We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mamma Juana....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I travelled to Dreams with my husband, his brother, wife and teenage daughter. Dreams Palm Beach was overall a good resort. Definetely not a 5 star but having great weather, on a nice beach for a whole week means more to us. The rooms were good, altough very damp but its the Caribbean after all , the showers were pretty bad, water everywhere so I felt bad for our maid having to clean all the towels on the flower, they did a good job cleaning, compared to other resorts and islands i've been they really didn't do any towel work or special arragement for our anniversary as we had requested. The worse thing about the rooms we had adjoining rooms where we stayed, the walls are paper thin and having that door in the middle was pretty loud, we heard everything, and the ppl on the room next to us were pretty loud, banging doors, music, screaming, we were really upset about this, probably the worst part when you don't get any sleep.

The food was good, the drinks were ok until we found our regular bartender Leonardo and LB, were great the the bar, lots of mamma juanas... Felix at the gym was pleasant and always ready to help, Felix and Rey from the Animacion were absolute funny characters, had a good laugh. The team always tried to get you involved, the shows were good except for the Kareoke night and the tropical night, we left before it was done.

Overall it was a pleasant vacation, we'd go back but not stay on bld 9. The vendors on the beach bother you every 30 minutes but say no thanks and they'd leave you alone, the vendors at the resort twice a week in the evening are a pain in the butt, they're pushy, bothersome and give a bad name to the resort, we actually had an issue with one vendor when we said no thanks and walked away he pretended to be kicking us? immature and no dollars do not grow on trees here in Canada which brings me to my next point to the servers we tipped everysingle meal, drinks and for no reason so we got good service, but at times we ate our meal at the buffet and no drinks were served pretty sad.
I think i covered the main points, the weather was great all week.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,502 - 9,506 of 10,760 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

First of all, this resort is definitely geared to couples and families. Not so much for single friends traveling together.

Check-in was frustrating as we arrived at the resort at noon and our rooms were not ready until 3pm. Definitely have a smaller bag where you can easily access your bathing suit so you can use the pool while you wait. It's a long wait and people were getting really frustrated.
The rooms were quite nice once we got the A/C going. Very modern, with flat screen TV's, a DVD player and an iHome clock radio you can plug you iPod into. The beds were comfy (I slept like a rock!) and it was very clean. Yes, like everyone else has complained here, the showers leak water all over the bathroom
The food wasn't bad overall, but nothing that really stood out. The waits for the ala carte restaurants were very long. We waited over 2 hours for the Japanese place and over an hour for the Grill by the beach. Service is very slow everywhere, even though the employees seem to work hard. Most of the staff was very pleasant. The main problem was when you are waiting for the ala carte restaurants for 2 hours you end up missing the evening entertainment. We were always still eating by 8pm when the shows started, even though we had queued for dinner at 6-6:30. So I can't say anything about the shows really.
We did the bottle painting by the pool, which was fun. But the paintbrushes were so old and falling apart it was kind of pitiful. Surely they are not that expensive and could be replaced?
I also planned to work out at the gym during my trip and the A/C in the gym was broken the whole time we were there. Virtually impossible to work out in a 95 degree room!

The pool area was clean and well laid out. However there was alot of saving of chairs. People would leave towels on chairs to save them and not return all day. I witnessed several arguments amongst guests about chairs and hogging the floats. It seems that they could enforce the "no saving" rule more effectively as it seemed to cause alot of problems. Two families got in a cursing match over one of the huts next to where my friend and I were laying. It wasn't pretty.
Overall it was a pleasant vacation, but not somewhere I would go again. The price was very inexpensive though, so I guess it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K617L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

3 couples
We stayed in one of the "private club" buildings. The rooms were nice and clean. By staying in the preferred area, our floors were definately newer which gave the whole room a crisper feeling. The shower is wierd and gets the floor all wet. The doors to the shower/toilet areas could be inproved as they gove you little privacy.
Overall the hotel staff was very nice. Some language issues. Some servers were great, other no so much.
The buffet was good, not great. It would be nice if it were in air condition--that would make the people cooler and help make the food look less wilted. Getting a drink at the buffet was near impossible (esp at breakfast).
The restaurants were great. Japanses was alot of fun and great food. Good quality beef and chicken at all the dinner special restarants.
It was often tough to get a really cold beer in a bottle, but at least they had beer in a bottle. They had MGD, Bohamian, Budwiser, Presidente, Corona all in bottles.
The beach was beautiful with all the sand and palm trees. Too much seaweed in the water for my taste.
Would not wate my $ on preferred club.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank mmmwwwOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We first stayed in this resort when it was "Sunscape" and decided to return, as we liked the "smaller resort/ no dinner reservations/superb beach/and only 20 minutes from the airport". Now a "Dreams" resort, everything has been renovated. The rooms are newer, the pools a little larger and the specialty restaurants also new. What hasn't changed is the friendliness and service of the staff. We especially were impressed with "Simon", who literally became a new friend and impressed us with his energy and supervision of the staff, assuring that everyone was available to assist the vacationers. "Felix" was remarkable and we so enjoyed our daily aerobics with him in the sea! I would recommend to the hotel to extend the glass door in the shower to cover the whole tub area, so that the floor is not always getting wet and to put up a towel rack by the sink! Adding more pilapas would help not having to reserve one at dawn!!! No one enforces the not reserving the beach or pool chair request, nor keeping the floating mats in the pool. Andres Rosario should be the entertainment "manager", not "assistant". Rosario is a fantastic host!!!! We especially enjoyed the buffet for dinner. The "specialty" restaurants were average. We've been to 8 Caribbean vacations so far. We would say to try this one if you have children or are over 50!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pigmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Simon was at the breakfast buffet mornings and on the beach serving drinks afternoons. What a pleasant, conscientious, hard-working man! Couldn't do enough to make your stay as wonderful as possible. Although there were other nice people, Simon was definitely a stand-out! Soft white sand beach was very nice. Could use more palupas and chairs on the beach. People always walking around looking for a place to sit. The buffet should be enclosed and air conditioned which would eliminate the birds trying to eat from the buffet. Not very sanitary! Also, schedule passed out every night for the next day's activities wasn't adhered to. We would go at a place at a designated time, but in some instances, no one was there. Also, won an event and were told to come to the stage that night for the prize, but never received the prize.
Food at the Italian restaurant was good, but service slow. Mexican restaurant was good and service fine. Seaside grill was not good and service was terrible. Steak was cooked way too done - like shoe leather - and very windy. Japanese food was good as well as service. Buffet was ok, but nothing outstanding. Rooms were nice and maid service was good, but humidity was a definite problem. We kept our clothing in plastic bags inside our luggage to avoid dampness. We had no mosquito problem outside, but they were inside our room, probably because the maids left the doors open while cleaning the room? Shows at the theater were average, except for the Circus night which was very entertaining. Usually there is a kid's show where they perform before the regular show, but sometimes they never had it or were really late. Children were wild and never disciplined, especially during the regular show. Sometimes the entertainers were required to come off the stage and perform on the floor in front of the stage. Kids were running everywhere and it seemed rather dangerous to allow that. Then they decided to get chairs and stand on the chairs in front of the stage where performers were dancing, kicking, etc. making another dangerous situation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St_LouisMo_Cleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
6.1 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.1 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
9.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
15.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
5.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $292 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing