We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really excellent !”
Review of Moon Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moon Hill
Ranked #5 of 31 Kingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2011

as a journalist working in the Caribbean and living in Suriname, I visited so many hotels. This one is very special : I rented the house in front of the swimming pool. All around is a beautiful garden and in the distance, down the hills : Kingston. As a surprise, very special to meet the owner Oliver Hill, the author of the Jamaica (Moon series) Travelling Guide, like I did for the Caribbean Media Group about Suriname. Don't miss Moon Hill !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaapHoogendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Moon Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

I was in Kingston on business for one night and was looking for a more unique experience than a hotel. Moon Hill delivered on all fronts. Fantastic views of Kingston Bay from the top of a hill. A beautiful place to have a drink and watch the sun set. The rooms are spacious and clean and there is also a nice pool.
If you like the quiet it is ideal and in a short 10-15min taxi ride you can be in New Kingston or Barbican. Great Value and highly recommended. The propieter of the property is also an expert on Jamaica and its culture which helps add a trive of academic and cultural knowledge to the experience.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with a views
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunandSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We spent our first 2 nights in Jamaica in Kingston, and our stay at Moon Hill was definitely a great start to this holiday. After a 15 minutes drive from the airport we arrived in this beautiful villa in between lush green hills and were surprised by a breathtaking view over the bay. The rooms are spacious, filled with bright sunlight, and there is a generous living area with dining room, not to forget a big terrace with hammocks and comfy chairs. Our breakfast: topped by fresh mango just picked in the garden! The swimming-pool is well maintained, and after breakfast we could relax at it surrounded by tropical rainforest. After all, we had the feeling being in our own private villa!
The owner is the person to ask about travel advice, knowing virtually everything about Kingston and the rest of the island, so we knew where to enjoy our jerk chicken, the vibrant nightlife and where to continue our Jamaican adventure. Definitely to recommend!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank drcorazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I've been a frequent guest at Moon Hill villa since it opened in 2009. I enjoyed waking up to beautiful sunny mornings, tropical birds and a nice breakfast ...everything done from scratch. My days are either filled with trips into the city or just chilling by the pool at Moon Hill that overlooks the beautiful city. At nights the concierge makes sure I am never bored whether its trips to the local clubs, restaurants or bars or dinner and music at Moon Hill. So whether you just want to relax or shake it with trips to clubs or sightseeing...I definitely recommend any and everyone to stay at Moon Hill.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We (3 people) went for a 4 weeks holiday to jamaica with the intention to stay at the north coast but also to visit the capital of the island. Searching for something special we came through friends contacts to this spot up in the cool and quiet hills of kingston, still only 5 to 10 minutes drive away from the main streets of the city. The view is amazing basically over the whole city to the waterfront and the keys! A beautiful garden was settled around a villa. A short visit became easily a 2 weeks stay.... It has a large living and a dining room with antique furnitures.The sleeping rooms were spacious, the roof terrace is fantastic to watch the sunsets, the kitchen is modern and offered anything we wished anytime. The pool and the sweet extern poolhouse are maintained and clean and where one of our favorite spots. Oliver, the extraordinary friendly and competent host of the place is a journalist and helped us to find things in and around town, a perfect tour guide as he writes books about the island!! He picked us fresh fruits for juices from the lush green garden anytime we were thirsty. Even our rental car found a place in the owners garage!!! Truly a real hidden jewel on a beautiful island!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TufffKausG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
4.3 km away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
868 reviews
5.0 km away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
489 reviews
4.9 km away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Neita's Nest
Neita's Nest
#1 of 31 in Kingston
190 reviews
1.3 km away
Kingsworth
Kingsworth
#6 of 31 in Kingston
27 reviews
3.5 km away
Strawberry Hill
Strawberry Hill
#4 of 25 in Kingston
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Kingston

Been to Moon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Hill

Address: 5 Roedeen Close | Barbican Heights, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: $94 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon Hill in Kingston, Jamaica :::Nestled in the Blue Mountain foothills on the edge of town, Moon Hill offers the ultimate home away from home in a comfortable hillside villa boasting spectacular views of Kingston, a private pool and expansive gardens. Whether you're a visiting executive with chronic hotel fatigue, a family looking to experience the most memorable vacation, a yoga instructor seeking the perfect retreat, or a producer or musician needing a luxurious base with easy access to the best of Kingston's music and entertainment industry, this four-bedroom villa is the only accommodation option of its kind. Coupled with personal concierge services to cover any need, Moon Hill offers its guests all-exclusive accommodation. Moon Hill is also a great stop-off point for those visiting other parts of Jamaica who fly into or out of Kingston, where a night or two at the start or end of a trip can give visitors a taste of the best the capital city, Jamaica's Heartbeat, has to offer! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moon Hill Hotel Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing