We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Family retreat at Eight Rivers and Wag”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocho Rios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect Plantation
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We wanted to be in a special place to spend some quality time with our parents and family members who we had not seen for a long time - Our Villa stay checked all the boxes…and more!
The facilities were excellent - of a very high standard and well maintained and in the words of my daughter …Fresh!

The relative seclusion of the villas made it more special… we were in our own little domain, and we were made to feel like Kings and Queens by the staff.
I felt that they gave us extra special attention…especially to our parents. They understood our diverse needs (which could have been a challenge given the wide age range and multi-national flavours) and they did everything to meet them.
What amazing, caring and professional people they all are. In that short time.. we felt like we were with family!!

The fact that we were spread across two villas was also very well handled. Massive Thank You go out to the staff of Eight Rivers and Wag Water Villas!!!
Eight rivers was the hub of activity.
The spaciousness of that Villa meant that we were all very comfortable especially as we watched Jamaica’s performances in the Sprint Relay Finals. Together, we witnessed history with Bolt getting his third gold in that Olympics!

The Food!!! We totally enjoyed everything that was served and did our best to eat it all!! All our meals were communally served at Eight Rivers - 15 guests all well fed and watered every time.
Talk about presentation!!! - "enjoyment of food starts with the eyes". Our eyes feasted and then our mouths and tummies very quickly followed. This was a truly gastronomic experience of Jamaican food at its best. For those of us who don’t get to eat real Jamaican food on a regular basis… this was a special treat. Those of us who live on the rock, applauded the authenticity, love and care that went into the food.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellently appointed. Your Butler will take great care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 15 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016

My visit to this plantation was an experience I will always cherish. As we tour the plantation, the tour guide keeps you entertained with his warm personality and many jokes. We laughed as well as learnt from the guide all the way up to the great house, We stopped for coconut climbing and coconut jelly eating experiences, then we went down to the camels for a short ride. An experience to last a lifetime...

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank trixit1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We were staying at Montego bay, so had an hour and a half trip to get to prospect plantation, When we got there we only had to wait a few minutes before we were shown to the Jitney, The ride up to the main house was very informative and funny.
When we arrived at the main house we were given a small tour of the lower level, and we also got to see the tree that Sir Winston Churchill planted back in 1953. Then we got to meet Chef Irie and the flavors part of the your started. There was one other couple with us, and we all worked together to create the meal, which tasted a lot better then i expected, Our taxi then met us at the house, and took us back, I thought we should have had the jitney take us back down due to the fact we had each paid an extra $45 for the jitney ride and wouldnt have paid that much if i had known it was one way. This is why i gave the tour 4, not 5 stars

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Frankfort House and I cannot recommend it enough. Great location on a perfect sandy beach in mature gardens. Very friendly and high quality staff. We were 2 families and it was extremely comfortable with plenty of space in the well appointed rooms. The children (and adults!) loved the beach which was perfect for swimming and playing in the gentle surf. Loads of activities to do on the estate - the buggy driving was a special highlight.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank rebmul100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We did not stay at the hotel, instead we took an excursion from a Princess Cruise. I was expecting just a cooking class, yet we got so much more. The journey started with a tractor led wagon ride through some of the magnificent grounds. Our tour guide, Donovan, was fantastic. I loved the stop where we watched Joe climb a tree and bring down a coconut. He split it open and we got to taste the water and fresh coconut with brown sugar. It was wonderful. When we reached the plantation house, we took a tour of the gardens. The flowers and herbs were amazing. The cooking class was great, and we made wonderful food. After eating, we got a tour of the plantation house. I would highly recommend this tour.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Z7746EMamyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.6 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,389 reviews
3.2 km away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
3.8 km away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#15 of 35 in Ocho Rios
281 reviews
1 km away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#11 of 35 in Ocho Rios
192 reviews
10.9 km away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
9,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Plantation

Address: 3 Rte | 3 miles east of Ocho Rios, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Ocho Rios
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Prospect Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Prospect Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing