We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dining in Montego”

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville
Ranked #10 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
New York NY
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Elegant dining in Montego”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Good Food, beautiful terrace on the Caribbean Sea, decent service, but very, very expensive!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jamesgoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    826
    655
    229
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad service all around”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Having been to the Margaritavilles in both Negril and Ocho Rios I felt fairly confident when we chose this restaurant for my sister in law's birthday last week. I am not sure if the management is to blame for the discrepancy between this site and the others in Jamaica, but our experience there was awful.

The lifeguard at the top of the slide demanded a tip from my nephew in order to use the "free" waterslide, it took no less than 20 mins to get a cup of tea ( which when we asked how much longer we had to wait for water to boil we were told that it was "because we are making it from scratch") and when it DID finally arrive was without milk! The food was terrible (aside from the burger) overly salty and way over priced and the waiter flat out refused from the start to split the bill ( there were 14 of us). He gave the bill to US to divide up and then had the audacity to charge each one of us 18% for being a large group!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This franchise made it's last buck off of this family that's for sure.............

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kristy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Coming from a fan of our Margaritaville locations, it was disappointing to read your review. We are typically known for providing the best food, drinks and service to all of our guests, and we apologize for not delivering on the highest standards of service and menu offerings when you and your family visited. We have noted your comments regarding the tip to ride the waterslide, and rest assured that the situation has been corrected as we do not condone this type of behavior. Your comments regarding the saltiness of food have also been noted, and we have made our culinary team aware of the situation for immediate assessment. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies for your unpleasant experience, and we hope that despite this, you will consider visiting us in the future and give us another chance to not only meet, but exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High prices”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We were not overly impressed with this place. It costs us 35 dollars with tip for two drinks. I spoke to another who ate here as well and it was 100 dollars U.S for two people. It's also very crowded when the cruise ship comes in. The gift shop is overpriced as well. If money is not an issue for you, then you may enjoy the people playing on the jumbo slide and climbing features in the water.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel_eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
We thank you for taking the time to visit us while on your vacation, and are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations from a pricing standpoint. Our menu offerings are evaluated on a regular basis to ensure the highest value, based on the offerings of similar concepts. We will be analyzing these offerings very soon, so you can look forward to improvements on our food and beverage options in the future. Thanks again for visiting, and we hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Late Night!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We visited two times on our trip. Both late nights. Fun begins at about midnight, but worth the wait. Something for everyone who wants a lively experience. Energetic Drum and DJ one night on the main floor and a different DJ on the top deck. Second night had a very good live band upstairs, the addition of new comfy couches and chairs and had a lounge atmosphere. Staff was incredibly friendly to us and the free shuttles to and from our hotel made us feel safer venturing out at night.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunskaterun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Fun and energy at night are what we’re all about, and we’re glad that you had the chance to experience that with us not once, but twice! In addition to giving you the best night time experience in Montego Bay, our aim is also to make you feel safe when you come to party with us, and we are truly happy that you took the time to visit us and be a part of our nightlife. Whether it was the high energy of our lower level dance floor, or the chill, laid back vibe of our lounge upstairs, Margaritaville (Club Ville) is the place to be for the best night time entertainment. Thanks for visiting and don’t forget to stop by the next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fun time”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I would recommend going with a group as it could be a bit intimmidating. Especially leaving.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dbaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing