We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Decameron has an overbooking scam in Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Royal Decameron has an overbooking scam in Jamaica”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were supposed to stay in Royal Decameron Club in Runaway Bay but upon arrival at the airport, we were driven to Royal Decameron Fun in Runaway Bay. R.D. Fun had been bought a few weeks prior and used to be a Hedonism. Renovations had not been completed, place wasn't really ready to open. Inexperienced staff, the smell of painting everywhere, broken door locks and lock boxes...etc. etc. R.D. Club was overbooked....surprise, surprise. Should have heeded all warnings on Trip Advisor!
We requested to be moved to R.D. Montego Bay. Overall this resort is satisfactory but definitely no higher than a 3 star. There are a few small beach areas but no long beaches to walk on. The food is mediocre but always fresh....the homemade bread is delicious. If you want bacon with your breakfast, it's at the egg station but you'll have to get there early in the morning, as they run out quickly. There is one a la carte. Food there is usually pretty good but they have the same menu for a whole week. The a la carte restaurant has 2 sittings. Book the early one as the one time we went to the late sitting, they had run out of 3 of the entres.
The rooms are a decent size and the beds are comfortable. The bed pillows however are hard slabs of foam. Plenty of hot water in the showers. We were on the main floor and had a nice big covered patio.
Entertainment was so so. Gets a bit tired after a couple of days. Most of the time it's uncomfortably loud. Audiences were minimal while we were there.
The airport is only a 10 minute drive, which is very convenient. We enjoyed watching the planes come in every 5 minutes during the day, but some people found this annoying.
Overall an average resort. You can take a quick walk into town if you're up to a lot of badgering. Not a lot to see around the area. We have also been to Negril and Ocho Rios and would recommend either one over Montego Bay. Negril has the best beaches.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jdsjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    1,249
    422
    191
    131
See reviews for
454
1,314
109
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My boyfriend and I booked through Expedia and luckily did not have the problems that some others have posted about the weekend we traveled. We chose the cheapest all-inclusive resort that had good reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.

The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a less expensive all-inclusive. The rooms were clean, but very basic... make sure you bring extra toiletries, as only a small bottle of shampoo is stocked. The grounds were not as over the top as other resorts, but it was well maintained and inviting. There's really nothing for young kids, I would definitely look elsewhere if you are traveling with a family. The actual beach is very small, but the larger, man-made beach they created by the dock where all of the lounge chairs and canopies are was very nice and we actually preferred to lay out there and enjoy the view... we simply just got up and walked a few feet to the other beach to walk in. The snorkeling off the beach was more than we expected also- we saw some very pretty fish and a few squid!

The staff was wonderful- very friendly and helpful. The bartenders are great- always had smiles on their faces and topped off your drinks without having to be asked. The only issue we had was the food- it was just mediocre. But based on the reviews we read, we had expected that (it was nice to come home from vacation without the extra pounds though!).

In all, it was the *perfect* weekend getaway. For only having 3 days, it was a plus being so close to the airport. Our flight arrived at 9:30 and we were sitting on the beach by 10:15. One last tip I would say is to not book an airport transfer. It's only a $15 cab ride and they're lined up to take you. And the highlight of our trip was the going on the Dreamer Catamaran snorkeling cruise which you can book once you get there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Pulled up in the airport bus onto What looked like a back street B&B, Went through the gates and stepped into paradise.The hotel is not massive ( all the better for making friends ) We had quick check to a room on 2nd floor. The room was spotless and big with a big very comfy bed.No problem with bathroom or hot water.In all my travels I have not meet friendlier staff! we felt very cared for and spoilt.Food was great and Jerk Chicken and fresh Pizza at the snack was so good we couldnt eat dinner some nights after an afternoon visit. Breakfast was good with Fresh omlettes and eggs cooked in front of you, I like my bacon crisp and it was. Drinks more cocktails than you can imagine my fav was Purple Rain made by Christopher the best barman there. This Hotel is so clean, they are cleaning 24/7 even the balls in the sea for the boat lane. I can see why so many people come back and back here.I would not say it is a place for children although the few that were there seem to enjoy it.Lots of guests from Canada having a great time all the guest were intermingling no matter were in the world they came from it was great.I am sure the atmospher at the hotel was down to the very well trained staff. I would go back here in a heartbeat if I was going back to Jamacia. So many places to see first!!

Room Tip: We had room 207, Palm Trees blocked veiw a little but kept room shaded. Could also be noisey at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cazDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Never having been blessed with the opportunity to travel before - we went online and read reviews - started with Cuba - then Mexico - and ended up clicking on the Royal Decameron - Montego Bay - read the first 20 or so reviews and made our decision - What luck!!!!

This place was so wonderful - cozy - quaint - beautiful - clean as clean can be - people were great - all of them - friendly - loving people - great beaches - swim up bar - activities and entertainment - all wonderful - rooms were plain - a bed - a bathroom - a tv - but really people - how much time are you supposed to spend in a hotel room on a Jamaican holiday????

I never understood with this great big world to see - why people would go to the same holiday destination year after year - now we get it....did not want to leave - and would love to go back....

Thank you Royal Decameron Montego Bay for making our "first time" ....the best time.....

J & G

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I wrote a review of the place we ended up at (Royal Decameron Runaway Bay, which I liked) but turns out, I was not alone on here or among others at Runaway Bay- we were all overbooked. We arrived at the RD Montego Bay, were asked if we booked with Expedia and then were immediately turned over to their guest relations who said sorry, technical issues, we have to move you- keep in mind we booked this because it was close to the airport and wanted maximum island time. I said I read trip advisor reviews and I knew it wasn't tech issues, it seemed to be fine, and then after a lot of back and forth I gave in, figuring I just wanted to get to the beach. They threw in Dunns River falls (though never told the other hotel but they did it anyway, as well as free massages) and drove us back and forth, though our return passage to the airport was cut close because apparently you need to confirm with their events guide daily. I think we got a better deal but they had our reservation for over a month, and even looking at my expedia paperwork- they had our info for at LEAST a week from the site, which was plenty of time to tell us. The hotel we ended up at had pre-written "overbooked" vouchers, and we met a bunch of others in the same boat. Thank god the hotel we ended up at was decent, but this ordeal left a bad taste in my mouth, and I travel a lot and am pretty laid back.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Alison8583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
12.9 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
6.8 km away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#22 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,376 reviews
17.3 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
5.7 km away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): $243 - $328
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Wotif.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing