We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,803)
Filter reviews
12,803 results
Traveller rating
7,863
2,903
1,184
508
345
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,863
2,903
1,184
508
345
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world cafe preferred club core zone entertainment team seaside grill oceana restaurant benjamin franklin barracuda bar explorers club coffee boy swim up bar honeymoon suite coco cafe wedding coordinator dominican republic adjoining rooms ping pong
Filter
Updating list...
3,532 - 3,537 of 12,803 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016

A little late, but my family of 5 (2 adults, 5, 3, and 11 mos old) spent a week at Dreams January the 22nd to January the 29th, 2016. It was a wonderful time and I would recommend this resort to anyone. Young, old, small parties, big parties, there is something for everyone. We decided to go with the Preferred Club Package, and would say there were enough perks to recommend upgrading (especially those travelling as a family). We stayed in building 6 and had two adjoining rooms (one king, two queens and a crib) and it was by far the best building for us to be in. Close proximity to the beach, pool, and majority of the restaurants. Although the rooms are not the most modern looking (something we read about on tripadvisor before and were prepared for) what they lack in modern aesthetics they make up for in cleanliness. Were there a few problems? Yes and minor at that. But the resort stayed on them and followed up until we were satisfied. A HUGE shout out to Evelyn who was the house keeper for our section. She was very kind and kept our room very clean.

The food was SO GOOD. Tons of variety and we never felt like we were getting tired of the same old same old. With the Preferred pkg it allowed us to eat at the Oceana morning buffet. It was really nice to be able to eat breakfast and watch the ocean in the morning. The Oceana also had a wonderful lunch and supper menu. The staff there were very hospitable and did their level best to make it memorable for our family. Sanchez and his superman antics were by far my sons (5) favorite part of the meal. The Barefoot Grill and Pizzeria had great lunch options too. They also offered food and drink service on the beach which we indulged in. It was nice not to have to leave our stuff or lose our spot. The a la Carte restaurants that we ate at, which consisted of the Oceana, the Italian, and Steak and Seafood restaurants were also very good. With kids though the Italian restaurant was maybe not the best choice. We did however go there for our daughter's (3) birthday and the staff couldn't have been nicer. They brought her out her own cake and all the staff came out and sang to her. My kids still have the birthday song in their head. As to the buffet, again, tons of options and for a buffet really good food. My husband ranks buffets pretty low and he had to say he was happy with the options and quality of food offered.

For special occasions, when we were done our meal and came back to the room, the door had a birthday banner on it and the all the beds had flowers, streamers and balloons on them. You simply have to notify them of your occasion and they will make it special.

The beach was very clean and there was lots of options for seating either in the shade or out in the sunshine. The resort doesn't have a buffer for waves and so some days when it was windy the waves were quite strong. The pool was well kept and well stocked with chairs and mats enough for everyone. The pool is shallow, but for small children, people who wanted to just lounge, or those just wanting to stay cool as they moved from one area to another it was great.

One last thing. We let the kids go to the Explorers Club one morning (have to be 3 years and up) and they had a great time. They didn't always offer things the kids liked and it didn't always work out with our schedule but they really enjoyed themselves and the staff were very kind to them. They had activities well on into the evening for older kids to enjoy as well.

We had planned to go on one or two excursions while in Punta Cana, but in the end with small children there didn't seem to be too many options. Mostly because we were looking for 1/2 day trips and things we could do with everyone. We never regretted our decision not to go off site. The kids were happy with what the resort offered and we were happy to just relax with the kids.

Awesome service and weather = Awesome experience.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear Georgia R,

Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, and providing us with your excellent review. We are glad to confirm that you had a wonderful experience, and were highly satisfied with our delicious food choices, impeccable service, and more. We appreciate you recommending us, and look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Our big family of 15 just returned from Dreams and everyone loved it!

The highlight of our trip was the awesome entertainment staff. From the activities at the beach and pool, to the nightly shows, the adults and kids in our group we busy and entertained all day. Manny, Drake and Luis in Core zone were wonderful to the teens. They stayed busy with basketball, pool, archery, foosball…..and the list goes on. The younger kids in our group loved going to the Explorers Club for nightly movies and dance parties.

Franklin (Benjamin Franklin), Yoel, Sandy and Jolie were some of our favorite entertainment staff. They organized fun beach and pool activities that the entire family could do (ages 6-15). The staff went out of their way to make our vacation memorable. We loved it and will be singing and dancing the “happy” dance for months to come!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbloedorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear jbloedorn,

Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa for your recent family vacation, and providing us with your exceptional review. It was a delight to host you, and we are thrilled to confirm that you all loved our resort. Your feedback is very important to us. We will be happy to pass your comments along to our Entertainment team, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

My Boyfriend and I along with his 3 kids spent a week at this resort March 13-20th 2016. We had a preferred Family Room. I would not have booked the Preferred family room and would have just booked a regular family room as the preferred room really was no better and we could never get a spot in the Preferred beach as the resort was too busy. The preferred club too was nice but the food never varied. So not really worth it.
Since it was March Break it was really busy and we had to play the "fun" towel game everyday. Has to get up by 7am to reserve 4 chairs in the shade. We hate doing this but it was necessary as we had to have shade for the kids.

The pool was awesome!!! Never saw a pool so big. We had a great time playing in it everyday and floating around. Our kids never used the Explorer clubs or anything so I can not comment on that. Service was excellent everywhere. The grounds at this resort are beautiful I must say. Very lush and well maintained. Loved seeing the flamingos and peacocks strolling around everyday.

We ate mostly at the Buffet everyday, but did try the Japanese once and loved it. Shout out to Angel in the Buffet!!! He was awesome and was very attentive and fun! the Kids loved him!!! The food at the Buffet was great!

The rooms were ok, they need some updating but the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were cleaned well everyday.

The nightly entertainment was lacking I thought compared to other resorts we have been too. The entertainment crew did their best but the shows were rather boring. We tried to go watch some movies at the outdoor movie theatre but got eaten alive by mosquitos. Not the best location for the theatre.

I must say the most annoying thing were the damn Peacocks that woke us up so many times! They would plant themselves on our balcony and start screeching in middle of night! I would have to get up and scare them away. Never knew they were that loud! Some one told me it was mating season so they were especially loud.

Overall it was a great vacation, and the kids had much fun. As a couple I probably would not return as we prefer Adult only resorts, but with kids its a good resort.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingpongladyont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear pingpongladyont,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent vacation, and for your review. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are glad to hear that we were able to impress you with our food choices, beautiful grounds, and friendly service. In like manner, we appreciate your remarks about our areas of opportunity, and will surely have them on account for future improvements. This being said, we look forward to welcoming you back someday.

Kind Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I returned from Dreams Punta Cana on 15th March 2016. I went with my wife and another couple and we had a fantastic time. We stayed in block 2 which was at the beach end of the complex and everything was good. Food in all restaurants was wonderful, very good selection in the World Cafe Buffet and always hot which made a change from other buffets I had been to. The Japanese restaurant food was beautiful as were the steaks in the Seaside Grill. There was a large selection of alcoholic drinks apart from the local stuff (Smirnoff, Drambuie, Johnnie Walker Black & Red Labels, Baileys, Jack Daniels, Budweiser, Miller GD, Gordons Gin and Absolut vodka to name a few)and the local red wine was very nice. The gardens were stunning with Peacocks and Flamingos roaming freely. There was a show in the theater every evening from about 9pm and singers and bands throughout the complex each evening including a Rock Band on the beach on a Saturday evening after the show. The only minor issue was that the shows were on a 7 day repeat instead of 14 but we didn't really mind. A very special mention for the staff at the Veranda Bar in Reception especially Yonis, Henry, Rafael and Carlos. They entertained us every evening and made us feel special. Thanks lads. The free wifi was exceptional and we were able to stream sport without any problem. Everyone at the Hotel was hard-working, friendly and very polite and made our stay exceptional. They continually worked to improve things on a daily basis throughout. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone who likes good food, good drink and a fun time. I will return at the same time next year without doubt. robthejock

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, Executive Assistant at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Robbie M,

Thank you for the opportunity to host you, and for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and are delighted to read that you had a happy vacation, and were impressed with our delicious food choices, and the friendly service delivered by our staff, especially those mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Farrah Borg Polanco
Executive Assistant
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
Info.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Dream was wonderful people were very friendly , room very clean and pool was amazing , wanted to go this year but they were booked when we needed it.would go back in a heart beat. Food was delicious

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank Pati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, Executive Assistant at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Pati S,

Thank you for choosing us, and sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you satisfied with our friendly service, food choices, accommodations, and pool. It was a delight to host you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Farrah Borg Polanco
Executive Assistant
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
Info.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews