We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay but not that special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“okay but not that special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

There for the holidays.... room and resort was okay, but not the friendliest staff. good thing is you can dine and spend time in other sandals properties, even the one in Negril. You can rent a taxi for that at around $125 and will take you there and back. they keep advertising a deal @ up to 65% off... they have that deal since at least a year and a half or 2 as far as I can remember, so just a marketing gimmick... will never pay full "rack" rate for those resorts.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiatatravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,326
    1,124
    408
    221
    146
See reviews for
170
3,925
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My new wife and i chose Sandals Montego Bay Jamaica for our honeymoon. we had never been to Jamaica. Wile we were there people from other resorts reconfirmed we had made the right choice. The staff was amazing. they were very helpful and very happy in general. The food was better then we expected. the only not great meal i had in the entire 7 days was at Cucina Romana Italian menu. all the other restaurants were great. We loved Tokyo Joe's. Stew Fish was very romantic. We had such an amazing time and really enjoyed our stay. we would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: we stayed in the almond building. the rooms were small but very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I had our Wedding at Sandals Montego Bay and it was absolutely amazing. The resort, amenities, food, service, everything, was top notch and we would highly recommend this resort! We can not wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I would highly recommend the Sandals Resort Montego Bay for a honeymoon or any type of couples vacation. This was our first trip to Jamaica and we were not disappointed. The customer service, food, activities, and of course the locale were all excellent.
We opted for the Concierge level, which included a special lounge where you could book any excursions, make restaurant reservations, or get help with anything else you may need.

It was one of the most relaxing weeks of my life! We traveled in March and had beautiful weather all week (mid 80s and sunny) and the resort was not crowded.

Tips:
Make reservations to all of the resort restaurants that you want to eat at as soon as you arrive. They do book up rather quickly!
If you're picky about mixed drinks ask for the premium liquors. Otherwise, your drink will be a little watered down.
If you would like your room to be in a more quiet spot, book a room in the Almonds building. We booked the Water's Edge Honeymoon Suite (3rd floor), and it was great!

I could get really picky about this and that, but we went with the intention of relaxing on the beach and eating great food, and that's what we got!
I asked for my husband's input and he simply stated "Everything was irie man!" That pretty much sums it up! :-)

Room Tip: For a quieter section of the resort, book in the Almond building on the far end away from Tokyo Joe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBelle1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I was very disappointed with our room. It did not measure up to the pictures on the website. The staff was amazing upon arrival, made sure our bags were handled and gave us a drink to start our vacation right then we got into a VERY SMALL room, smaller then a standard hotel room for sure. NOT EVEN CLOSE TO ANY PICTURES!!! I must say the disappointment was hard to handle as this was my first vacation at an all inclusive resort. The staff was amazing, the food was great and the nightly entertainment was wonderful!!!! I just wish i could overcome the original shock of the room and bathroom (old, small and gross). The airplanes suck too but don't stand out when I think back to our vacation.

Room Tip: The NEW BUILDING not near where the beach vollyball is, garden AND ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
2.7 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
14.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
7.4 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
7.5 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.8 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): $614 - $1,522
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing