We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Gardens - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Update on Bay Gardens

We were recently (Feb 2014) visiting old friends who own part of Bay Garden (the wife's family own... read more

Reviewed 9 March 2014
ole_desert_pete
,
buckskin
Open or shut ??????

Visited in December 2013, I really can not say if the garden is open or shut, everything was in... read more

Reviewed 23 December 2013
kevinbenton
,
United Kingdom
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
10
4
2
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
4
2
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Seemed to be closed, and been so for a while. We found a small house/cafe that seemed to have been closed for a long time.

Date of experience: November 2012
1  Thank KjetilRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Bay Gardens no longer exist in any managed form. Yes, you can see the remnants of what must have once been a beautiful place, but now it is just an overgrown wilderness.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The owner, our guide, couldn't have been more helpful, showing us around the extensive gardens, which must have been glorious in better days - before hurricane Ivan. At the time we went,the gardens were pretty run down, but we really enjoyed our visit, and our host was extremely knowledgable about all the flora and fauna, plus you can buy herbs and spices there.

4  Thank TurtleBayWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I worked with the owner to arrange a bouquet for our wedding day in Grenada,,, orchid bouquet,,, they were delivered right to the resort. I was happy with it, only arranging things over email and phone once we arrived in Grenada.

Date of experience: March 2012
Thank Travelledalot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Albert St. Bernard is the owner and wonderful guide of this jungle paradise.
One can phone beforehand to make sure a guide is there to meet you.
A zone 4 bus (ask which one) from St. George's bus station costing 2.50ecd (60p. UK) will drop you at St. Paul's Police Station. A short walk downhill will take you to the garden which costs only 10ecd pp.
Compared to the other well manicured, more expensive, cruise ship focussed gardens, this is a joy for the true gardener.
There are Coy carp in a pond and "pregnant palms" amid lots of indigenous specimens. As it is mainly green, the sudden splash of colour is surprising.
Albert, who is on the Chelsea Flower Show exhibit (he will be there this year), explains everything so clearly.

Date of experience: February 2012
3  Thank FredaCarl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews