We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa De Shalom(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
USD 86
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
USD 151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
USD 59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
USD 95
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Csompo Bed and Breakfast(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
USD 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
USD 460
USD 307
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
122
139
109
65
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
139
109
65
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite riverprivate beachsmall resortcallaloorelaxing vacationjamaican foodjerk chickenred stripeoceanpiersoliverrelaxationfallsnightlifereggaereefmon
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Ok first of all its not what I was especting for the week we stay for but getting the experience at this resort makes everything different the food is great and the beach is great and the good reggae music that play threw out the day by kamal and thanks to willy at the bar for everything an mr oliver the manager for everything as well as kamal that make a change to our stay extremely great his company an the games especially the bingo games an daminoes,pool tournament was great he is a great asset to the resort we are coming back again from canada to see everyone especially the coordinator kamal thanks to you all.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maxineburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemforTravellers, Manager at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Maxineburt !,
It was our pleasure having you as our honored guest recently and thank you whole-heatedly for the positive comments made on this Site. Our Resort is quite unique, the Staff exceptional in service, everyone will strive to ensure that all our guests are treated royally and with the best customer service. I have printed your review, posted a copy on the Staff Notice Board and all those you mentioned acknowledged accordingly.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again, to our wonderful Resort. Kindest regards !.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We visited this resort in March. The location is amazing, right on the beach. The rooms are small and dated but very clean. Although there was not a lot of choice, the food was good. The liquor was not top shelf and they actually ran out of rum. The entertainment was basically non existent with crooner music at night followed by some reserved reggae. Would I return to this resort? Yes, if the price was right.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mayahalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemforTravellers, Manager at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Mayahalifax !,
We thank you wholeheartedly for visiting in March and so delighted that you were quite satisfied with our services and may even be returning soon, if the price is right.
All your comments were duly noted and indeed we are grateful for these positive comments made. Our apologies for the challenges you experienced and we will do our utmost to correct all these shortcomings. It was really an honour having you as our guest and look forward in welcoming you in the near future. Best regards !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I had an awesome vacation here. The ocean is fantastic, and my room was right by the sea. The rooms aren't modern, but still nice. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, they even remembered me from 2 years ago. I'd happily stay here again. An especial thanks to Kamal Lewis, who was a fantastic entertainment representative, and made our stay extremely fun; he arranged several fun tours for us, was always around to entertain us, everyone around was thrilled with his attention and service, and he played the part of our vacation buddy.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms66682lowermanh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemforTravellers, Manager at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear MS 66682LOWERMANH 2017,
Thanks so much for your recent stay,returning to us another time and those wonderful comments made on this Site. We are always delighted whenever comments are made about our Staff, they are special and our greatest asset. Kamal Lewis is new, he is a hard worker and does his utmost to take care of our guests.
Prayed that you had a great return to your home and look forward to your next visit to your "home away from home" Resort. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Pros: beautiful location right on beach. Exceptional staff who will do anything in their power to make your stay perfect. Really good food. NO crowds, always a good spot on beach. Not a cookie cutter big long lines no beach chairs resort. Very quiet very relaxing resort with no nightlife this is the place to go and literally rest and relax. Clean and comfortable room. Breathtaking views. It is not a resort per say any longer because basically it has the vibe and feel of an old beach motel. Very authentic and beautiful mahogany wood throughout. This was obviously a grand resort at one time.

Cons: most of resort is not in use. No way to purchase anything if you forgot it (lotion, hair essentials, sun oil etc), because there's no shopping on "resort". No snacks available outside of meal times or their snack hour where sandwiches are provided. So if you're up late and get hungry you're SOL. The bar is awful. Very limited choices on drinks. So limited I tried 4x to get something I could enjoy and finally gave up. ( if you ask for orange juice and vodka your drink should be the color of orange juice not white). Absolutely no bourbon whiskey or Scotch available. The only beer available is red stripe which is okay. House wines are pretty bad too, especially red. The lady at front desk is unfriendly. They charge 100 deposit for a key to the safe in your room if you're lucky enough to finally get a room with a safe. Screaming kids :(

If you want a a boisterous crowd with partying great Bar menu dancing this is not the place for you if you want something very quiet very very low key almost empty Resort / Motel this is the place for you. I would go back however I would make sure to take my own alcohol mixers beer and an ice chest so I could have something readily available to drink on the beach I would also take snacks and make sure I did not forget anything because aTaxi from resort to city and back is $40.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemforTravellers, Manager at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Janet W,
We were thankful for your recent visit to our Resort and indeed we are grateful for the many debated comments on our Property. You have written at length about our facilities and certainly we operate an entity that is unique to our visitors. Located only five (5) travel minutes from the Town Center of Ocho Rios, many patrons have walked this journey, as they want to experience the feel of the Island. But I must correct you as you have said "we are a Motel", but sadly Shaw Park Beach is not on the Highway, unless you have mistaken the "long beach" for a road and I would invite you immediately to return to our shores. It is very heart-rendering that you have mentioned our Staff, who are always willing to go the extra mile to furnish everyone with friendliness, kindness and great hospitality. Thank You !!!.
Concerning the Bar Drinks and Food/Snacks after 11.00 pm, it is a fact that the Kitchen closes at that time, however during dinner if anyone requires something extra to their room, it would be our pleasure to provide Sandwiches or any Snack to these guests.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again here and as soon as you have decided, please inform us accordingly. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel resort is wonderful if you are looking to relax . surroundings are beautiful and serine.The food was very good and staff were amazing. Perfect place to escape the realities and life and get lost in the atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank kandyhios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemforTravellers, Manager at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Kandyios !,
It was indeed a pleasure having you as our recent guest at this Resort and happy that your stay was relaxing and everything went great !. Thanks for the comments made about our Staff, the sumptuous foods and the wonderful atmosphere.
Hopefully you will return soon, so we will have another opportunity to welcome and provide you with wonderful service. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews