We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superlative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superlative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Delivered in every respect, Sandals usually gets it right, but this resort is the best of the group we have visited. Wonderful location and tasteful surroundings. They really could not have done more to ensure that our every need was met - would certainly return. Special thank you to all the staff at Royal Plantation, especially to our butlers Damien & Kenroy .

Room Tip: They are all good....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nijinsky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,949
    314
    105
    34
    16
See reviews for
50
1,991
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is definitely the best resort on the island. Best food. Best ambiance. Best laid back faultless service and that coming from us who know how to complain when necessary is high praise indeed. Back to the beach for the afternoon and another 9 nights and days to go. Sheer bliss.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gazandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

After our fifth return visit in as many years to the Royal Plantation, we were again reminded of why this has become our second home. We were happy to see many familiar friends from our Jamaican family - Adrian and Cleon on the beach, Natalie at the beach grill, Gladstone and Marcilous at the bar, to name only a few. Our butlers were Sheldon and Tafari, who did a great job in taking care of us high-maintenance types. And, of course, Peter Fraser who manages the RP is his own sophisticated and sincere style.
We had a little rain, but that didn't stop us from enjoying a few new experiences with paddle-boarding, the sunset cruise, and a very intense Zumba class (thankfully, relief at the Wobbly Peacock was only footsteps away).
And one of the best parts of the RP experience is that it extends to the guests. We were so happy to see James and Elizabeth again, and delighted to meet new friends Steven and Jane.
I know of no better way to summarize than to mention that we re-booked for our sixth year right before we left. And as we were being shuttled to the airport, our driver dubbed us honorary "Jamericans"!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, all 74 rooms are suites with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatembucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, kent
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent 14 days at this resort and have never been so looked after, or experienced such hospitality. The staff are wonderful with simply too many to name and I would be afraid of missing someone out. They all take such pried in their work and to hear them speak about their Island you will never want to leave.

I had read the reviews prior to going and was worried it would not live up to expectations but I had nothing to worry about, from our welcome arrival to the moment we left when our butlers and the manager stood outside waving us goodbye.

Initially I was worried we would be waiting ages at Customs but this went quiet quickly (especially compared to the wait at Gatwick) the Sandals Lounge was quiet and refreshing before our transport and we waited no more than 10 minutes before ourselves and two other couples were taken to the resort.

Our room was what is classed as the basic but was excellent and the cleanliness and fixtures were of a very high standard. The views across the ocean were wonderful and the sound of the sea every night was magical.

We spent the first few days on the beach next to the beach bar but moved over to the other beach where the water sports are. We’d stayed away fearing it would be busy but in all honestly it was quieter and the beach butlers still turned up daily at 10:30am with the Mango Champagne Cocktails and took your orders from then on in.

We ventured out to the Sandals resort next door, but quickly retreated to RP, our holiday objective was relax, unwind and make memories to cherish. Next door was like an episode of Club 18 – 30’s with music blearing so loud there was no chance of a conversation and lots of intoxicated people.

The food was totally magnificent; I hardly eat fish at home and had it daily here. People have previously commented on things taking time, I can honestly say we never waited more than 5 minutes for anything, remember your on vacation, Island time, this is not McDonalds, relax. The longest we waited for anything was the scotch egg in the Peacock Bar, we were told on ordering it was cooked from scratch and would be a while and were we happy with this, and then the bar manager sat and chatted with us whilst it was cooked so we didn’t even notice the wait. We ordered breakfast room service one day and it was 100% correct and on time. There is always plenty of options at every meal, The beach bar menu remains the same, but there is always a catch of the day option. The French Restaurant Le Papillon was incredible, I’ve put on a separate review for it and it also get 5*’s.

We had never had the butler experience before and were not sure how much we would use them but we had Fiona and Neil and they were fantastic, organising everything we wanted and looking after us perfectly, leaving lovely notes and towel art in our room. For example, we did a long tour one day and come back to a bubble bath with flowers, I know this service is given to everyone was just what we needed. A big thank you to you both.

I could go on and on but suggest you go and see for yourselves just how fabulous this place is.
Finally I have to say during our stay we had some very unfortunate news of a family bereavement back home, Fiona went above and beyond what we expected of her and the hotel, organising credit on our butler phone so we could make contact with family back home. This simple gesture was greatly appreciated another aspect of a hotel that goes above and beyond
Were savin.
g up to go again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The balcony’s are enclosed so you can’t really sunbath on them, all rooms have a beach overview and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boho1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Royal Plantation from April 21st to the 28th and it was by far the best vacation that we have ever had. I had read probably 100 of the reviews from other guests over the last few months and trust me they do not due justice to this place. I will not repeat most of what others have said but will touch a couple of things that I found helpfull from other reviews.

Tips: We did not use our butlers a lot but they did a great job. We tipped $30.00 ea per day which I hope was fair. The Beach Butlers we treated as if we were at a regular bar and tipped them like we would servers back home.

Great Staff too many to number but they do include, Jermaine, Marvin, Cleon, Sheldon and Clayton in watersports, Olivia, Natalia, Romaine, Ge Mar, Gladstone, Sean, Marcellus, Jason. Lorainna. (Apologize for the spelling). Staff is simpy amazing and so attentive to the guests.

Tours: Bamboo log rafting on Martha Brae River. If they offer it do the Picnic at Mahoe Falls. We had the gardens and falls to ourselves and they are beautifull, Not as commercialized as the Dunns Rivers Falls.

We loved everything about this place and are already planning our return to this amazingly peacfull spot. The most relaxing vacation that we have ever taken bar none. They pamper you and treat you as if you are royalty and if you bother to ask them about themselves, they are happy to share about their families, culture etc. Try all of the good Jamaican food that they offer as well, especially the hot chocolate tea, Salt fish, jerk pork, curried goat, and Jack Fruit if you can.

Room Tip: Room 101 has a great view of the East beach and the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smclain4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.5 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
73.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.3 km away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.1 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
98.3 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
101.5 km away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price range (per night): $673 - $1,812
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing