We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,843)
Filter reviews
2,843 results
Traveller rating
2,289
376
124
36
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,289
376
124
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wobbly peacock le papillon beach butler royal grill east beach french restaurant terrace restaurant peter fraser french balcony arnold nugent lobster blt butler service rose water our honeymoon east wing food and beverage manager the general manager
Filter
Updating list...
2,328 - 2,333 of 2,843 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2010

After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor I was a little concerned about my visit to the Royal Plantation. But after my stay, I have decided some people just need something to complain about. We had an incrdible time from start to finish - the rooms, the food, the service - everything was excellent. Thanks to all the staff for making our visit so grand.

The only draw back was the distance from the airport but it was worth the ride.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at Royal Plantation in January 2010. We had a fantastic time. You've read about the great features of this resort (small size, service, food quality, the coffee, etc) in other reviews. I won't add to them here, except to say that I agree with all of them. But, I will offer a few tips that may make your trip more enjoyable:

* While the food is very high-quality for an all-inclusive, there's not a lot of choice on the menu. Suggestion: don't be shy to go off the menu; ask the team for what you want. They'll do their best to accommodate you. This goes for room service as well...

* If possible, ask for a room on the east side of the resort. The west side can get loud, with the sounds of the nearby restaurants.

* The staff will, at some point, try to sell you some photos or something called "Select Soiree", for repeat visits. I had no problem with this, as I found the sales tactics to be low-pressure and friendly. Still, it may help you to know that it's coming...

* Bring some bug spray. The mosquitos aren't bad, but they're around, and they can be a bit annoying at times.

* If you're at all interested in the beautiful plants and trees on the resort, the head of the grounds staff offers a tour once a week. It takes less than an hour, and is quite interesting.

* If you're a golfer, note that the course is a ten-minute shuttle ride away from the resort. The course is very nice, but not particularly interesting. None of the holes are memorable. You'll pay $17 for the caddy up front, and you may wish to tip around $15-$20 at the end. The rental clubs are pretty decent. Final note to the serious golfers: if you've never had a caddy before, be prepared for them to choose your clubs for you and pick your lines on the green. I could understand if a serious golfer didn't like that.

* I didn't play tennis, but I can say that the courts didn't look like they were in great shape. I could be wrong, though.

* If you're there in the winter, and you plan to swim in the sea, remember that the sun starts to set fairly early. By 4pm, the water's pretty cold.

* If they offer you more coffee, TAKE IT. :)

Have fun.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DKZ_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

from the moment our private driver pulled in front of this plantation style mansion I was in love. Two magnificent staircases sweep around to greet you and the large black and white harlequin style tiles force your view straight through the middle of this foyer to the ocean. The staff brought us chilled champagne, constantly I might add and cool hand towels to freshen up with. In fact they anticipated your needs from that moment forward. This was a butler's only adult retreat and yet I didn't feel awkward that we were not all couples. The food was beautifully prepared and always served with remarkable timing. I would suggest leaving the resort and zipping through the rain forest or rafting down the White River as we did. The tour operators were friendly, fun and helpful. Of course if you want to stay here all day I wouldn't blame you but I would seriously suggest a massage from Andrew who has palms the size of Rhode Island. In fact just ask Shawn Moses to make the reservation for you and tell him, Linda sent you!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuxuryTravelerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I am not going to repeat what has been said already
this is a first class property, and all the wonderful things you have read already, are true
now the slight negatives
the golf is like a sub par public course, its o,k. but if you are going for the golf, don't
the tennis courts are average, they are hard surface, if you play a lot of tennis, you may be a bit disappointed
the weather, this was a big one, lots of rain during our stay and I understand it does rain here in ocho rios
the beach, beautiful and very small, no long walks
the pool, only for dunking, not for laps

don't get me wrong, every positive comment you have read is true, I just wanted to review the things that really were not reviewed before

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We went there for our honeymoon. There are only 70 rooms in the entire hotel, so it was private and secluded, most romantic place ever! Everywhere you are the view is beautiful. The view from our french doors in our room was amazing as well as our balcony view. The food was outstanding and my husband works in New York City so he definately be a critic. He had not one bad thing to say! There is no buffet style, it is all made to order. The staff was phenomenal and you felt like you formed relationships with these people. Loved it all! We can't wait to go back for an anniversary!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilsec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews