We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST VACATION EVER - even with 2 kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 May 2012

First of all the place is gorgeous. Unbelievable grounds & stunning rooms. My husband & I previously stayed here 3 years ago at the main hotel in the Royal Service section. We were there when the Reserve section had its Grand Opening. We took a tour and couldn't wait to return to the Paradisus Reserve section with our kids.
Upon check-in we were welcomed back to the resort and upgraded to a swim up one bedroom suite.
Our week at the Reserve with our twin 7 year olds went beyond my expectations. The staff is so lovely, kind and welcoming. Everyone knew my boys names after the first day and treated us all like royalty. The kids club was great and my kids used it at least once a day. There is a lot to do at the reserve and we were all kept busy or just relaxed if we wanted to.
Restaurants: reservations are required but not all that difficult to get if you ask nicely. But be specific about the time you want. The food was pretty good, not the best ever but certainly better than most all-inclusives. As many mentioned the breakfast buffet was always the best meal of the day!
BTW the shuttle to the beach is no big deal at all and you can walk it too. We never had trouble getting a cart back and forth.
My kids have just experienced paradise and our next vacation will never be as luxurious and fun as this one - but we'll try .....

Room Tip: Swim up suites are quite special although I am sure the private garden rooms are wonderful too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCgal39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPPRL, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear guest,

The Reserve is both for adults and children have fun while enjoying our activities, facilities, and services. It pleases us a lot to know that you and your family had an unforgettable stay with us.

Once more, thank you for extending us your valuable comments and I look forward to welcome you back soon at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real Resort.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,846 - 4,850 of 7,467 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

I'll start with the good:

-The property is incredibly beautiful with finely manicured landscaping.
-The pool area is spacious and uncrowded
-The hotel rooms are amazing... very clean and large with nice furniture.
-The Spa is fantastic... very relaxing and peaceful
-Gabi beach is nice and uncrowded. If you're looking for crystal blue water, I wouldn't recommend Punta Cana.

The bad:

-The food is barely edible. The French toast looks like it was made by a toddler and every piece of bread at the entire resort is stale. Even the restaurants that are supposedly five starts are below average. We tried the mushroom soup at Vento and it was literally the worst soup I have ever had in my entire life. I've accidentally swallowed salt water that tasted better.

-We received a $550 resort credit through Expedia, but they insisted on dividing it up based upon their designation. So $50 was for wine and $100 was for a restaurant even though all those options are already included. I didn't say anything about this when we received the resort credit.

-Like every other resort, they attempt to sell you on their time-share and investment. It gets old quick.

Overall a nice honeymoon that was spoiled by bad food.

Room Tip: Swim out rooms are expensive, but nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Collin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This resort is upscale but relaxed, very well maintained and spotless. There are several retaurants and bars, a lovely beach area and many amenities. However, we found the outstanding feature to be the extremely friendly and helpful staff, starting with trhe bellmen, through the reception desk and certainly including the maids and the servers in the restuarants and bars. We would be remiss if we did not single out David Mendoza, who served us at breakfast each morning during our stay. He was very personable and attentive, without being in any way intrusive. Breakfast would have been a pleasure each day in any event, but David made us feel welcomed all over again at the start of each day.

Bill J.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPPRL, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Bill,

One of our goals is to create wonderful and unforgettable memories, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to achieve that goal.

I feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by David Mendoza. It is thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests. I personally have passed on your compliments to him.

I hope to have the pleasure to host your next stay in the near future.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had travelled to Punta Cana in different occasions but this last trip to The Reserve at Palma Real was just amazing. The place is absolutely beautiful, but what made the experience phenomenal was the kindness and commitment of its employees, and the human quality of the service.
It is difficult to find reasonable accommodation outside north america, but this hotel is almost barriers free. There were a couple of things that could potentially be a challenge for someone in a wheelchair (myself), or even senior citizens who just need a few extra things to feel comfortable. There are no bars in the bathrooms to support one when standing up, or ramps every where, etc. However, the hotel manager acted promptly and order the installation of the bars in the bathroom when we expressed our concerned. The hospitality, and concerned of all employees was reflected in many ways. They were promptly responding to any needs we had, and were always going the extra mile to make our time the best.
I would recommend this hotel, and I have to say that it is one of the best places in the world if not the best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I had a great time at this resort! We went with our daughter, her husband and our grandson; it was awesome! In general, this resort is really big and they have quite a few pools which we enjoyed during our stay. We all had fun at the kid's pool playing with our grandson the most! The shuttle service to and from the main hotel lobby to the beach was great! The beach was beautiful, enjoying the front seats looking at the gorgeous ocean. We also enjoyed the view of the beautiful gardens when we got to ride to the beach in the golf carts. Oh, and if you tell your concierge to reserve a front seat at the beach, you'll be all set for the day!

We also enjoyed the restaurants - our favorite was Gabi Beach buffet where we had breakfast every morning; they have a variety of foods and we also enjoyed the mimosas they served us at breakfast. For lunch, we frequented The Hydro Grill - the service there was great, and especially Luis (Cuban guy) was very helpful in every way possible. The service in all the restaurants was great and the food delicious, like Aqua and Mizu. And for almost every dinner, when we asked for champagne, they sometimes served refills without even asking, and sometimes they would even leave us the bottle. We tried all the restaurants at The Reserve, and all the guys and girls that work there were very polite and helpful. The restaurants at Palma Real like Gabi Beach, Bana, Vento, and Market Grill were terrific - the food was delicious and the service was great; we have no complaints. The one thing we noticed was that when my husband and son-in-law ordered a Corona, sometimes they were told that they only had Presidente available, which is the local Dominican beer, but if you tip the servers well, they would go get Corona's from somewhere. They do have Coronas easily available at The Reserve though!

The shows at Gabi Beach were awesome too! We really had a great time, and on our last night we enjoyed the show Le Cirque which was so great! In general, we loved this place and would love to go back some day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.7 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
3.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
5.4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,362 reviews
0.6 km away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
9.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $498 - $1,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore The Reserve, our new boutique resort within a resort, designed for those whose stay in a luxury suite is as important as sun, sea and sand. Including three pools and a la carte restaurants, YHI Spa and gym, Swim up Suites with direct access to the pool Family Concierge Suites. Take benefit of your stay at The Reserve and use its facilities and services as well as the ones in Paradisus Palma Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reserve At Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing