We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights and we had a great time!

First off the staff greeted you at the entrance with a glass of champagne. (You can take the whole bottle if you like) We reserved a standard ocean front excellence club room and for $20 tip we were quickly upgraded to swim up walk out ocean front room for no extra cost. Ask for a newly remodled room. The room was nice and clean. Had a mini bar and they stocked it daily (Beer, Juice, Water, Soda, snacks). They cleaned the room daily as well. Turn down service every nite. With a sheet left for activities at the hotel for the next day. The bed is my only complaint. It was really hard. But after a long nite out, it didnt matter. Keep in mind that a 5 star hotel in the Dominican is like a 3 star in the US.

The grounds were very nice and well kept up and cleaned. There are beautiful gardens around the complex as well. The beach is nice and was raked and cleaned every morning. Keep in mind the resort is on the Atlantic side so the surf can get a little rough for swimming and was red flagged most days. Sercurity also patrolled the beach day and night. Made us feel safe.

There are plenty of restuarants to choose from. All had a dress code for the evening which consisted of casual elegance attire. (Men no shorts, women capri pants or dresses) Our favorite restuarant was Spice (Thai food) and Agave ( Mexican food). The French restuarant was good as well. The nightlife was fun. The were different shows every night and disco tech was open until 2 AM. Our favorite show was the Michael Jackson tribute!

The staff was eager to please and very helpful. They would bend over backwards to please you. With that in mind. I know it is all inclusive. But you would be suprised how far a measley $1 tip will carry you. They do remember you! I believe in tipping for good service.

I always take reviews with a grain of salt. You can please some of the people some of the time. But you cant please all the people all of the time. This resort will do everything in their power to please you and make your stay a pleasant one.

My wife and will definetly come back here!

Room Tip: Forget paying for a excellence club room upgrade. Its not worth it. Ask for a newly remodled room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trustfundtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,625
    2,776
    955
    413
    282
See reviews for
778
8,994
106
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel Excellence for 1 week at the end of Jan 2012. The hotel is great and you can read everyone elses' review for that information.

My wife and I decided to hire the hotel photographer so we could have some great photos. Arturo, one of the 3 photographers charged us $150, we tipped $40 and it was well worth it! He took us all across the resort property taking photos all along the way, he even let us do several clothing changes. We ended up with somewhere around 400 photos, since he was using our memory card we simply left with a card full of great shots.

Below is a link to an iMovie video collage of some of the photos.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-z166or4WA

You will have a blast!

Regards,
Jet N Joy

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JetNJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is my first review that I've posted, so I will try to get it right! There was a total of 6 of us that went on this trip, and we all had a great time. We stayed for 10 days from Feb. 19/12 - Feb. 29/12

Rooms - We did not upgrade, we took the garden view suite. As others have said, you are not in your room a whole lot, but saying that, I would probably upgrade to an ocean view, just because my husband likes to see and hear the ocean, so I would look into the cost. If I was to take a swim up room, I would look into the building where the swim up room is on the upper part of the cascade pool - simply because it would appear that there is more privacy available. The beds are hard, but I did not find that to be an issue, but the pillows are small and not very firm, that is a complaint that I had. Also, we were on the 3rd floor, love the cathedral ceiling, but our air conditioning did not work so well. The last nite, my husband did get up and open the door just so we could get some air in the room. One of our friends had the room next door, and their air worked fine, as well as our friends that was on the 2nd floor. The other issue that I had is that there was not alot of consistancy in the room amenities. We had towel art in our room several times, but our friends downstairs did not, until my husband gave their maid a couple of dollars to do something one day. We did not tell our friend that, and so she was thrilled when she had it. They had body lotion, but we did not have a bottle until our 2nd to last day. I did not ask for it, as I did not realize that it was availble, but our friends had it. We did not have a screen door, but one of our friends did. Just little things, but still it is something they should get together. Also, on our 2nd to last day, we noticed that the mini-bar guy had kit kat bars - we asked about it, and he gave us a couple, then left some in our room. The maids did a great job in cleaning the room, I loved the bathroom. The sink is great, but it is so long, that it did not leave much counter space.
The only issue I had with security, is that I had misplaced my key, and when I went to the reception to get a new key, they asked my room number and I gave it to them, and they gave me a new key. As I walked away, I realized that I gave them the wrong room #. The room was friends of ours, so I just threw it away, but I was a bit dismayed that they gave me a key without checking my name. We did use the safe everyday, and there was not an issue with theft.
Beware of the vendors that they do let on the premises, they are quite aggressive in their methods, and how they are positioned, they are hard to avoid. You have to be very firm in saying no and just keep walking.

Beach - yes the water is rough, and I was worried about this before I went. The beach was mostly flagged red, but saying that, you could still have a great time in the water. I love to swim, but basically, you don't swim in the ocean, had the pool for that. We had a wonderful time in the water, you do not need to go out very far, and we played in the surf. We took the boogie boards out a couple of times, we almost lost out bottoms a few times. The lifeguards do a good job and checking the water, and if you went a bit far, they were whistling you in.

Food - The food is just okay for the most part, but then again, I do not go for the food. We had been in the Dominican before, so well aware that the food is different tasting. If I was to go again, I would bring along garlic, and perhaps some hot sauce, as I did find it to be bland. At the Grill for lunch they do have jalepeno poppers and onion rings, which were great! We enjoyed the french restaurant the best, the french onion soup is delicous. The buffet at breakfast and lunch were well stocked, and you could get your omelets and fried eggs to order. I did not like the bacon there as I found it to be quite salty. The food does not stay very hot, so I can see why some people find this to be an issue. Basically though, you can always find something you like, and if not, perhaps you should stay home.
We did not use the room service, cannot comment on that, other than I wish they would have more choices of lighter fare for late at nite binging.

Grounds - very well maintained and beautiful. The ecological park is a very nice walk, and lots of birds. Just so you know, the blue parrot is cranky, but the red parrot will go up on your shoulders.

Alcohol - I am not a big drinker, so not an issue with me. I do not like rum, so when I would request a drink that was rum based, I just asked for vodka instead. There is a drink of the day feature, but depends on where you order it, it would change, it never seemed to come the same way twice, which was annoying if you liked it a certain way.

Service - I thought the service was adequate, not great. I found at the restaurants you could wait a bit for someone to serve you, but once you put in your order, your food would come quick. Although we tipped quite a bit, it was nice to see that it was not expected. When the boys would come to bring you your drink on the beach, they did not wait for a tip, so you would have to call them
The Dominicans are very hard working and always pleasant. Remember that they work long hours and according to our standards for very little money. The minimum wage is $250/mth, but at least they get medical & dental when working at the hotels as mandated by the government. I had a pedicure done, and Lidia who did it, filed my finger nails and gave me a polish. I tipped her $20 - yes that is large tip, but I looked at it, that is 1/2 hour of work for me and my husband, and it does make me more grateful for where and how we live.

Spa - do yourself a favor and book something. Everyday there was a special on, so I wouldn't book ahead of time. I think we had 3 occassions, where some of the services were 35% off. It was always posted in the sheet you got the night before.

Entertainment - I really enjoyed the shows, yes, they could be hokey, but look at where you are. The dancing is phenomonal, the lip syncing needs to be worked on, but that is just being picky. The circus show was probably the best for me, then the burlesque - and no they don't strip!

I know this is probably long, but trying to get everything in I can think about. If our friends would complain about the food, my husband would say, look at where you are. We are eating outside at night in t-shirts, we are near the water, the sun is hot, and there is no snow. It made us appreciate where you are. I would go back to the resort with no hesitation, and would recommend it. There are some minor issues, but not enough to ruin it for us. Go with an open mind, and remember it is not North America, things are different, go for it, that is part of life and why one goes on holidays!

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are very nice, I don't think I would pay to upgrade to the Excellence club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rocker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

hotel and staff were excellent. My only complain was my wedding. flowers and music were late arriving and i have been home 10 weeks now and i haven't received my wedding certificate which was supposed to have taken up to 6 weeks. It was a lovelly holiday and the location is good if you only intend on staying on the premises. If you like adventure like my husband and myself then you will be very dissappointed as there is nothing outside the front of the hotel. You are miles from civilisation and there are no buses, only expensive taxis and excursion trips.

Room Tip: if you are after a good view buildings 1, 2, and 3 are the best for the sea view. they are upgrading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinte West, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent 10 days (Feb. 14th -24th ) this year at the Excellence Club Swim up suite and it was even better than last year. The resort has done some major changes to the rooms which has greatly improved them from last year. The rooms feel more open and airy with the renovations, well done and thank you.

We were in the building we asked for and spent all day sitting around the pool with frequent walks along the ocean for a change of pace. Husband learned to scuba dive, thank you Franklin.

Food was as good as last year and thanks to all the staff in all the restaurants for their warm welcomes and introductions every night at dinner and smiling faces every morning at breakfast. Rosanna and Gabi really made our days and nights. Thanks to them. The Barcelona restaurant changed their menu the second week we were there and the new menu was excellent and we made a point of talking to the chef and letting him know how the menu was. Good good good.......

We didn't do any excursions since we enjoy spending quiet days reading and people watching, did do the horseback riding along the beach which was short and fun.

If you are there and have any concerns just look for Roberto in P.R., he's everywhere and one night we even told him to go home.....LOL

Great resort, fantastic staff, good times, we'll be back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
25.9 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
20.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
1.5 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
16.3 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
26.0 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): $362 - $758
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Savannahville Tours N.V., TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing