We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to shopping and resturants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fisherman's Point Resort
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed 17 January 2017

If you are looking for a place that is walking distance to everything this is it. If you are looking for a quite place to vacation this is NOT it. We loved that we could walk to almost everything we wanted to do in Ocho Rios. Shops, Beach, Resturants, Grocery, Even Dunn Falls, Bobsledding adventure, Dolphin discovery are within 2 miles walk if you are brave enough to walk the road. We did. They, of course, want to you to take a cab for $10 a person and there are plenty of cabs right there. Nice breakfast place Boardwalk Bistro that is not on Trip Advisor. Very few places to get breakfast so this was great that it was across the street. Passage to India was right there to get drinks to take to the pool area. This was not good for people with small children. It has a very load and sometimes scary nightlife crowd. Our unit 55 was imposable to sleep before 2:30 am. I'm talking BOOM BASS so loud it set car alarms off constantly. This is why it is cheap to stay. If you are not a night owl this is not for you but some units might be far enough away to be ok. Also book your excursions directly from place. Do not be scammed by locals that tell you they can get you a deal! Bobby Brown took us for a lot of money on a horse ride that was ridiculous and not what we had enjoyed our last trip to Jamacia.

Room Tip: Stay away from Ocean's 11. It is VERY loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jacksleonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fisherman's P, Administrative Assistant at Fisherman's Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Jacksleonh,

We are sorry for the late response. Thank you for staying with us and for your giving us your valuable feedback. We regret that your time with us did not meet your expectations on all counts and we will bear your comments in mind as we continue to improve our resort. Still, we invite you to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2017

The good: Location is great, walking distance to many restaurants and shops, to town for groceries, and the public beach. No need for a car or taxi. Anytime we had an issue, the owner responded within a few minutes. Hi speed internet is helpful, tv was decent. The common area by the pool is very peaceful and quiet.
The bad: the units are outdated. It seems the owners put minimal effort into maintenance. Kitchen cabinets are grungy, tiny fridge doesn't get cold (we put our drinks in the freezer). The pool is ok...good size but could use a thorough scrubbing. Footprints on the bottom of the deep end.
It would have been nice to know guests need to turn on electric service to the hot water heater. First 2 days of cold showers wasn't appreciated.
The ugly: the unit we stayed in was located across the street from Oceans Eleven nightclub. The crowd that this club draws is very young, loud and scary. Booming bass. Not just loud, BOOMING... Car alarms going off. Sound was was vibrating through the unit and even my pillow as I tried to sleep at 2:00 am. Street fight right outside of our unit. I expected to hear police sirens. On our first night we were surrounded by a group of young men who wouldn't LEAVE until my husband told them to "get the f--- away". I was seriously afraid of these guys, and I'm a Chicago girl. Seen my share of the hood.

Room Tip: Avoid units that back up to the nightclub. Try to get one that is facing the ocean. Center view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kikku2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Firstly I'll admit, it's not a five star hotel, I stayed in room 36 and it was very minimalist.The building, the decor, the room itself was very dated. The bed was small and seemingly worn, so yes it most definitely needs a little work. Now that's out of the way, I enjoyed staying there and would stay there again. It's basic but it was clean, which was most important. It's for the traveler that has a budget to stick to but still wishes to have a good time, we spent one night but didn't stay in our room long enough to mind the dated decor. It's walking distance to a bunch of nice restaurants and shopping as well as Dunns River Falls, Dolphin Cove, Mystic Mountain and Margaritaville. Spending little on the hotel room itself allowed us to enjoy some of those attractions and really explore.The views from our room were also amazing.

Stayed: August 2016
5  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Attended a function in Ocho Rios & Spent the weekend there. The furniture in some of the rooms were outdated. But some were in good condition. I had the room at the top & the view was breathtaking. Overall not a bad place to stay and the fact that everything is closed by. Restaurants, beaches, clubs, shopping centers. It is also economical. I would give it a pass. Whenever I am in Ocho Rios that's where I normally stay.

Room Tip: please examine rooms before settling. you have the option to choose another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nasaking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

It was really bad staff never at the front desk, tv don't work and when I have local visitors they say that the security don't do there job the rooms are nasty roach. And the doors in the rooms broken I was like really this is what I payed so much money for the experience I had there left a bad taste in mouth.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1 km away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#23 of 35 in Ocho Rios
278 reviews
0.2 km away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#14 of 35 in Ocho Rios
325 reviews
1.1 km away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ocho Rios
112 reviews
1 km away
Marine View Hotel
Marine View Hotel
#31 of 35 in Ocho Rios
15 reviews
0.9 km away
Ocean Sands
Ocean Sands
#28 of 35 in Ocho Rios
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Point Resort

Address: Turtle Beach Road, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $123 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman's Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fisherman's Point is an all-suite facility located close to the cruise ship docks in Ocho Rios and across the street from Island Village, home to Margaritaville Ocho Rios. Stroll the pristine sands of beautiful Turtle Beach adjacent this low-rise cluster of condos nestled into three acres of lush tropical foliage. Available are one and two bedroom condos, complete with kitchenette, cable TV, and private balcony with mountain or ocean view. Ideal for couples, families, and groups, this condo resort offers a free form swimming pool and a wading pool for kids, daily housekeeper, a restaurant and bar. Airport transfer and nanny services can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fisherman's Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Point Hotel Ocho Rios
Fishermans Point Hotel
Fishermans Point Ocho Rios
Fisherman's Point Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing