We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,982)
Filter reviews
5,982 results
Traveller rating
3,857
1,254
468
242
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,857
1,254
468
242
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palms building our honeymoon oleander room almonds building cucina romana tokyo joes stew fish butler service piano bar bayside restaurant sea grapes royal caribbean close to the airport cafe de paris main bar water skiing water sports
Filter
Updating list...
5,276 - 5,281 of 5,982 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Thank you for making my first of many soon to be trips to Jamaica absolutely marvelous!!! I could not have asked to stay at a better place than the beautiful Sandals Resort Montego Bay!!! From the door the kindness and sincerity that the staff as a whole showed was wonderful. I was there attending the Washington Wedding and although this was a couple's resort those that came single did not feel excluded from any of the activities that your resort had to offer. The meals were delicious, friendly staff, and an overall pleasant atmosphere. Not to mention that the country as a whole is just breathe taking and beautiful. Thank you for the change of scenery and the introduction to paradise!!! I so look forward to my next visit back. By the way thanks for making the Washington Wedding one to remember!!! Please be sure to add them to your hall of fame:)....

A small hello to some of my new found friends at Sandals- Big Al aka Alford, AJ, Ava, Shantae, Dwight, Steven, Karen, Paparazzi, Demart, and everyone else whom I had the pleasure of coming into contact with. Thanks again and continue to keep up the good work. Wishing Sandals continued success in the many years to come!!!

Blessings,

Mel from MD- Still Smiling ;->

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank melkay74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

The first two days of our stay were below satisfactory. Going through immigrations was average but took about 1 1/2 to 2 hours from landing to arriving at the hotel, which is only 5 minutes from the airport. Upon arrival they were courteous and provided drinks as we waited for an hour or more for our room. They upgraded us however we had no hot water for 2 days and the air conditioner took that amount of time to work also. They do not work in a quick fashion for any request.

The beach is nice, clean and you always find a good spot. The piano swim up bar have very few chairs outdoor so get there early. The drinks are slightly watered down so feel free to ask for a double shot. The bartenders were very accomodating and probably the best part of the trip. Patrick in the daytime, Kurtis in the nighttime - good people. The bar in the main lobby always seemed out of specific ingredients for drinks. See Duncan at the bar on the beach - ask for the Duncan Special!! Fantastic!!

The entertainment crew tried their best but the entertainment all the way around was very bland and boring. We heard most Top 40 music and very little Carribbean/Reggae. All of the staff were very polite and respectful.

You need to make reservations for Tokyo Joes & Cucina, do it as soon as you arrive. Tokyo Joes is basic stir fry, not worth it. Go to Cucina 2+ times, fantastic food. The Oleander, casual clothes, men MUST wear pants and nice shoes or sandals or you will not get in. Bayside has very good breakfast and lunch buffet with tons of variety. Don't miss Bayside on Friday nights, International food - Fantastic! OK Corral is forgettable - burgers and fries.

Violet, in the spa, is wonderful at doing braids for the ladies - you will pay about $100 including tip. There is no need to go shopping downtown since they bring vendors in one time during the week and you can bargain with them just the same.

Overall, the resort is run down and they need some major upgrades. For the price, it should have been more. For lesser, we have stayed at better all-inclusives in Mexico. Even though the food and people were satisfactory, it's not worth what you pay for and we will not return to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank vtrnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We've been returning guests to Sandals Montego Bay for the past three years. All of the times were fantastic! We have always enjoyed ourselves and looked forward to each return visit. The weather has always been beautiful, only a few hours of rain total for all three stays, even while staying the week between two hurricanes.

Now for the Pros:
-The staff is always the best! They are more than happy to make sure everything is to your liking. If you want something, they will go above and beyond to try to find it for you. (if you go to the Beach bar and Duncan is there, ask for a Duncan special! it is a wonderful tropical drink that will cool you down! Plus the smile he gets on his face is unforgettable!)

-The rooms are very clean and housekeeping left very beautiful flower arrangements on our bed every day.

-The food was fantasic, the Itallian restaurant and Tokyo Joes was very good. For those who have said the food portions are small (I thought the portions were just enough), all you would have to do is ask them to double your order, they have absolutely no problem with doing that for you.

-The beach was always clean. They raked it every evening and morning. Very little waves due to the coral reef, so it was very relaxing being in the water.

-The watersports activities were great. If you don't know how to do something they will take as long as it takes to teach you. Snorkling was amazing! I was lucky enough to swim with a sting ray on one outing.

-The beach was quiet with no problem finding a seat *(with one exception, see Cons below)

-The gardens and pools were very well kept.

-The drinks are fantastic, they will make you just about anything you can think of!

-There are many many more Pros, almost too many to list.

Now for the (very few) Cons:

-Every wednesday, year long, they will be allowing a couple hundred cruise ship people (for $35 each) to take over the resort. You will not be able to find a chair (luckily we wake up early) and you will have to wait in long lines to get a drink and/or food. The worst part was that they did not inform any of the guests that this would be happening. All we saw was a huge flock of people carrying bags full of beach supplies swarming the beach. Therefore if you did not get out to the beach early and establish a chair then you would not have one. There were also a couple of teenagers running around, one was using a skimboard all along the beach. Not a very romantic or relaxing setting. They just started doing this this past month (that's what they told us when we asked). This was a very big surprize and very big change from the past years we've stayed. Therefore it is a couples only resort for every day but Wednesday. I suggest booking an excursion or tour away from the resort on Wednesdays (like we would've done had they informed us of this inconvenience), so you will not have to deal with the obnoxious cruise ship people who paid $35 taking over the resort you paid a few thousand dollars to stay in.
-After the big mob left it was a relaxing and enjoyable resort again (just like it use to be the past few years)

That is really the only con that I have( which is why I gave it 4 out of 5, the past two years have been 5 out of 5). That is not any of the staffs fault, it is management's fault for deciding to allow this. And that is due mainly to the fact that Sandals Montego Bay kept this a secret from their guests. Like I said before, we've been returning guests and have never had to deal with anything like this before in the past, and were never informed that there was this change that was made that took away from the nice private beach we have enjoyed in the years past. Had we have known, we would've booked our excursion we went on for Wednesday instead of Monday.

All in all Sandals Montego Bay is a very nice resort, the people and staff are all very friendly and just amazing. The beach and water are beautiful and that's really what makes a vacation for me. For our honemoon next year we have chosen to go to a different Sandals, not because we have had bad service here but just because we want to go to one that's a little more secluded and romantic for the entire stay. We will however take a transfer back for one day just to see all the wonderful people who work there that we have come to know throughout our stays at MoBay.

I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to try out Jamaica (despite the Wednesday surprise). If you like to snorkle or dive, the sites they take you are perfect. And it's all included, which is great! Just remeber to bring sunscreen, the sun is much more powerful down there, and bug spray (it's a tropical island, there will be insects). Although we weren't bitten by many mosquitos this year, not more than we would be sitting back home outside.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank LandToWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We enjoyed 4 days of ebeach, lovely gardens, asy comfort, delicious food, white sands beach, turquoise waters, friendly helpful staff, musical entertainment, all-inclusive activities, and more. My questions: why no ATM for cash to pay for off-site cabs, tips for tour guides and drivers, snacks off site, and purchaing souvenirs and
gifts at flea market? ATM is needed. There are many places at Sandals
that have a step up or down -- not helpful for wheelchair accessibility or people with visual or mobility problems. Food is wonderful -- need more entrees for vegetarians. The Friday flea market on site was delightful -- but it was not mentioned or listed on schedule and was in a location that many guests would have missed
-- and not way to obtrain cash to make purchases (need an ATM). Our room housekeeper Angela (for room 805) made a new sculpture with a towel each day (a heart, a fan, and a wonderful swan) decorated with hybiscus flower, placed on our bed. However, the room airconditioner over the entry all dripped badly with humidity condensation, causing floor puddles. Our wait staff peron Opal was a delight. Thank you to all for a wonderful time in Jamaica..

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SomeoneKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

We visited Sandals Montego Bay for 5 nights in late June. Truly, I cannot complain. The staff is wonderful, friendly, and attentive. The resort itself is older, but very clean and cared for. While we were there, some renovations were happening, but in no way did that detract from the experience. We booked a Honeymoon Concierge Beachfront Room, so our check in in the concierge lounge was charming and the room was great. We were in the Almonds block of rooms, on the second foor and the view could not have been more beautiful. I would encourage spending the extra money for the room with concierge service as the stocked bar and fridge are very helpful. The beach is great, the drinks perfect and the food very good. The best food is at the breakfast buffet, but I liked lunch. I frequently took my plate out to the pool and ate while my husband played volleyball. The music gets redundant, but it is local flavor. The entertainment was good. Definately get a hummingbird drink at the bar-they are heaven. We utilized all the sports-wakeboarding, kayaking, sailing, and snorkeling. We never even left the resort.
As for the planes-NO BIG DEAL. After the first one you barely notice the rest. Definately not a reason to eliminate this resort from your choices.
Be warned that leaving the Jamaica to head back home can be a long process . Long lines, immigration, etc all in a poorly airconditioned environment. Head to your gate for AC conditions.
We loved it! Hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank boatonwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews