We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not open for our visit”
Review of Bay Gardens - CLOSED

Bay Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private three-acre garden with an estimated 3,000 different species of flora found in Grenada and the Caribbean.
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We drove to visit Bay Gardens this morning as I am keenly interested in tropical flora, but we were most disappointed to find the place apparently abandoned. The 'Welcome to Bay Gardens' sign was still there, but the offices were empty, and the entrance area was looking distinctly neglected. The refreshments area was equally looking as though it had not been used for a while. When we went on to visit Fort Matthew, near St George's, we were told that the owner had 'gone away'. Such a shame as the gardens are still clearly indicated on the most recent local tourist maps.

Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were recently (Feb 2014) visiting old friends who own part of Bay Garden (the wife's family own it). They are currently working on restoring it, but it may be awhile before it is ready for visitors.

1  Thank ole_desert_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We found our way to the vicinity of Bay Gardens, but when we asked a neighbour we were informed that they were no longer open. This was on Saturday 1st February 2014. I rated this as a 1 star attraction because I could not leave this field blank.

2  Thank Owen_thesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Visited in December 2013, I really can not say if the garden is open or shut, everything was in poor order, looking as though there had been no maintenance for months, Can someone advice if this garden has not shut down please ?

Thank kevinbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The owner of the garden takes you round and he knows just about every plant and tree in this unusual, natural garden. It has belonged to his family since he played in it as a child and is well worth a visit. We managed to get there by bus from St Georges it is between Happy Hill and Wiillis.

2  Thank bcrowe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Gardens also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing