We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 114
USD 67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
USD 151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Shalom(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
USD 53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
USD 101
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
USD 441
USD 307
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Csompo Bed and Breakfast(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
364
22
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
22
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreggae beachbarefoot chefcassavawhite riverhumming birdsbed and breakfastother guestsbreakfast and dinnerlocal beachespumpkin ricelovely gueststhe main househome away from homemeals preparedauthentic jamaican experiencelikes and dislikesmajor attractions
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay the Blue House! Darrel, the chef, served fabulous breakfasts and dinners! The gardens are gorgeous, I was in awe of the air orchids and flowers. We would definitely suggest this small Bed and Breakfast if you are staying in Ocho Rios!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Just returned from seven lovely days at The Blue House.

All the team at The Blue House are ever so friendly and helpful. Darryl cooked us up a treat every morning for breakfast and Orlando, Keneisha, Jodane and Conroy were all so welcoming to us.

The Blue House arranges a free transfer to 2 x local beaches (bamboo beach charges 11 dollars for entry which isn't worth it in my opinion). Location is about a 10 minute drive from the town which hosts many restaurants and shops.

We arranged a return transfer from the airport in advance with Keneisha which cost 120 US dollars with a lovely guy called Patrick who ended up arranging all of our tours for us.

We made some great friends whilst staying here due to having breakfast together every morning and everyone mixing like one big family. This was a great experience for us and would highly recommend The Blue House.

Some tips:

We booked the hummingbird family room which was lovely and spacious. However we didn't realise the bathroom isn't ensuite and had to use the bathroom across the hall (which was solely for our use). We got used to this quite quickly and it wasn't a problem. All other rooms are ensuite.

If you walk down towards the main road and flag down a taxi with a red number plate (these are safer as have insurance) it won't cost you more than 1000 Jamaican dollars return. We used Patrick for one night and he charged us 3000 Jamaican dollars for the same journey. We didn't enquire about the tours with anyone else and just used Patrick but think it's worthwhile as will probably be a lot cheaper (although Patrick and his team of drivers are absolutely lovely and accommodating)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank cihan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Thank you Darryl, Elise & the rest of the staff for a wonderful 5 days of pampering, excellent food & great conversation. ( My recent weight gain'll be blamed on Darryl, of course, whose meals & desserts were simply irresistible & unmatched for flavor & presentation. The bread pudding will remain my favorite for a long time, I'm sure.)
The Cozy Cottage was an ideal cocoon, & being served meals on the terrace on a few occasions was like icing on a cake. I shall not hesitate to recommend the Blue House to all I meet. Looking forward to return visits, but not the weight gain :-) See you soon !

Room Tip: The Cozy Cottage is ideal for those wanting a bit of solace.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetgb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Would highly recommend! Great staff! Lovely guests! Fabulous service!

Breakfast was served a little early for us at 9am, but they were ever so lovely and saved it for us for when we woke. Attentive service! Very peaceful!

Around a 15/20 minute walk to one of the beaches and a 25 minute walk to the Reggae beach which has music, showers and a restaurant!

The views are lovely! We loved seeing the morning hummingbirds at breakfast! The great chats! The yummy food! The white water rafting was also so fun!

Try out some of the local food on the white river under the bridge - so good!

If you see a red van on the roadside selling pineapple and Coconut you MUST stop - the most freshest juiciest fruits we've ever tried!

Jangalee Seafood Joint was INCREDIBLE too! A little pricey but delicious!

A fabulous trip all around! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The upstairs bedrooms!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

My husband and I just returned from spending 5 nights in The Upper Room at The Blue House. The food, service and staff are all top-notch. Please note, however, that The Blue House offers the experience to reside with a Jamaican family -- brother and sister duo Darryl (The Barefoot Chef) and Elise Yap and their delightful 88 year old mother, Gloria. They live in their own quarters in The Blue House. You will not receive a resort experience here. But what you will receive will delight you:

* Decadent meals made to your tastes and needs. The meals prepared by Darryl were some of the best I have experienced in my travels. Sunday night -- fresh mahi mahi with chimichurri sauce, fried plantains, pumpkin rice, orange salad, and chocolate cake with mocha frosting! Monday breakfast -- fresh fruit (papaya, pineapple, orange half), veggie omelettes with fried plantains and toast. Tuesday breakfast -- salted codfish and greens, fried plantains, toast and festivals (slightly sweetened, fried dough -- try them with Guava jam!) Tuesday supper -- Oxtail stew with white beans (I could have drank the sauce, OMG so good), sauteed green beans and julienned carrots, rice and black beans AND fried chicken! For real, so much food, and all of it was amazing ... also that night we had carrot cake with rum soaked raisins and ice cream. A booze bomb in your mouth! Wednesday breakfast -- french toast, jerk pork sausage from a local butcher. We also had the usual fruit plate which included something new to us -- star apple! Wednesday evening we had our anniversary dinner poolside -- two stir fries: beef and cucumber, chicken with mixed mushrooms in oyster sauce, jasmine rice, and the lauded lychee refrigerator cake with refreshing whipped cream frosting. Thursday morning's breakfast was akee and saltfish. This was the only meal I did not love, but that might have had something to do with me feeling a bit "off" that morning. Thursday dinner -- goat curry, rice, dal, roti and shrimp. We were delighted that Elise joined us for dinner that night as we got to know her a bit more. Friday morning's breakfast before we departed was cornmeal pancakes with bananas foster (more rum!) and pecans, side of bacon, fruit plate.

The Blue House serves Blue Mountain coffee. Thanks to Orlando for learning that I enjoy coffee when I wake early in the morning. He always had the pot of coffee ready for me. Wine, beer and spirits are available through the Honor Bar at reasonable prices (compare their prices to the Bamboo Blu beach club and you will think their prices are a steal!). If you do not see something you need or want, just ask any of the staff (Orlando, Jodane, Conroy or Keneisha).

We used the services of their trusted driver, Patrick. We had thought about renting a car and driving ourselves, but we decided to pay for Patrick's services once we learned about the military roadblocks. Patrick seems to know EVERYONE as he gives a honk of the horn and a friendly wave.

The pool area at The Blue House is calm, peaceful, beautiful, lush, surrounded by flowers. Elise's orchids bloom throughout the property.

We stayed in The Upper Room which is in the rear of the main house. We had complete privacy when we wanted it. There are two showers in the huge bathroom -- the large one you see in the photos and another stall shower. There is a large walk-in closet with two hanging rods and shelves. We had plenty of room to hang all of our clothing for the week.

I wish The Blue House continued success. I will recommend it to everyone who is wanting to visit Jamaica.

Room Tip: The Upper Room (royal blue with large shower) is private and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews