We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Been back a week, and missing this lovely hotel. It was total relaxation from day one. People have said they have had trouble with the time share people, but we just said no politely and after the first few days they never bothered us apart from passing the time of day. All staff were lovely and friendly. We had a problem with the room upon arrival,(no hot water) but within 10-15 mins of reporting it to reception the maintenance man was there and fixed it. We stayed in villa 4 and had a garden view. Talking of the gardens they were beautiful and well kept. Over the family side there were many picturesque lakes, bridges and nooks and crannies. Some of the lakes had flamingos, turtles and cranes in them. We tried all the restaurants and the food and service was all good. Our favourites were Thalassa ( breakfast, lunch and evening). I must say a big thank you to the chef at breakfast for your patience in teaching me how to ask for eggs sunny side up, after two weeks I cracked it .Sea blue ( breakfast, dinner and evening ). Sorrento pizzeria ( lunch ). We loved the beach bar all times of the day, especially at night it was so chilled. Loved the lady. The beach, yes it had a lot seaweed but the beach guys were out in the morning hand raking and collecting it in a tractor which cleared the sand. The evening entertainment in the adult side was low key but relaxing. The family side was a very different story. The Michael Jackson tribute act was amazing. We went on one trip to Santa Domingo which was very interesting, thanks to Victor. Our Thomson rep, Fray, was a really lovely, helpful man.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your lovely review. Your kind of experience is the one we strive to deliver to all of our guests. Catalonia Royal Bavaro is your home and we look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,851)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 177 of 5,851 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

Overall average, would not return because poor or no air conditioning in rooms or restaurants...poor room service and internet didn't work at all in my room. Food and service was very good at restaurants, but you couldn't enjoy it due to the heat.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chiantijp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for stay with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you had a great vacation with us. We have sent your remarks about the opportunity areas you mention to the involved departments. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we look forward to welcome you anytime soon.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay! Rooms were nice,food was good. Ana, Omar, and Rudy were awesome! Loved them! The Sea restaurant had great surf and turf. Their lunch was also good. Louis at the beach bar was wonderful too. We loved the beach party too. The employees made us feel so welcomed! We can't wait to go again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your lovely review. Your kind of experience is the one we strive to deliver to all of our guests. Catalonia Royal Bavaro is your home and we look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I had been looking for an all-inclusive getaway with several family members for my 40th birthday. We had looked at several locations in the Caribbean - Mexico, Aruba, Jamaica, etc. My brother had vacationed previously in Playa del Carmen at the Catalonia Royal Tulum, and when we found that there was a Catalonia in the Dominican Republic, we decided that would be our destination. It did NOT disappoint!

The location was perfect! Crystal clear waters, beautiful scenery and every amenity you could want in an all-inclusive. The resort is set away from all of the other resorts on the eastern side of the island. I felt like the entire stretch of the beach was ours. The resort had everything we could have possibly wanted; we only left the resort once during our 8 day vacation to do an excursion. Otherwise, the restaurants, entertainment, shopping, etc., it was all there! The food in the restaurants was very good, and there were tons of different delicacies to choose from. The staff at the restaurants were generally pleasant. Sometimes we had to deal with the occasional slower, non-attentive service, but this was few and far between. My girlfriend and I played both golf courses while were there; both were beautiful and surprisingly in very good condition considering the very hot conditions there. The grounds were very well kept on both sides - the adult only side (Royal Bavaro) and the family section (Bavaro Beach).

One of my only complaints with the resort was the folks trying to get you to hear the timeshare spiel. I understand that is their reason for being there and they are just doing their job, but a few times we purposely avoided the entrance area because we knew that's where they were located, and one time we even got chased out of the entrance because they wanted us to sit down with them. I have signed up with a timeshare in the past and made it clear to these people on the first day that I was not interested and they would be wasting their time talking to me, but that fell on deaf ears.

All-in-all, I got the experience that I was looking for during this vacation! I would love to return sometime and stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro again, and if I travel somewhere in the future that has a Catalonia resort in that city/country, I will definitely consider staying there based on this vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for stay with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you had a great vacation with us. We have sent your remarks about the opportunity areas you mention to the involved departments. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we look forward to welcome you anytime soon.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Pushy sales people trying to get you to upgrade or buy a time share. No patience for having to endure this when I already paid for accommodations. Not worth the headache of having to fight these people off to enjoy your hard earned vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelvC6957WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your reviews. We are deeply sorry for the situations you faced during your stay with us and we can assure you this is not our standard in anyway. We have made the improvements to prevent these situations in the future. Hopefully we will have you again to enjoy the improvements.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
20.4 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
15.7 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,874 reviews
67.9 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#38 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,860 reviews
15.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
92.1 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $244 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing