We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate place to be to really relax”
Review of Relax Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relax Resort
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Montego Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ultimate place to be to really relax”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I must say I have been to relax resort and it was an amazing experience for me and my family. It catered to our needs-peace and quiteness. This resort is perfect for people who wants to get away from a noisy environment. I was surrounded by nature to its fullest. Though the beach was not very close by, there is a pool at my family's advantage. Also, the resort provided shuttle services to the beaches close by. The staff there were extremely courteous and warm. Always ready to attend to our requests. The food was very appetizing especially their Jamaican breakfast. All in all I would definately go back and will definately reurn to Relax Resort. It was really a relaxing resort.

Room Tip: For a family setting room C208-C210 is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi-Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    25
    6
    22
See reviews for
21
23
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Relax Resort played host to my daughter and I over the Christmas week following a very hectic 8 days of travelling the small and beautiful Island of Jamaica. The Knufford and South Coast Express provided reliable, clean and safe travel across the Island with customer service second to none.
The Relax Resort is a quite hotel about 10 minutes’ drive from Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay. The living accommodation is well presented behind lush gardens full of vibrant colours from a range of tropical plants and palms. Rooms are spacious and well laid out, as are the ensuite bathrooms. Early mornings begin with the sound of several on-site birds and a full view of the sea from all bedroom balconies the inclusive cooked Jamaican breakfast is full spread to die for. Relax Resort is not a beachside hotel but the hotel provides a prompt FREE service twice a day to a number of beaches including the famous Doctor’s Cave. It felt a very safe secure environment, with attentive staff and we really enjoyed our stay, so we’re keeping it on our list of hotels, with high recommendation to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Rooms were clean, staff friendly, and the grounds of the property were very nice! It is conveniently located near the airport and there is a free scheduled shuttle to the airport (though you could actually walk to airport during the day if you're travelling without much luggage) , and they have free shuttles to doctor's cove beach/hip strip area as well. I liked the view of the water and the airport. By the way, the nearby landing/taking off of planes was not disturbing because you are about 1 km from airport, and if the air conditioner is on, you don't notice them at all. A friendly, nice place to stay (not right in the hip strip area, but that can be a plus if you want a more relaxing experience).

Room Tip: view of garden and water is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel was OK (read more) but Montego Bay and the Hip Strip was very disappointing.

Here's the breakdown:

The good:

The property is very nice, beautiful garden with a nice view on the ocean. The staff are very friendly and dedicated to their task. Dea (one of the 2 owner, a couple) is extremely helpful and really wants to improve their hotel.

The Average:

The hotel and his facilities need a bit of love, the atmosphere is not that great since people don't use their facilities very much, we where there for Christmas and the kitchen, the bar and the pool we're all pretty dead area. The main reason that the à la carte concept is way too expansive for what you get. 15$ breakfast is way too much and on top of that there is a 20% service fee that really doesn't help. At night it's around 15 to 20 $ for dinner, unfortunately we tried it twice and it wasn't worth the price so we went for other alternatives. It cost 10$ to take a taxi to go on the Hip Strip one way which is like 1.5 km away from the hotel, not so cheap either. Since you have to walk on an highway i would not recommend to walk their at night. There is a local taxi which is a lot less pricy but after our experience in Montego Bay city we we're a bit hesitant.

The room: Our room was very clean, we rented a studio for the kitchen which was just enough equipped so we could make ourself coffee and toast in the morning. Our AC was broken and the temperature lock at 25celsius which is not so refreshing. We also had problem with water in the morning and no hot water the first morning. It's a 2.5 stars we didn't expect a suite but i think if everything would have worked we would have been satisfied.

We slept with the windows open which was fine, the only thing is since they are located next to the airport and the highway it can be a bit noisy especially with cars that drives like maniac at night.

The bad:

The Hip Strip is a big tourist trap, again that place has potential but it's almost only souvenir shop selling the same thing over and over again at such an expansive rate. There is a couple restaurants,: Burger King, Margaritaville, The Pelican and others but none of them feels authentic espacially not those american one. We tried the supermarket, no price tag so it's a different price everytime it gets very frustrating. One of them was selling 1 beer for 3$, same price as in the bar at the hotel... makes you think. Many hotels and restaurant went bankrupt and it's a sad scene to watch. With all these peoples coming to Montego Bay i think it's time for them to make a huge change and bring back some life to that Hip Strip.

The beaches (Doctors Cave & Cornwall) are gorgeous but not very big. Located next to each other, the only problem is it's 5$ per person to get in, 5$ for a chair and 5$ for an umbrella so for 2 persons it's 25$ per day... not so cheap when you paid almost 1000$ for your trip.On a good note the restaurant at Doctors Cave is really really good and the price are very affordable i was expecting more places like that.

Montego Bay city, from our experience didn't feel safe at all. Followed by 3 REALLY annoying guys in only a few minutes and being the only tourist there we decided after 200 meter to get the hell out of there. It's too bad because we love to discover more than just the resort when we travel.

That was our experience, me and my girlfriend travel a lot and we are very disappointed by Montego Bay, we went to Negril for one day and it felt much more genuine.

As for Relax Resort, it's 2.5 hotel, if they could improve their restaurant services and bring a bit more life to the place i think it could be a nice place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Quiksand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We just spent a week at the Relax Resort. We booked on expedia. The property is beautiful, it's very green, has a lot of flowers and a great pool that our son loved to swim in. The hotel has a daily shuttle downtown (make sure to reserve it) that will drop you at the beach or on the hip strip. They also dropped us off at the airport on our way back home. The owners are very friendly and you can tell that they work hard to make the hotel what it is today. The room was decent, 2 comfortable beds, a flat screen tv, private balcony and bathroom. There is no coffee makers in the rooms FYI. We bought some coffee and sugar and they sent us hot water every morning. If you're looking for a party hotel, this is not the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same direction and share the same view. It would be a good idea to upgrade the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
2.5 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
1.6 km away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
2.8 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 63 in Montego Bay
235 reviews
2.0 km away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
510 reviews
2.3 km away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 63 in Montego Bay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Resort

Property: Relax Resort
Address: 26 Hobbs Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): $94 - $177
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relax Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax Resort is known as "Montego Bay Best Kept Secret" it is the right choice for visitors who are searching for a combination of charm, peace and quietness, and a convenient place for both pleasure and business trips. It is a small, comfortable hotel, situated in Montego Bay. The Relax Resort managers and staff offer an attentive, personalized service and are always available to offer any help to their guests. The hotel is arranged on three floors, without a lift. On the ground floor we have rooms suited for single and families, there is a comfortable open bar where you can sit and drink, eat or just relax while taking in the view. In each room there is also a splendid private balcony where you can get the view of the airport tower, ocean and strip, and where you can also relax and emerge yourself from morning on wards in the atmosphere of our botanical garden settings. The rooms are arranged on first, second and third floors with categories ranging from superior, studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments. All rooms are with free breakfast and is served in the restaurant or open bar area on the ground floor,other meals are provided at the restaurant and also outside on our little patio at your convenience. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi service on the property and free beach access and transportation to the hip strip where Montego Bay famous beach the Doctors Cave is located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relax Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Resort Montego Bay
Relax Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing