We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,396)
Filter reviews
3,396 results
Traveller rating
2,219
779
241
108
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,219
779
241
108
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseight riversveggie barcatamaran cruisepiano barpool grillpatio restaurantnude islandnatural islandprivate islandpremier ocean roomswim up barwater sportsdunn's river fallsincluded excursionsglass bottom boatour honeymoonscuba diving
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 3,396 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Staff was friendly but pushy for tips! They would say Respect which is their way of asking for a tip. If they opened a cab door or gave you directions they would say respect. The property was beautiful but room and building was old dirty dark and rundown. Breakfast was gross! Eggs were powdered and runny like soup. Fine dining was a step up but not great. They don’t have bottled water so they give you refillable water bottles and direct you to use the fountains at the end of the hall. Ours was broken so every night I would have to go up 2 floors to get ice and water. Mold everywhere in the shower and the AC was probably 30 years old extremely dirty moldy and didn’t work well at all. The entertainment was terrible! Piano bar opened at 10:30 and they rushed you out by 11:15 although they are supposed to be open till 12:00. The piano singer was the worst I have ever seen! Drunk, off key and didn’t know the words. The night club was only thing to do after piano bar. It was small but nice and DJ was good. We were there for our honeymoon 6 years ago and loved everything but since last time everything has gone way down including the beautiful landscape. No entertainment or music by the pool and most activities planned never happened. We enjoyed the 3 spa services although I realized after changing in the locker room and overheard someone say oh no there’s someone in there changing, so there was a direct view into the locker room. Don’t try the hammocks or you will bottom out in red clay. Very disappointed and saddened to see the place my husband and I first started our lives together like this. We will never go back! We ended up at Secrets in Montego Bay which was amazing!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, COO at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Stacy S,

Thank you for vacationing with us again. Sorry you did not enjoy this visit. We have only improved the resort since your last stay which makes this review shocking to us. However, management will review the areas mentioned.

Regards,
Abe Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed for two weeks and had an wonderful chilled out time. Just what we needed.

We stayed in a sea view deluxe room in block 3, 3rd floor, over the swim up pool. The room was spotless and cleaned every day. We had an amazing sea View and spent many hours on the balcony just enjoying the view and chilling on the double swinging chair. We especially loved breakfast on the balcony each day.

Everything about this holiday was perfect for us. The staff were amazing - they are the best, the food was varied and delicious. The drinks at the bars were top shelf.

Only thing I would say is the lack of shade by the main “quiet” pool. Only shade is the under trees. could do with parasols around the pool and on the terraces.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ruytongirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Social Media at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Ruytongirl1,

It was our pleasure to have hosted in in our "Jamaican heaven" and we are happy you had a great time.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.


Regards,
Michelle G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We visited Tower Isle on a day pass in December 2016 when we were staying at Couples Sans Souci. We had avoided it because it was more like a hotel but we were really taken by the 1950’s hotel feel so decided to give it a try for our next Couples visit. We are glad we did.
While we enjoyed CSS, there were a few drawbacks which were addressed by Tower Isle. Firstly, CSS is not situated directly on the ocean so you don’t get the same kind of crashing ocean noise that you get at CSA or CTI, especially as the rooms at CSS are set back farther from the beach than either of these places. Coming from a landlocked part of North America, this is something we missed after staying at CSA. Secondly, the stairs at CSS are an issue. We had no real problems negotiating them, but you did have to think more carefully about how you are planning out your day. Finally, the extra restaurants at CTI are welcome as, while the restaurants at CSS are fine, there is way more variety at CTI (more about the restaurant at CTI later in this review).
Now on to our stay at CTI… We booked an Ocean Junior Suite that was located on the second floor of building 3. There were no obstructions so we were able to look out at the pier, the ocean and the island, with no problem. The room is not luxurious but suited us just fine. It was spotlessly clean when we arrived and kept that way throughout our trip. The bed was harder- which suits us so we loved it. This room has both a shower (point the head towards the wall and you won’t get water flowing out) and a Jacuzzi tub (which does fit two!). If you’re tall enough you can sit in the Jacuzzi tub and look out at the ocean. Unfortunately, I couldn’t manage this very easily - but my husband could! The water flow was excellent and there was one morning where we couldn’t get the water very hot but the rest of the time was okay. The suite was a good option for us as my husband doesn’t sleep very well so he could leave bed and work on his vacation photos.
The beach at CTI is lovely. Unlike CCS the sand is proper beach sand- soft enough to squish your toes through. It’s not particularly large but there was always space. There are no palapas so if you require shade you will have to do what we did and move around. This might be a problem if the resort is full, but this didn’t seem to be the case when we were there. We went out to the island a few times. We like to be on our own so we sat under the pavilions. Beware- this will result in being windblown and possibly splashed upon by the waves hitting the rocks (reef?) around the island. We generally went out in the morning and left around noon when the winds really picked up. The wind wasn’t as much of an issue on the beach however and there wasn’t a day where island trips or water sports were completely banned because of it. The water was quite clear so you could easily see any rocks (which there weren’t many of) and it was lovely warm! We spent some time around the main pool also, as it was quiet. We didn’t venture down to the swim up bar. Red flag service was available and offered but, quite frankly, it was good for us to get out of our loungers and walk around so we didn’t bother waiting for it all the time (yes there are two flights of stairs but really it’s not a big deal).
We didn’t do a lot of activities but my husband did go snorkelling a few times and enjoyed it. There were 3 locations that they take snorkelers to and he saw two of them. Funnily enough, he saw way more fish on the one afternoon trip than he did on the morning trips, despite being told that the opposite was true. Next time, I think he will get his PADI and go on the scuba trips. We also took in the rum class and the wine class and enjoyed those too (we even won a taste of 21 year old Appleton’s). The only other thing we did was a couple’s massage which was the best I’d ever had.
We enjoyed all the restaurants as well as the special dinners, but our favourite was the Verandah which served the most Jamaican inspired food. It also had a menu that changes more often than Eight Rivers being the same only on Thursday and Fridays (closed for the special event dinners). Eight Rivers was also good for finer dining. The only thing I wish about both of them is that there was a little more time between courses- but I know some people want their food to come quickly. Bayside was our least favorite as far as food goes, but the location can’t be beat as you are literally dining above the water. We had no complaints with the quality of food – rather it’s only that we eat a lot of different Asian cuisines already so it wasn’t as unique to us. We frequented the grill often as you could get patties there- but they also serve jerk sausage and jerk burgers which are also delicious. The veggie bar was always good for a healthier meal or snack, and offered a changing selection of iced teas and juice blends that were fun to try. The Patio had great breakfast and lunch selections but we never ate there for dinner.
Both gala nights were good. Unlike CSS or CSA, the majority of tables were for two so you didn’t have to dine with strangers. Do go to the rooftop martini bar as the view is amazing- but get there early as the martinis take a while to mix! The Manager’s Cocktail Party on the terrace is also excellent- the hors d'oeuvres are definitely worth it, plus they always have an interesting cocktail to serve. The terrace, by the way, was our favourite place to sit for pre or post dinner cocktails!
Now as to service, I would say that we received the best ever service at CTI. Everyone was welcoming and pleasant. A few staff members went out of their way to please us: Ereca at the Verandah brought my husband a lion fish appetizer even though we weren’t dining in the restaurant that night, and was generally just incredibly warm and welcoming. One night at The Verandah we asked for Spanish coffees instead of regular dessert and they had to figure out how to make them. They were very passable, but the next night at Eight Rivers they surprised us with two beautiful, PERFECT Spanish coffees! So thanks also to Janelle and Antoinette. Dominic proceeded over the wine class and he is highly entertaining. The bartenders were also great. We like to end our evenings with a double brandy and drank them out of Remy and Courvoisier both, leaving Hennessy’s – but when they got Courvoisier in again they let us know and poured us generous servings right away!
In summary, I think we have a new Couples favorite. We still love the beach and water at CSA, but the smaller size of this resort along with the private beach make up for any short comings. The nicer beach and less rocky water mean that CTI allows us to enjoy the ocean more so, while there are many wonderful things about CSS (the expansive grounds, as well as the size and lack of wind at SSB) , we will return to CTI first.

Room Tip: Building 3 doesn't have trees in front of it so you have an unobstructed view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Cindy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Social Media at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Cindy v,


What a pleasure to have hosted you! Thank you so much for sahring your feedback with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Michelle G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely resort in many aspects. The restaurants and bars are fantastic, especially Eight Rivers and Bayside. We liked the main bar and swim up bar and their staff were always asking if we needed anything. The people are what makes this a friendly, happy place to be. I love the private feel of the resort and the bay is beautiful. We enjoyed seeing the coastline, nearby houses, and the coral reefs on the glass bottom boat tour. I would have rated this resort 5 stars, no question, except for one big issue we had with our one bedroom suite. We contacted the front desk mid-way through our stay to request help with the roaches in the room. They appeared every night in the bathroom. I also killed a rather large one in the closet and another by the bed. We took all of our stuff out of the bathroom after we found two of them crawling on our belongings on the vanity. The situation made it difficult to relax in the room. Front desk staff had the room sprayed 3 times to no avail. At our 3rd request for help with the bugs, we asked to speak with management. By that time, we only had one more day of our week left. Management explained the challenges, apologized, and gave us a spa credit. A room change was offered for our last night, but we were not at all confident that another room would have been better. We are very patient and we do understand Jamaica is tropical and we know tropical areas have bugs. However, we have never before experienced a visible bug issue in the room at any other resort in tropical areas, including other Couples resorts. While we really enjoyed the resort otherwise, the roach issue will keep us from returning here. We had to be extra careful about bringing our belongings home. It was really disheartening and disappointing.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, COO at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Grace P,

Thank you for staying with us. It was unfortunate to hear about the issue that affected your stay. Management is inspecting the room you were given. Sincere apologies.

Kind Regards,
Abe Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Firstly, photo's online, in the brochures etc do not do this place justice. It looks fantastic but in reality it is breathtaking. Not one day went by where the views from this place didn't make me think 'wow'. I will break down my review into catagories.
Staff: The most polite, well mannered, happy, friendly people I have ever encountered. All so proffesional and helpful. They will greet you at every passing and make sure you are well looked after.

Food and drinks: One of the things me and my husband struggle with liking at most hotels. This place was most certainly an exeption. The breakfast, loads to choose from. Whether you want just a smoothie, some fruit or a bowl of cereal or even a chicken stew, cake or fish theyve got it covered!
The burgers and patties at the pool grill during the day are beautiful. I ate my weight in them! They also have Jerk chicken, nacho's, ice creams and drinks available whenever you want.
Over your stay you get to book the 'eight rivers' restaurant and the 'bayside' restaurant. These and the verranda (which you do not need to book) are 5 course, high quality meals. I am a very picky eater and they managed to keep me happy the entire stay. Absolutely beautiful!
The staff always make sure you are hydrated, they are walking around with a jug of water and as soon as you hit half way they are there re-filling it.
The bar I noticed, has all the labelled, quality spirits which is great. The cocktail menu is very large and I must say, absolutely amazing!

Rooms: We stayed in a standard garden room. We requested a quite room and that it certainly was! The entertainment was never once heard from the room and we slept through the night with no disruption.
Mini bar is great, personalise your own each day for no extra charge.
The beds were very large and comfortable. You have a safe, iron and bourd and large closet to keep your things. The hairdryer in the bathroom is great so no need to bring one with you.

Activities: So many watersports! Pedalo's, canoes, glass bottom boat, snorkling, scuba diving, catamaran, the list is endless. All of it is free. The only thing that will cost you is if you want to train to be an instructor! We didnt do many of the daytime ones but the board was always full of things to do.
Two pools, one with a bar in it. One with a bar and grill next to it. Every thing you could want!

Overall, we had an absolutely brilliant time and would/have recommended to everyone we know! Me and my Husband would very much like to thank all at Couple's Tower Isle for helping to make our honeymoon the best possible experience.

Stayed: April 2018
5  Thank steviexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CouplesSocialMgr, Social Media at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

steviexx,

Congratulations and thank you for spending your honeymoon with us.

We are delighted that you had such a great time with us and can't wait to welcome you back to share and create more wonderful memories with us.

Regards,
Michelle G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews