We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,846)
Filter reviews
6,846 results
Traveller rating
3,695
1,916
747
268
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,695
1,916
747
268
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal side infinity pool piano bar cata tapa thalassa restaurant tapas restaurant the sea blue restaurant tao cat rodeo steak house juice bar royal guests la toscana yuca california roll swim up bar sister resort sea grass
Filter
Updating list...
1,102 - 1,107 of 6,846 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017

A fabulous week at a lovely and cozy adults only resort. The staff was great, the grounds lovely, rooms and beds comfortable, Tapas, Thai and Vegetarian were our favorites and no reservations needed!! Great beach and pools. Lovely staff. Massage therapists were amazing AND done in a little palapa close to the beach?! Heaven.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Paul Clifford F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Clifford.
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to know you enjoyed your vacation at our Resort. We are happy to know you were pleased with our restaurants and courteous service. Only demanding customers like you allow us to improve our service and the biggest compliment that our team can get is your desire to return.

We look forward welcoming you again.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Very much enjoyed our stay at this resort! Facilities were modern, clean and user friendly. Food was excellent in all the restaurants and buffet. Would definitely return to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank lilith28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Lilith.
It is nice to know that you had a nice trip and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. The biggest compliment that our team can get is your desire to return. It will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Love the place one of the best resorts i have ever stayed at. They selection for restaurants was great the golf course was a nice touch and the had a lot of other things that provided entertainment if you do not leave the resort.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank D8132ZGshanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Shanes.
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Thank you for your nice remarks about the facilities, restaurants and courteous service. We highly value your observations regarding our services, as we believe that they are the key to the continuing process of improvement. Thank you a lot for recommending us.

We'll be waiting for your return.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

August 6, 2016 – August 14, 2016 – Catalonia Royal Bavaro – Adults only side

Arrived at airport and was through customs in less than 1 hour. Transportation to the resort by DominicanPlus was great as usual, would not use any other service.

5th time to PC, 1st visit to Catalonia Royal.

Rating for the Wedding 2 ½ stars. Not as happy as we should have been.

We eloped for a second marriage, just the two of us. This is one of the few resorts that offer a package that is as attractive as this one. Everything, except the photographer is included, venue, flowers, ceremony and romantic dinner and the price is great.

Now the issues:
1. No attention to details – this was evident over and over again. The wedding coordinator was very nice and was always very responsive to emails prior. Communication was a little difficult because of the language barrier, not anyone’s fault as I do not know any Spanish but an issue. We were advised a deposit was needed, it was wired, for a fee, upon receipt of the funds we were then advised the full payment was due, another wire fee, had she just indicated payment in full it could have eliminated the extra fee.
2. I needed the steamer for my dress, I was told it would be delivered at a certain time, waited in the room for an hour and a half, called the office, no one there. Delivered the next day. I would have preferred to have spent that time on the beach.
3. We met with her to discuss everything and went away pleased and comfortable with the details being all worked out. We were told the cart would be arriving to pick up the Groom at 4:30, and would be back for me at 4:45. My husband was outside in the heat until 4:50 to be told he was there to pick me up. The driver had not been given the correct instructions. Needless to say our wedding was late.
4. Ceremony was performed by the coordinator, not a problem if the uniform she was wearing was presentable. The pictures show a wrinkled, dingy, well-worn uniform. Terrible photo op
5. The wedding package selected was for the couple only. The “vows” included the phrase “in the presence of family/friends”, again NATD (No attention to details)
6. We were told the certificate would be delivered to our room. It was not, when we got back we realized we didn’t get it and emailed, was told it was sent to the room and there would be a fee to send it to our home address. Asked her to email it and she did. Did it come back to her office or was it not sent?
7. We stayed at the resort for 5 additional days, they never put a “Newly Married” or Honeymoon banner on our door. The couple across the hall had a birthday banner put up to acknowledge the day but we did not. Not a big thing but a detail that should not have been overlooked since we were married on the grounds. NATD
8. You are only allowed to use their photographer on the resort unless you pay an exorbitant amount to bring in your own. Cost prohibited. So we used the in house company and were pleased with what we received. Not cheap, twice the wedding package but satisfied.
9. If we had a large traditional wedding with guests I am certain the list would have been a lot longer. Not bad but NO attention to detail for the little things.
10. Beach is not picture perfect, the water is VERY shallow and sand not as pristine as other resorts so photos by the water are not great and the rope bowie is really noticeable in the pictures. So if you want a lot of photo’s on the beach they are not awesome.
11. Also, ladies with natural nails, PLEASE bring you own polish. You are required to be on the resort 3 days prior to your wedding by then you may need a touch-up. I had mine done and they were HORRIBLE. Not cheap but so poorly done, I didn’t choose any of the close-up photos of my hands. Just FYI

Now all the Wonderful things about this resort – 4 Stars

Check In: We arrived early were given access to explore the resort until our room was ready, had a quick check in from a very friendly staff member

Grounds: are really very well kept, extremely inviting, modern, relaxing. Were there a few places that had deferred maintenance, yes but that is to be expected with such a large resort. We enjoyed being on the Adult side for the peace and relaxation during the day, always found a chair no matter what time we went out. The beach is ok, not optimal, very very shallow, so if a nice deep ocean experience is what you are going there for, this resort may not be for you. We would have preferred deeper water but it was ok to cool off in. We are a pretty fit older couple and did not mind the walk to the family side in the evenings, even in heels it was close enough.

Food: We enjoyed the beach restaurant most days, very happy to see they had burgers made out of real beef instead of frozen half cooked patties we had at other beach restaurants. The pear and walnut salad with gorgonzola was a hit for me, I had it more days than not. I did find the portions on the Adult side were a little small but ok. The combinations we saw were just a little different than other resorts, more chef inspired than the traditional AI menu’s. We tried to make it to all of the restaurants on our side as well as the family side, the steakhouse was our favorite. The Buffet was hot and the selection was not as vast as we have experienced at other resorts but we always found something good to eat. The mangoes were the sweetest I have ever tasted, the salad bar and fruit bar were both very good.

Staff: Nelson at the front desk got the ball rolling during check in, friendly, attentive and informative. He set the stage for all that we encountered. We found the staff at this resort to be the most friendly we have experienced with the exception of the Majestic Colonial 6 years ago. Some of the reviews mentioned the staff catered to Spanish speaking guests. I must say we did not experience any sub-par service. Every year when we go back, I feel so bad I haven’t pick-up more Spanish, that said did they spend more time speaking with them, yes, that is just natural, it was easier to strike up and continue conversations with someone that speaks the same language. This trip we really did try to learn more and everyone we came in contact with tried to help us out, we all laughed a lot but they remembered we were trying and would continue to educate us. Does that mean we were treated less, no I would not say that at all. Wait staff on the beach was the best we have experienced. Never had to wait, they came around very often without being intrusive.

Room: our room was on the 3rd floor facing the grounds in the privilege building. It was nice, the air conditioner made a weird sound that annoyed my husband but we never said anything as we read others felt their room was warm or went without while waiting for it to be fixed. We knew to take our showers early so we always had hot water, pressure was a little weak but not an issue.

The nightly shows on the other side were not as professional as we are used to seeing so we didn’t stay or go to all of them. The piano bar on the Adult side was nice but a little warm.

I think we always enjoy ourselves because we understand that 4 Star resorts in PC are different than in the States and that presenting yourself as friendly goes a long way. If you don’t speak the language and it bothers you that all the staff doesn’t speak what you do, maybe another island is better suited for you instead of complaining.

Will we be back to Cat Royal, maybe, not because there was anything wrong just so many others to choose from.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NYNYLOVESTHESUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Nyn.
Thank you for described the details about your trip. We are so glad to know you had a wonderful vacation at our Resort. Thank you for your nice remarks about restaurants and bars, the facilities and friendly staff. Only demanding customers like you allow us to improve our service and the biggest compliment that our team can get is your desire to return. Thank you for recommending us.
We look forward welcoming you again.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Hotel is clean but needs renovating is some areas. Service was terrible except in the tapas restaurant where it was excellent. Food was mixed, some things were excellent and then others were terrible. In general i would say it was average.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sheena Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear Sheena.
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not entirely correspond to your expectations. Be assured that your comments have been shared with the departments involved. Please, We encourage you to inform our Guest Service at the moment if any inconvenience happens during your stay, so we can improve your experience opportunely. Thank you again for the comments; we certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews