We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2nd stay twice a pleasure”
other travellers have booked this property
Our beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our beach
our beach Deep bath tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Our beach
our beach
Deep bath tub
sitting room
lobby
patio
lobby
hot tub
Outside by the hot tub
Near the pool
gazebo into the ocean
outside seating
fountain
king size bedroom
picture of the condo at night
Lounge by the pool
pool at night
beach from above
Condominium
Children's Pool
kitchen area
fruits from our restaurant
lovely lobster meal served in one of our four restaurants
looking out from one of our balconies
lovely king size bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Teka-teek...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2nd stay twice a pleasure”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Comfortable stay. I stayed here in July for 1 week and again in January 2017 for a few days. I always enjoy my stay here in room 603. The room is well kept with a few fixtures needing attention and upkeep but all together a beautiful condo. The view is not restricted and the aurora of the condo is warm and relaxing. Everything works! Only complaint it the cleaning fee charge... as the condo isn't cleaned while you stay but before you check in and after you leave. So I am baffled as to why I have to pay for the room to be cleaned for the next occupants?? And the amount is shockingly high.

The front desk staff Junai and Derick at the sebal palm entrance are very helpful and attentive. The grounds staff are polite and will help you in any way they can.

There seems to be a change in management and overall atmosphere and upkeep of the grounds are improving from the last time I stayed in July.

They are also renovating an additional block so looking forward to staying in a new condo soon. The palmyra condos are up and coming again! And are getting more popular!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennychan...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
16
people found this review helpful

We had a terrible experience all in all. The employees continuously solicited us for money and made us feel unsafe and even withheld the room from us until we agreed to pay. The room had a damp and dingy smell. The water is not hot and the tub does not ever fill completely making it impossible to take a bath. The elevators are non-functioning so be prepared to take the dark, unlit stairwell. The taxi called for us to buy groceries was unlicensed and not able to pick up passengers or tourist. There is no duvet and nothing more than a flat sheet. There has been no maintenance done on the building or the suite (holes in the wall, electrical outlets ripped out of the socket, non-functioning phones).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
This is a complete fabrication.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karis R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my ocean front condo as if it was my very own! It had everything that I needed to enjoy the comforts of home.”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My ocean front condo allowed me all the comforts of home. The staff was extreamly helpful and professional! I will return to Jamacia again and again because of my first impression! Everything was Irie Mon

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellaria
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Imperfect but WORTH IT.”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
19
people found this review helpful

The Palmyra is a unique facility unlike any other we have visited through seven years of vacationing as a family. We enjoyed our stay very much and we are glad to have chosen a unit here. That being said, this place is not right for everyone and it's important to evaluate your expectations of what you want and/or need out of your vacation before you book here.

If you are seeking an amenties-packed resort experience that offers pre-planned activities, all-inclusive meal plans, on-site restaurants and shopping, bar service at the pool and on the beach, childcare services, resort-sponsored tourist excursions, and no requirement to ever leave the grounds, The Palmyra is not the right place for you.

It is, however, an excellent choice for those of us who want to relax with peace, quiet, and privacy, with few distractions from precious work-free family time. It would also be perfect for an intimate honeymoon or romantic couples vacation, as well as for the more adventurous travelers who prefer to spend their days exploring the "real" Jamaica on their own and return to a beautiful, affordable, and comfortable place in the evenings. We are a family of introverts and we specifically chose The Palmya because the reviews gave us the impression that it's uniquely suited for introverted personality types, and it is. We also did not want to pay any occupancy fees for our two young children, which Sharon C. was more eager to accommodate than any of the resorts we considered. I don't think it's possible to beat her rates and everything you get to enjoy with it on a Caribbean vacation. Our family of four saved THOUSANDS of dollars when we ultimately chose her unit over the Round Hill Resort we had initially booked, which dramatically improved our capacity to afford to do all the things we wanted to do while we were in Jamaica.

We had an unprecedented level of privacy during our stay at The Palmyra and often felt as if we had scored the entire grounds all for and to ourselves. We could spend hours at the beach and in the pool - which were both gorgeous - without ever being bothered, and we enjoyed premium views of the ocean, sun, and moon from their gazebo in the sea without ever having to stand alongside strangers and make awkward small talk. There were many other guests when we were there - the place was far from deserted - but everyone had enough space to spread out and do their own thing, and everyone there seemed to both value and respect the private sort of vibe to the whole place. Everyone managed to be personable and friendly without ever becoming invasive or annoying. It was wonderful.

The grounds are large and beautiful, but evidence of The Palmyra's financial troubles is unavoidable. There is no food or bar service on site, many units are empty, and you can expect minor inconviences such as a shortage of hot water (this won't bother you as much as you might fear by the end of a long day outdoors, and it is more room temperature than it is cold, was comfortable enough for my infant to bathe in) and no air conditioning in the indoor lobby or common areas (to be completely clear, THERE IS AIR CONDITIONING INSIDE THE CONDO). There are abandoned developments on both sides of the property - an urban explorer would love this place. We enjoyed exploring the ruins-like developments that were only partially constructed before they were abandoned and never felt as if they detracted from our own appreciation of the views and surroundings there, but we certainly understood where others who prefer a more polished veneer on their vacations could feel dismayed. The Palmyra is only 5 or 6 years old but looks more like it was built 15 or 20 years ago. The condo itself wasn't exactly immaculate, but it was very nice, comfortable, and the kitchen was well-equipped. The view from the balcony was spectacular - Caribbean to the right, West Indies to the left. We spent many hours enjoying the views in our room and in the common areas. Words cannot do justice to witnessing them for yourself.

Although the listing indicates the condo can sleep up to 6 people, we would be reluctant to bring more than 4 as there is only one king sized bed and one small sofa bed that is best suited for no more than two children or just one adult. It's possible to fit more than four, but some of you will be sleeping uncomfortably for your vacation if you bring six. If it is possible for you to travel with an air mattress or portable bed of some kind, six could be just fine. The four of us - two adults and two small children - comfortably shared the king size without any problems.

The staff crew at The Palmyra is small, but they were always present and available, and they were always very polite, respectful, non-judgmental, and willing to help. On our first day, the concierge set us up with a taxi driver from the Jamaican Tourist Board (JTB taxis are considered safe and ideal for tourists unfamiliar with the area) who became an essential key to how we were able to experience Montego Bay beyond the grounds of The Palmyra. His name was Richard Clark and we emphatically recommend requesting him through the concierge if you aren't renting your own car. We learned a lot about the island from him, and where to spend our tourist dollars to actually benefit the people living in Jamaica. He took us on a few free side tours through residential villages in the hills of the West Indies that we never could have found on our own simply because he really cared about sharing the hometown he loves with visitors, and he seemed very passionate about correcting and uplifting how tourists passing through perceive his community. He also diligently kept track of us during our excursion to Montego Bay's Hip Strip, made sure he always remained visible and knew our whereabouts since we didn't have cell service and could not track him down with a phone call when we were done for the day. We came to Jamaica with our two young children - a 7 year old and an infant (bring a car seat that you can secure with a lap belt and no base if you are bringing a baby to Jamaica!) - and we always felt safe in his taxi. We were so grateful for him and the concierge (I *think* her name was Joanna) who found him for us.

When you come to The Palmyra, you MUST be prepared with a plan as to where and how you will obtain food. There are no stores or restaurants within walking distance, so you WILL need transportation. The biggest curve ball we threw at ourselves was showing up with no idea how we'd get around or feed ourselves. This was our first trip to Jamaica so we did not understand exactly how many matters of convenience we have taken for granted on previous vacations. That's not to say The Palmyra is inconvenient - it is not inconvenient - but you really will need assistance from the concierge and taxi drivers to get around if this is your first time in Jamaica too. We just didn't realize how much we did not know about Jamaica until we had already arrived, so do some research on what's nearby before you get there. If you are not already familiar with Montego Bay, just winging it is kinda difficult. There are shops and restaurants very close, but you will need transportation to get to them. The concierge will arrange this for you. Blue Diamond Shopping Complex is just a five minute taxi ride away, and there is another grocery store across the street called Progressive Foods that is similar to Publix in the U.S. and is probably the closest place most suitable for tourists to purchase groceries. The restaurants in Montego Bay can be very expensive, and leaving the grounds in a taxi for every meal is both costly and time consuming, so you will be doing yourselves a huge favor to stock up at the beginning of your trip and prepare at least some of your meals yourself at the condo. The grocery store in the Blue Diamond has the best prices, but Progressive Foods has the best selection. We used both while we were there and felt comfortable and safe in both stores.

All things considered, we felt we got our money's worth out of The Palmyra and that our accommodations were very good and completely appropriate for the price range. What the future may hold for this property is uncertain, but for right now a vacation here can be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to spend true quality time with family, friends, and loved ones while you are surrounded by serenity and beauty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sha13122
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The place was nice!!! Super nice!!!! Everything was exactly like the pictures. Very clean and neat!!! The view was amazing!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing