We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,409)
Filter reviews
9,409 results
Traveller rating
5,630
2,284
859
387
249
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,630
2,284
859
387
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor sideriviera sidereef terracebutler villagebutler servicemanor housekelly's docksidemanor poolgreat housesouthern tablesemi private poolle gourmandpolo loungerabbit holeclub levelour honeymoonriviera building
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 9,409 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Very lacking in attention to detail!

If you have already booked your trip or are a honeymooner then disregard this review! You honeymooners will have a great trip no matter what so just move along and ignore me!

This was our first Sandals experience after having traveled and done the all inclusive thing 8 other times with a variety of resorts from Jamaica to Mexico to the Dominican Republic. In our experience the Sandals lacks an attention to detail that we have not experienced at other resorts. We had a great trip and because you are on a fabulous vacation most of what we experienced was easily overcome but still not up to par with what we had experienced at other resorts. In addition, Sandals was a little more expensive than the other resorts we shopped which also drove up the expectation some.

We encountered several maintenance issues in our room, issues in the rooms that appeared to be lacking in preventitive maintenance and the room was very small.

Our concierge booked us dinner one night in a restaurant that was closed for the day, which of course left us without a reservation at a decent place to eat.

We encountered pool / beach bars that had run out of beer, vodka and limes at various times during our stay. The wait times at bars was also lengthy at times. It appeared as though they needed about double the bartenders that they had.

We encountered hot tubs that were maybe luke warm and pools that did not seem to be fully cleaned at night.

I could go on and on.....the point is that there are too many really good all inclusives out there. For what it is worth I have never left a review after an all inclusive experience until today.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Gamecocktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Manager at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Hello and thank you for your review of Sandal Ochi Beach.
As a brand we do strive to provide exceptional service and to this end, we offer more luxury inclusion than any other resort chain however we apologize if you felt this was not evident in your experience. We respect all of the opinions you have expressed and recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual. Despite the regular maintenance done within our suites and facilities, there may be times when challenges arise. Although not a regular occurrence, our team will do their utmost to see that any challenges are immediately rectified as soon as possible. We sincerely sorry for the oversight which occurred with your reservation and we will be sure to let the concierge team know so that they are aware of this error as we certainly want to see that our guests are able to enjoy all the various dining experiences. Although this snafu may have temporarily disrupted your dinner plans, we do hope that you were able to enjoy your meal at one of the other available locations as there are always several different dining options open for our guests without reservations. Although we do try to see that all bars are fully stocked, there may be sourcing challenges from time to time with vendors/distributors but usually any delayed shipment is quickly addressed. We also try to make certain that we have enough bar staff but during some time periods it will be busier and there may be a bit of a wait and we will let our head of Food and Beverage know of your observations so that they may make adjustments as deemed necessary. Once again we do apologize for any inconvenience and we do hope that in the future you may return as we would like to the chance to serve you more efficiently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

You tha bomb!, love her favorite player of jamaica!super shelly is the best. She chose us to party with and to hang out with and we love her for that. Super shelly is fabulous and her smile is just so welcoming. We will be coming back

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Super shelly is the best. She is the friendliest, cutest, and most fun playmaker at the sandals ochi resort. I hope to hang out with her again when we return. I also would like to throw out the fact that im undefeated in ping pong at ochi by the way just sayin...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

In our years of taking 'luxury' vacation, Sandals Ochi Rios is by far the worst experience we've ever had. It started upon arrival, there was absolutely no one to assist with our luggage, my spouse stood and waited close to 12 minutes before being asked if she needed assistance. We were then escorted to a seated area in the lobby for check in, the receptionist gave an overview of the process, showed us where to sign and told us to give him a few, he will be right back... this added another 23 minutes in wait time. The receptionist eventually came back and advised our room was not yet ready and had someone escorted us to the Jerk restaurant for lunch.
Close to an hour later, we ventured back to the front desk to check on our room and was advised the room was indeed ready , we were escorted to what we thought was our room, turns out, we were being given an occupied room which we had to point to the front desk agent. After a few minutes of waiting, we were then showed our room minutes after 4PM. Dinner at Valentino’s was marginally okay.
Breakfast as Vistas lacked variety which was disappointing however, our indulgence in water sport activities including sailing, snorkelling, glass bottom boat ride and kayaking made up for the disappointment. At the end of the evening, we got on the Hop bus and headed back to our room only to find our room wasn’t cleaned all day, from 10:15AM to 5:37PM. We personally advised front desk and they made a request to have it clean, we thought it would be a good idea to give them an hour which is more than enough time to clean our room, but this is where our nightmare worsened. At 6:42PM, we found our room was still NOT cleaned, at this point, my spouse who was also celebrating her birthday, just made a simple request for 2 wash clothes and 2 bath towel as she just wanted to make it to dinner on time. Her wait time was 30 mins at the front desk and still did not get either. Her request to speak to with the Operations Manager during the 30 mins wait time was not even honoured.
At 37 minutes and counting, I made a stern request to speak with Operations Manager, after a few more minutes of waiting, the Guest Services Manager arrived who assured me our dinner reservation would have been held no matter if we got to the restaurant after the reservation time. He also assured me that since it was my spouse birthday celebration, he would have arranged something special at the restaurant, to add insult to injury, nothing special happened! In fact, dinner was not enjoyable, the steak which should have been Filet Mignon was awful, it was cold, chewy and definitely not the cut steak advertised on the menu.
What was planned as a special birthday celebration, turned into an absolute nightmare thanks to terrible service at Sandals Ochi Rios. This was our first experience at Sandals, and definitely the last. A horrific and distasteful experience, the complete opposite of what we thought Sandals was. We will never return and not even a refund will ease the disgust we now have.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank hughbmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We booked this resort as part of a group for a destination wedding. While we knew there was a road between the two sides, we didn't realize it was a public road and main thoroughfare. Something to be aware of, as that aspect does somewhat detract from the experience of being isolated. We likely would have chosen to stay beachside rather than hillside had we known this.

We arrived and were ushered into a special lounge for the butler rooms. The check in process was seamless and our butler Oshane arrived to bring us to our room. He gave us a whole rundown of how things worked (a little overwhelming at first, we didn't retain all the information LOL) and gave us a tour of our room. Daniel was our other butler and both of them were outstanding the entire trip. If you'll be utilizing the butlers, absolutely request them!

We had room 7514. No issues overall - the rooms are a little on the older side but they are well maintained. The only thing I would mention - the bed rails on the side of the mattress were larger than the actual mattress so there was a gap there. It hurt a little getting out of bed - I don't know how to describe it. I fixed it by tucking in the blanket from the closet in between the mattress and frame every night.

As we were part of a wedding party, we didn't have the chance to do a lot of restaurants for dinner. We went to Neptune's, Le Gourmand, and Kelly's. All were excellent.

Every single staff member we encountered was helpful and accommodating. We laughed a lot with Renaldo and Melvin.

The resort is HUGE - I don't think this can be stated enough. For us personally, it felt too big but the nice part was that no area was ever crowded. It absolutely dispersed the amount of people who were there. Our favorite part was our butler staff - Oshane and Daniel took such good care of us and were completely helpful with every aspect of our trip.

I would have liked to be on the beachside as there's a lot more that we would have preferred over there - but then we wouldn't have been able to get butlers...so it really comes down to personal preference on what you're looking for from the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sandy6879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews