! Momma Dee and her family are just fantastic! A taste of true Jamaica, at its finest!

The house is perfect. With just my wife and I, it was more than spacious enough! We could have had several more with us and been totally comfortable. And the view overlooking the Caribbean Sea is breathtaking! Just sit out on the patio by the water and sip some tasty Jamaican coffee brewed up in the provided coffee press. Heaven! Virtually everything we needed was available to us. We did need to get some bath soap and a few other essentials (e.g., Red Stripe and rum punch fixings :) but the kitchen is fully stocked if you'd like to cook.

The club house with its pool and sandy beach area are just right. Plenty of space to get some sun and shade when you've had too much.

The binder that Prity keeps in the house has an enormous amount of information is such a big help. This is the first time to Jamaica for my wife and my second, but the first was at an all inclusive so getting around on our own this time and knowing which spots to go to and dine at was an immense help! And I have to say that I'm so happy we did stay here (rather than an all inclusive) so that we could partake of some wonderful Jamaican meals without feeling the need to eat at the resort.

We rented a car from Avis and I'm glad we did. Though, had I wrote this review after the first day, I'm not so certain I would have been able to say that. If you've never driven on the left side of the road, it takes a little getting used to. And some of the local drivers are, to put it mildly, a tad bit insane in the way they pass and where they pass. But you get used to it and I felt it was very helpful to be able to just hop in the car and go where we wanted/ needed to go without having to rely upon a driver. But just be warned: It can be a little hairy getting around, depending upon where you go. Just take your time and remember: no problem, mon!

If you don't feel like going out, Momma Dee can fix delicious meals for you or Norman (his contact info is in the binder) also delivers breakfast and lunch and that food is very tasty, too.

There are so many other things I could write about but suffice to say that this was a truly enjoyable and memorable trip! We found a place that feels like home and made some wonderful friends as a result of our staying at the Canary House!

Irie!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Hi Chris,

Thank you for all of your kind words! It was a complete pleasure having you as our guests! Our housekeeper and family had nothing but wonderful things to say about you. We would love to be able to host you again in the future.

Cheers!

Prity
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce A
Missoula
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The home is beautiful and the view and ability to snorkel right off the property is spectacular.”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the Canary House. It was clean and comfortable. Prity arranged for us to have a driver, Troy, pick us up and take us back to the airport. He was very knowledgeable and gave us a running history during our drives. He was also very accommodating in taking us places during our stay. We ate at Ivan's and it was delicious. Rick's is a fun spot to go and watch people jumping or diving from the cliffs. Be sure to bring or wear your bathing suit so you can join the fun! Verna cooked a wonderful Jamaican dinner for us one night of our stay. If you go, that is a must do while you are there. Zamboni was interesting but a terrible road to get there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Thank you Joyce. So glad you had a great time in Negril. Would love to host your group again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To live above the ocean and sky”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect vacation everything we needed Quiet time great snorkeling Mama Ds cooking MMMMMMMMH The Condo has personal touches like a collection of photos that really makes it feel like a home Cant wait to return Sheila

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thanks Sheila,

We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time in Jamaica and at our home. We look forward to hosting you both again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi C
1 review
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This is a beautiful house which is conveniently located at the heart of Negril, just a few minutes drive to grocery store and restaurants. House is clean and neat, the back yard has breathtaking views especially during sunset. The community is safely guarded, has swimming pool and a private beach. Prity was very nice and responsive. Mama Dee, the house keeper, prepared breakfast and dinner for us and we really enjoyed it. Thank you for a truly wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2017
Thanks Xi for your review! We were happy to host you and look forward to your return to Jamaica in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing