We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chrisann's Apt 9, Paradise Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chrisanns Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week in June. The resort and room were immaculate. Dulcia is the MOST responsive property owner I have worked with in years of using VRBO. She arranged for pick up from the airport by Christie, who we really enjoyed meeting. He gave us great advise, took us for several excursions during the week, and got us safely back to the airport for our return home. We had wonderful daily maid service by Charmaine and Jennifer. George, the groundskeeper was constantly working on the beautiful gardens and keeping the refreshing pool spotless.
We had read on other reviews about having Charmaine cook an authentic Jamaican meal while visiting. It was more than delicious and Gary and I were very happy we arranged this treat with her. We enjoyed meals at Glenn's and especially loved our service there. We also ate at the open air Jerk restaurant just down the street. DELICIOUS! I loved trying Roti in different ways and plantains became one of my new favorites while in Jamaica. One of the highlights of our dining experience was going to Toscanini's Restaurant. It is a very short walk from the resort and is in a beautiful open air setting. There was classical music playing, white lights in the trees, an out door bar with a gracious bartender, and an unbelievable menu hand written on chalk board easels brought to your table. The food was fabulous and the owner/chef came to our table to personally check on our experience.
We swam daily in the sea pool and enjoyed snorkeling. My husband saw a small octopus on our last day in the deeper area near the rocks. We loved sitting under the swaying palms, reading and relaxing. I also loved going out to the gazebo every evening to watch the sunset.
I would definitely return to Chrisann's and would love to work with Dulcia again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank myrtlebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are finishing up a 10 day stay at #9 Paradise Suite. From our initial contact with Dulcia we have felt loved and cared for. Not only has this apt become home away from home for us, but we have come to love the people here. Charmaine & Jennifer have kept our place neat everyday while leaving beautiful towel sculptures and fresh flowers for us to enjoy. Louis who is the daytime security watched out for us giving us great taxi advice and always making sure we weren't taken advantage of. He hooked us up with Dr. Bell who is an exceptional taxi driver. His car is clean and air conditioned. His driving is safe, fares reasonable, and he will take you to some places off the tourist path if you wish. We quickly found "our spot" under the palms trees and spent a lot of time there reading, napping & talking in between swimming in the ocean cove or in the swimming pool. We have visited local attractions but to be honest, we have found it so beautiful & peaceful here that we have to make ourselves venture out. Dulcia has made sure that you have everything that you need at the apt. It is the perfect size, comfortable, beautifully decorated and truly has a heavenly bed. There is even a Scrabble game which enjoyed when we needed a break from the sun. The location is perfect and we always felt safe. We came as hot, sweaty, exhausted Americans, but soon we will leave refreshed and invigorated Jamericans. While this is a beautiful place, the hardest thing will be to leave the people we have grown to know and love. Come stay here and you will understand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jackandtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed here for a week for the last 8 years. They are individually owned so each unit is different. It is a great location and management is friendly and helpful! Glenns resturant is across the street and a small grocery store.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ediey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My niece and I went to Jamaica for eight days in June of this year 2014 and this resort was the best I have been to Jamaica a few times and stay at several different places, but this resort by far was the best The staff was wonderful we had made service every single day. And they were so polite so friendly so nice, the resort was beautiful everything about this place was just awesome, the apartment owner Dulcia is great she have a wonderful personality and she make you feel like family, she and her staff had the place looking wonderful when we got there, we even had snacks just in case we got hungry and something to drink . When you first walk onto the resort you will notice the beautiful ocean right in front of you! The water is so clean the entire atmosphere is to die for, they have a restaurant right across the street from us and and a few feet up the street is a grocery store,, we had everything we needed within walking distance, next year my family and I are going back to Jamaica for a graduation celebration and without a doubt we are going to stay at this resort, at least most of us will this place is just wonderful it has a full kitchen with everything you could think of the upstairs loft was big and roomy and the downstairs has a pullout bed just in case you have company but to sum it up this resort is the best place to stay in Jamaica .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jdubbw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at Chrisann's in June 2014. Overall it was a good experience. It was nice having a hotel with kitchen amenities (stove top, oven, microwave, toaster, refrigerator). If you are staying in Jamaica for a while the cost of meals can really add up. There is a small supermarket within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. The cost of groceries is comparable or even slightly more expensive than in the US; still it was nice to have a few healthier meals than you might have eating out every meal.

Another nice thing about Chrisann's is the WiFi. It works very well in the lobby and works somewhat if you have a room close to the lobby (rooms 1 and 17 are the closest). I was in room 18 and I was able to pick up the signal most of the time.

The beach is pretty, but it's not really a big enough sandy area to "lay out" on the beach. You could probably swim in the area but it's a little too small, wavy and rocky for my taste. The grounds at the hotel are well-kept and big enough to sit outside near the pool or beach in lawn chairs and read, etc.

The biggest drawback is that it is too far outside of Ocho Rios for walking to be practical. You will need to arrange transportation or have a rental car if you want to go anywhere during the day. There is a beach nearby within walking distance (maybe 15 minutes walking west along the major road). My driver thought it wasn't safe to be there alone because it is secluded. But others told me the area is popular and crowded when the cruise ships are at the port. So I guess the safety just depends on whether or not there are a lot of other tourists in the area. Staying at one of the hotels near the port would be handy for shopping, walking around the city & visiting the beach. But you would still need a vehicle to visit other attractions like Blue Hole, Dunn's, Scotchies or Mystic Mountain anyway.

This place is definitely not fancy like a brand new hotel, but it is clean and practical. All of the employees are friendly. The lady cleaning the room did a great job and brought in fresh flowers everyday. Lenora was very helpful in contacting the transportation companies and making the arrangements for our transfer back to Montego Bay.

Also, not to complain about nature sounds but the Whistling Frogs are very loud & they go nuts at night, especially when it rains. If noises keep you from falling asleep you might want to bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
5.7 km away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#16 of 35 in Ocho Rios
275 reviews
3.4 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,312 reviews
5.6 km away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
178 reviews
5.9 km away
Ocean Sands
Ocean Sands
#28 of 35 in Ocho Rios
91 reviews
4.7 km away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ocho Rios
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrisanns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrisanns Beach Resort

Address: P.O. Box 104, Tower Isle | St. Mary, Ocho Rios 00876, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $102 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chrisanns Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chrisanns Beach Resort is a complex of beachfront vacation apartments located four miles east of Ocho Rios that offers any holidaymaker an experience of Jamaca they could never forget. This enchanting property has its own private pool and beach with a gazebo that overlooks the ocean. Facilities include: air conditioning, cable television, housekeeping, fully equipped kitchen, 24 hours security and safety deposit box. Each apartment is privately owned and therefore has something different to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chrisanns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrisanns Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Chrisanns Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing