We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but here is why I gave only 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Dreams Punta Cana is no doubt beautiful.
Here are the pros:
Excellent food, very nice staff for the most part
A show every night with music and dancing
Activities and entertainment staff were awesome
Very clean and pretty much bug free
Absolutely gorgeous grounds with flamingos and peacocks everywhere, which kept us very entertained.
Great drinks, beautiful beach, safe, with wifi
Kayak rental, scuba diving lessons, hobie cat lessons, snorkel masks were all free.

Why they only got 4 stars from me
Cons:
Food: I feel that the food could have been better, with more cultural options and local dishes rather than trying to cater to the travelers coming in with French, Italian, or American Food. I came here to eat different food. I don't want to eat something I can find at home, but that's just me.
Staff: Most of the staff was amazing, but certain people seemed rude. The Lifeguard on the beach was by far the most disappointing. One day, the waves were rough and all that was out was a yellow flag. There were no ropes indicating rocks. My mom and I were caught in a rip tide and nearly drowned. When we finally got close to the beach we were being thrown against rocks not far from shore. Sad thing was that another guest came to help us and the lifeguard did nothing. He just came up to us and yelled at us and told us not to swim there. He never even got in the water. Laziness! Also, the staff at the shack closest to the beach were very rude and seemed to hate their life. The staff at the shack by the pool was very nice. Also, while they strictly prohibited topless sunbathing, I saw a woman doing that on the beach and not a single staff member said anything to her and there were young children playing in the sand nearby.
Communication: On my mom's birthday we wanted to eat the french restaurant, it was closed two days in a row and was not noted on the daily flyer.
Spraying for bugs: The japanese restaurant had been fumigated earlier in the day and was still open for dinner. While we were eating it was very hot in there and all we could smell was the bug fumes, mixed with cooking food was not appetizing.
Concierge: While our Concierge was very nice, I get very annoyed at the fact that every time my family and I stay at a property through RCI, they always try to sell us something. We just want to escape and have a vacation, not buy another time share. She couldn't take the hint that my family was NOT interested in buying yet another timeshare.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't face the pool if you want to get sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IndyRunner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, Executive Assistant at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Dear IndyRunner1984,

Thank you for staying with us recently, and for your review. It was a pleasure being your hosts, and we are glad to confirm that you were satisfied with our food choices, entertainment program and the cleanliness of our hotel. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for any unpleasant situation you may have come across during your stay, and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
As a service oriented company, we strive to deliver remarkable experiences, and it is with comments like yours that we can identify our highs and lows in order to better serve our guests. Needless to say, we have forwarded your remarks to the corresponding department heads, and you can rest assured these won’t be overlooked.

Best regards,

Farrah Borg Polanco.
Executive Assistant
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
info.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,691 - 2,695 of 11,775 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2016

A little late, but my family of 5 (2 adults, 5, 3, and 11 mos old) spent a week at Dreams January the 22nd to January the 29th, 2016. It was a wonderful time and I would recommend this resort to anyone. Young, old, small parties, big parties, there is something for everyone. We decided to go with the Preferred Club Package, and would say there were enough perks to recommend upgrading (especially those travelling as a family). We stayed in building 6 and had two adjoining rooms (one king, two queens and a crib) and it was by far the best building for us to be in. Close proximity to the beach, pool, and majority of the restaurants. Although the rooms are not the most modern looking (something we read about on tripadvisor before and were prepared for) what they lack in modern aesthetics they make up for in cleanliness. Were there a few problems? Yes and minor at that. But the resort stayed on them and followed up until we were satisfied. A HUGE shout out to Evelyn who was the house keeper for our section. She was very kind and kept our room very clean.

The food was SO GOOD. Tons of variety and we never felt like we were getting tired of the same old same old. With the Preferred pkg it allowed us to eat at the Oceana morning buffet. It was really nice to be able to eat breakfast and watch the ocean in the morning. The Oceana also had a wonderful lunch and supper menu. The staff there were very hospitable and did their level best to make it memorable for our family. Sanchez and his superman antics were by far my sons (5) favorite part of the meal. The Barefoot Grill and Pizzeria had great lunch options too. They also offered food and drink service on the beach which we indulged in. It was nice not to have to leave our stuff or lose our spot. The a la Carte restaurants that we ate at, which consisted of the Oceana, the Italian, and Steak and Seafood restaurants were also very good. With kids though the Italian restaurant was maybe not the best choice. We did however go there for our daughter's (3) birthday and the staff couldn't have been nicer. They brought her out her own cake and all the staff came out and sang to her. My kids still have the birthday song in their head. As to the buffet, again, tons of options and for a buffet really good food. My husband ranks buffets pretty low and he had to say he was happy with the options and quality of food offered.

For special occasions, when we were done our meal and came back to the room, the door had a birthday banner on it and the all the beds had flowers, streamers and balloons on them. You simply have to notify them of your occasion and they will make it special.

The beach was very clean and there was lots of options for seating either in the shade or out in the sunshine. The resort doesn't have a buffer for waves and so some days when it was windy the waves were quite strong. The pool was well kept and well stocked with chairs and mats enough for everyone. The pool is shallow, but for small children, people who wanted to just lounge, or those just wanting to stay cool as they moved from one area to another it was great.

One last thing. We let the kids go to the Explorers Club one morning (have to be 3 years and up) and they had a great time. They didn't always offer things the kids liked and it didn't always work out with our schedule but they really enjoyed themselves and the staff were very kind to them. They had activities well on into the evening for older kids to enjoy as well.

We had planned to go on one or two excursions while in Punta Cana, but in the end with small children there didn't seem to be too many options. Mostly because we were looking for 1/2 day trips and things we could do with everyone. We never regretted our decision not to go off site. The kids were happy with what the resort offered and we were happy to just relax with the kids.

Awesome service and weather = Awesome experience.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear Georgia R,

Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, and providing us with your excellent review. We are glad to confirm that you had a wonderful experience, and were highly satisfied with our delicious food choices, impeccable service, and more. We appreciate you recommending us, and look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Our big family of 15 just returned from Dreams and everyone loved it!

The highlight of our trip was the awesome entertainment staff. From the activities at the beach and pool, to the nightly shows, the adults and kids in our group we busy and entertained all day. Manny, Drake and Luis in Core zone were wonderful to the teens. They stayed busy with basketball, pool, archery, foosball…..and the list goes on. The younger kids in our group loved going to the Explorers Club for nightly movies and dance parties.

Franklin (Benjamin Franklin), Yoel, Sandy and Jolie were some of our favorite entertainment staff. They organized fun beach and pool activities that the entire family could do (ages 6-15). The staff went out of their way to make our vacation memorable. We loved it and will be singing and dancing the “happy” dance for months to come!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbloedorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear jbloedorn,

Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa for your recent family vacation, and providing us with your exceptional review. It was a delight to host you, and we are thrilled to confirm that you all loved our resort. Your feedback is very important to us. We will be happy to pass your comments along to our Entertainment team, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

My Boyfriend and I along with his 3 kids spent a week at this resort March 13-20th 2016. We had a preferred Family Room. I would not have booked the Preferred family room and would have just booked a regular family room as the preferred room really was no better and we could never get a spot in the Preferred beach as the resort was too busy. The preferred club too was nice but the food never varied. So not really worth it.
Since it was March Break it was really busy and we had to play the "fun" towel game everyday. Has to get up by 7am to reserve 4 chairs in the shade. We hate doing this but it was necessary as we had to have shade for the kids.

The pool was awesome!!! Never saw a pool so big. We had a great time playing in it everyday and floating around. Our kids never used the Explorer clubs or anything so I can not comment on that. Service was excellent everywhere. The grounds at this resort are beautiful I must say. Very lush and well maintained. Loved seeing the flamingos and peacocks strolling around everyday.

We ate mostly at the Buffet everyday, but did try the Japanese once and loved it. Shout out to Angel in the Buffet!!! He was awesome and was very attentive and fun! the Kids loved him!!! The food at the Buffet was great!

The rooms were ok, they need some updating but the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were cleaned well everyday.

The nightly entertainment was lacking I thought compared to other resorts we have been too. The entertainment crew did their best but the shows were rather boring. We tried to go watch some movies at the outdoor movie theatre but got eaten alive by mosquitos. Not the best location for the theatre.

I must say the most annoying thing were the damn Peacocks that woke us up so many times! They would plant themselves on our balcony and start screeching in middle of night! I would have to get up and scare them away. Never knew they were that loud! Some one told me it was mating season so they were especially loud.

Overall it was a great vacation, and the kids had much fun. As a couple I probably would not return as we prefer Adult only resorts, but with kids its a good resort.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingpongladyont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear pingpongladyont,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent vacation, and for your review. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are glad to hear that we were able to impress you with our food choices, beautiful grounds, and friendly service. In like manner, we appreciate your remarks about our areas of opportunity, and will surely have them on account for future improvements. This being said, we look forward to welcoming you back someday.

Kind Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I returned from Dreams Punta Cana on 15th March 2016. I went with my wife and another couple and we had a fantastic time. We stayed in block 2 which was at the beach end of the complex and everything was good. Food in all restaurants was wonderful, very good selection in the World Cafe Buffet and always hot which made a change from other buffets I had been to. The Japanese restaurant food was beautiful as were the steaks in the Seaside Grill. There was a large selection of alcoholic drinks apart from the local stuff (Smirnoff, Drambuie, Johnnie Walker Black & Red Labels, Baileys, Jack Daniels, Budweiser, Miller GD, Gordons Gin and Absolut vodka to name a few)and the local red wine was very nice. The gardens were stunning with Peacocks and Flamingos roaming freely. There was a show in the theater every evening from about 9pm and singers and bands throughout the complex each evening including a Rock Band on the beach on a Saturday evening after the show. The only minor issue was that the shows were on a 7 day repeat instead of 14 but we didn't really mind. A very special mention for the staff at the Veranda Bar in Reception especially Yonis, Henry, Rafael and Carlos. They entertained us every evening and made us feel special. Thanks lads. The free wifi was exceptional and we were able to stream sport without any problem. Everyone at the Hotel was hard-working, friendly and very polite and made our stay exceptional. They continually worked to improve things on a daily basis throughout. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone who likes good food, good drink and a fun time. I will return at the same time next year without doubt. robthejock

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, Executive Assistant at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Robbie M,

Thank you for the opportunity to host you, and for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and are delighted to read that you had a happy vacation, and were impressed with our delicious food choices, and the friendly service delivered by our staff, especially those mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Farrah Borg Polanco
Executive Assistant
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
Info.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
28.1 km away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#47 of 113 in Punta Cana
10,835 reviews
12.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
16.8 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
22.8 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
18.4 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $287 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing