We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rum Runners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Had a great time!! Top notch service with great food and of course a beautiful beach. Already thinking of going back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank noticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,954 - 4,958 of 5,656 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2007

Thank you for making my first of many soon to be trips to Jamaica absolutely marvelous!!! I could not have asked to stay at a better place than the beautiful Sandals Resort Montego Bay!!! From the door the kindness and sincerity that the staff as a whole showed was wonderful. I was there attending the Washington Wedding and although this was a couple's resort those that came single did not feel excluded from any of the activities that your resort had to offer. The meals were delicious, friendly staff, and an overall pleasant atmosphere. Not to mention that the country as a whole is just breathe taking and beautiful. Thank you for the change of scenery and the introduction to paradise!!! I so look forward to my next visit back. By the way thanks for making the Washington Wedding one to remember!!! Please be sure to add them to your hall of fame:)....

A small hello to some of my new found friends at Sandals- Big Al aka Alford, AJ, Ava, Shantae, Dwight, Steven, Karen, Paparazzi, Demart, and everyone else whom I had the pleasure of coming into contact with. Thanks again and continue to keep up the good work. Wishing Sandals continued success in the many years to come!!!

Blessings,

Mel from MD- Still Smiling ;->

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank melkay74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

The first two days of our stay were below satisfactory. Going through immigrations was average but took about 1 1/2 to 2 hours from landing to arriving at the hotel, which is only 5 minutes from the airport. Upon arrival they were courteous and provided drinks as we waited for an hour or more for our room. They upgraded us however we had no hot water for 2 days and the air conditioner took that amount of time to work also. They do not work in a quick fashion for any request.

The beach is nice, clean and you always find a good spot. The piano swim up bar have very few chairs outdoor so get there early. The drinks are slightly watered down so feel free to ask for a double shot. The bartenders were very accomodating and probably the best part of the trip. Patrick in the daytime, Kurtis in the nighttime - good people. The bar in the main lobby always seemed out of specific ingredients for drinks. See Duncan at the bar on the beach - ask for the Duncan Special!! Fantastic!!

The entertainment crew tried their best but the entertainment all the way around was very bland and boring. We heard most Top 40 music and very little Carribbean/Reggae. All of the staff were very polite and respectful.

You need to make reservations for Tokyo Joes & Cucina, do it as soon as you arrive. Tokyo Joes is basic stir fry, not worth it. Go to Cucina 2+ times, fantastic food. The Oleander, casual clothes, men MUST wear pants and nice shoes or sandals or you will not get in. Bayside has very good breakfast and lunch buffet with tons of variety. Don't miss Bayside on Friday nights, International food - Fantastic! OK Corral is forgettable - burgers and fries.

Violet, in the spa, is wonderful at doing braids for the ladies - you will pay about $100 including tip. There is no need to go shopping downtown since they bring vendors in one time during the week and you can bargain with them just the same.

Overall, the resort is run down and they need some major upgrades. For the price, it should have been more. For lesser, we have stayed at better all-inclusives in Mexico. Even though the food and people were satisfactory, it's not worth what you pay for and we will not return to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank vtrnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We've been returning guests to Sandals Montego Bay for the past three years. All of the times were fantastic! We have always enjoyed ourselves and looked forward to each return visit. The weather has always been beautiful, only a few hours of rain total for all three stays, even while staying the week between two hurricanes.

Now for the Pros:
-The staff is always the best! They are more than happy to make sure everything is to your liking. If you want something, they will go above and beyond to try to find it for you. (if you go to the Beach bar and Duncan is there, ask for a Duncan special! it is a wonderful tropical drink that will cool you down! Plus the smile he gets on his face is unforgettable!)

-The rooms are very clean and housekeeping left very beautiful flower arrangements on our bed every day.

-The food was fantasic, the Itallian restaurant and Tokyo Joes was very good. For those who have said the food portions are small (I thought the portions were just enough), all you would have to do is ask them to double your order, they have absolutely no problem with doing that for you.

-The beach was always clean. They raked it every evening and morning. Very little waves due to the coral reef, so it was very relaxing being in the water.

-The watersports activities were great. If you don't know how to do something they will take as long as it takes to teach you. Snorkling was amazing! I was lucky enough to swim with a sting ray on one outing.

-The beach was quiet with no problem finding a seat *(with one exception, see Cons below)

-The gardens and pools were very well kept.

-The drinks are fantastic, they will make you just about anything you can think of!

-There are many many more Pros, almost too many to list.

Now for the (very few) Cons:

-Every wednesday, year long, they will be allowing a couple hundred cruise ship people (for $35 each) to take over the resort. You will not be able to find a chair (luckily we wake up early) and you will have to wait in long lines to get a drink and/or food. The worst part was that they did not inform any of the guests that this would be happening. All we saw was a huge flock of people carrying bags full of beach supplies swarming the beach. Therefore if you did not get out to the beach early and establish a chair then you would not have one. There were also a couple of teenagers running around, one was using a skimboard all along the beach. Not a very romantic or relaxing setting. They just started doing this this past month (that's what they told us when we asked). This was a very big surprize and very big change from the past years we've stayed. Therefore it is a couples only resort for every day but Wednesday. I suggest booking an excursion or tour away from the resort on Wednesdays (like we would've done had they informed us of this inconvenience), so you will not have to deal with the obnoxious cruise ship people who paid $35 taking over the resort you paid a few thousand dollars to stay in.
-After the big mob left it was a relaxing and enjoyable resort again (just like it use to be the past few years)

That is really the only con that I have( which is why I gave it 4 out of 5, the past two years have been 5 out of 5). That is not any of the staffs fault, it is management's fault for deciding to allow this. And that is due mainly to the fact that Sandals Montego Bay kept this a secret from their guests. Like I said before, we've been returning guests and have never had to deal with anything like this before in the past, and were never informed that there was this change that was made that took away from the nice private beach we have enjoyed in the years past. Had we have known, we would've booked our excursion we went on for Wednesday instead of Monday.

All in all Sandals Montego Bay is a very nice resort, the people and staff are all very friendly and just amazing. The beach and water are beautiful and that's really what makes a vacation for me. For our honemoon next year we have chosen to go to a different Sandals, not because we have had bad service here but just because we want to go to one that's a little more secluded and romantic for the entire stay. We will however take a transfer back for one day just to see all the wonderful people who work there that we have come to know throughout our stays at MoBay.

I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to try out Jamaica (despite the Wednesday surprise). If you like to snorkle or dive, the sites they take you are perfect. And it's all included, which is great! Just remeber to bring sunscreen, the sun is much more powerful down there, and bug spray (it's a tropical island, there will be insects). Although we weren't bitten by many mosquitos this year, not more than we would be sitting back home outside.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank LandToWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We enjoyed 4 days of ebeach, lovely gardens, asy comfort, delicious food, white sands beach, turquoise waters, friendly helpful staff, musical entertainment, all-inclusive activities, and more. My questions: why no ATM for cash to pay for off-site cabs, tips for tour guides and drivers, snacks off site, and purchaing souvenirs and
gifts at flea market? ATM is needed. There are many places at Sandals
that have a step up or down -- not helpful for wheelchair accessibility or people with visual or mobility problems. Food is wonderful -- need more entrees for vegetarians. The Friday flea market on site was delightful -- but it was not mentioned or listed on schedule and was in a location that many guests would have missed
-- and not way to obtrain cash to make purchases (need an ATM). Our room housekeeper Angela (for room 805) made a new sculpture with a towel each day (a heart, a fan, and a wonderful swan) decorated with hybiscus flower, placed on our bed. However, the room airconditioner over the entry all dripped badly with humidity condensation, causing floor puddles. Our wait staff peron Opal was a delight. Thank you to all for a wonderful time in Jamaica..

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SomeoneKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
7.4 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,752 reviews
2.7 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
7.4 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.7 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,155 reviews
14.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $697 - $1,986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing