We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERYBODY WAS SICK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We arrived on 10th February and the children were ill by the 12th, my partner was also ill on the 12th, I was sick on the 14th. It is an extremeley unpleasant GUI bug which I would not dispute the hotels claim is an airborne virus, I am extremley concerned that the hotel continues to admit guests without warning them that there is a problem in the resort, in the two weeks we were there we probably only spoke to ten people who did not have someboy ill in there family, the lenght of time people were ill varied from around 12 hours for a quick recovery and in some cases several days with many people needing iv assistance due to dehydration, any body who has a problem with their immune system would be in serious trouble if exposed to this virus. I would say that the resort is an average resort, the food, drink and staff are passable however I would recommend that nobody should visit the resort until the sickness has been resolved.
The hotel management and also Lucy the First Choice Holiday Representative become very aggressive when you want to talk about the illness and refuse to accept the party line that they have had between 10 and 20 people sic k out of a thousand. I was told that my family including my 3 and 4 year old would be evicted from the hotel if I continued to question them about the practices they were using to solve the problem with the sickness.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dominicbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,008 - 9,012 of 10,760 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2010

We arrived home late last night after a week at the Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana (Feb 18-Feb 25). This was our 3rd year in a row to Punta Cana, previously staying at Riu Bambu (2008) and Majestic Colonial (2009). By far the Dreams was the BEST in all categories; Food, Service, Entertainment, Room (Suite) and Kids Club.

We spent a lot of time on Trip Advisor prior to deciding where to go and of course were concerned with the negative reviews of late. We are happy to share that NONE of the negative information provided in the reviews was experienced by our family. While we do not want to diminish or disbelieve any of the information provided by others, it simply was not a reality for us. We want to thank everybody for their feedback as it allowed us to be aware and take the necessary precautions (we used hand sanitizer and washed our hands). LOL

This resort is EXTREMELY CLEAN and issues with regards to illness could happen at anytime, at any resort, in any country. The people who work at the Dreams Palm Beach take so much pride in the job they do. In many respects, the Dreams Palm Beach employees' commitment to their professions is FAR SUPERIOR when compared with service professionals in Canada and the US. Please do not blame the resort or the wonderful staff.

Food - World Cafe - the BEST buffet, great selection including lobster and seafood. Japanese/Chinese - the BEST, very authentic and very entertaining. Italian - the BEST, service and authenticity was excellent. Mexican - the BEST, did not miss a beat. Coco Cafe - the BEST, great coffee and deserts available 18 hours a day.

Service - Everyone deserves the highest compliments on their OUTSTANDING commitment to service. SPECIAL MENTION should go to the following employees who took special care of our family - Pedro Tomas Contreras (Resident Manager), Simon De Los Santos (World Cafe/Beach waiter), Hector DeLville (bellboy), Waldys (Preferred Club), Leo (Omelette/Hamburger Cook), Maria/Rudh (Greeters World Cafe), Leonardo (Waiter World Cafe), Joel (Beach Drink Server), Elvis/Christina (Bartender) were EXCELENTE.

Entertainment - An outstanding TEAM with complete commitment to ensuring everyone has a great time. Special Mention to Sugar Rey and Willy who were AMAZING.

Explorer's Club (Kids Club) - Awilda, Patricia and Francis are the best. When your kids can't wait to get back the next morning you know they are doing something right. Trusting our 7 and 6 year old to these OUTSTANDING young women is a true reflection of how comfortable we felt. The 9am-10pm flexibility was great. But even more important is that the kids had so many activities to occupy their time and keep them entertained.

Room (Suite) - We strongly recommend the Preferred Club to ensure that your comfort is maximized. There are significant differences in comforts and amenities. We had an Oceanfront Suite and enjoyed every minute we spent in our room.

Over the next few days we will continue to recount our trip and we are open to any questions you may have.

We can't wait to go back and have another EXCELENTE time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OliverJanEthanElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We were among many that were sick in early February which started on the 8 hour plane ride home - we have been back two weeks now and sick still - so went to doctor and results are in...

We got a call from our local government health office and we have a parasite (Entamoeba histolytica) that has given us amoebic dyssentry.

We gotthis from our trip to Dreams PB - apparently transmissions occurs from a staff member not washing their hands (fecal matter) and us ingesting fresh food like fruit or veggies. Apparently you may not see any symptoms for days, weeks or even months.

So if you were sickduring or after your trip or may feel nauseous, blotted, cramps etc in weeks to come - get tested!!!! and share your information - apparently once you get this it could back again...and again even after treatment.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
11  Thank 2t4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Resort had many activities for all age groups and staff was very friendly. Flu virus affected many of the guests- felt that resort was not forthcoming with guests- blaming the virus on guests from U.S. and Canada instead of offering support. I only found out about available gatorade by mistake and then waited 3 hours for it to arrive to the room. The speciality restaurants had varied menus but there were no selections for the many of us trying to make bland choices following the flu- toast was not even on the room service menu except for breakfast. Overall the resort was " Execellente" but it is very difficult to recommend to others when half of your vacation was spent in the room!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grandma5Minn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Yes, our whole group was very sick,expect my 2 childern that I did not let eat the food.! Yes, we met more than 12 families with same issues. Yes, some people got it for only 12 hours, while others had IV's. I personaly got it for 36 hours and I have 2 kids and I never been in that much pain in my life! Are there people here not getting sick? Sounds like it! But, most are!
The Hotel is very nice, however, what does that matter when I paid over $4,000.00 and could only enjoy it for a couple of days. I cried for days in my room, just wanting to be at home.
The LIE-
Before leaving on our trip, we read these blogs and became very worried. Therefore, we contacted the hotel by phone, and spoke to guest services and they told us not to worry the sickness came from a group of 13 people who are now gone and that no one has been reported sick in days! SUCH A LIE!
We were also told that we could have our rooms re cleaned when we arrived. A LIE! When we arrive, Roberta checked us in. He told us that no one had been sick in days and that they would not reclean our rooms. 5 minutes a lady came up to be and said the hotel is very sick and be careful with your kids.
I am happy for the people that said their trip was good even with the sickness. I am also happy for anyone who did not get sick. However, our trip was awful! We could of rescheduled had the hotel told us the TRUTH! Then, we migth of had something nice to say.
BTW: They told us before coming that the place had been cleaned and tested, this is not something new they are saying this week.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
8  Thank funtime17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
6.1 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.1 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
9.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
15.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
5.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $292 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing