We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place. Staff incredible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 May 2011

What Dreams loses in "stars" due to food quality and/or other amenities, it makes up for with it's staff who are the most friendly people. Dreams Palm Peach is all-inclusive. This includes drinks, room service, and most water sports. It is a 15 minute drive from the airport where luggage helpers try to take your luggage no more than 20 feet to taxi eager to charge you $30 for what they will tell you is a 30 minute drive. It is not, but the rates are fixed and you just suck it up.

The hotel has a decent lobby with friendly staff. If you can swing it I would highly recommend staying in the Preferred Club area which makes check-in/check-out much easier, a special lounge serving drinks all day, and quiet pool and beach area as well as a restaurant. It's worth the extra money.

The rooms here are decent. The preferred club rooms come with a jacuzzi tub which is nice.

Here are my gripes....the food is not that great during the day. At night, however, you have several options...Japanese, Mexican, French, Italian, and a Grill. The French and Italian are very good. Not great, just very good.

Nightlife is pretty good at the resort with something for everyone.

My other gripe is that there a people there hired to "rope" in people to experience another one of their resorts. They will tell you it is not a time-share if you ask them, but don't be fooled. The good news is that once they recognize you and you have made it clear you are not interested, they leave you alone.

The spa at the hotel is very good. My wife absolutely loved her massage.

The beach areas are very nice with Hobie Cats, windsurfers, kayaks and more available. If you are looking for a fun place to take the entire family, this is a good place. If it's just you and your wife, I would suggest going more upscale.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,488)
There are newer reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,791 - 8,795 of 11,488 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

What a wonderful place to vacation! This was our first visit to an all-inclusive and we are hooked! The resort was simply wonderful! We stayed in the deluxe room and it was very clean and comfortable. There are updates that could be made to the grout and tile in bath area, but it was not an issue for us because everything was kept clean! The shower design does allow for water to pool outside on the floor, but putting a towel down kept it contained. Maid service was great! Loved the designs and flowers done with the bedding and towels! We had great meals daily at the world cafe' and all the restaurants-we were not disappointed at any meal and we especially loved the Japanese! The pool and beach area were fantastic! The grounds are kept up very beautifully! We cannot say enough about all the staff-everyone is so friendly and always smiling and up beat! Don't know how you could have a bad time here! The entertainment staff is spectacular! Sunshine, Gasolina, Sweetie, Julio and many others kept us busy and laughing the whole vacation! The party boat right off the hotel that was chaperoned by Christian and Capt. Morgan was an excellent time! Snorkeling and then a trip to a beautiful wading area was a trip worth taking! Thank you to all the wonderful staff-nothing was missed at this resort! They do a wonderful job! It was an awesome vacation! Wish we were there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrnmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at Dreams Palm Beach from May 15-22 for our honeymoon. We stayed in a Preferred Club room but I have to say if that's their Preferred Club rooms then they really need to work on updating them and maybe cleaning them a bit better. Our bathroom was so bad that we asked the change rooms. They put us in a better room but it was small and still needed some serious work. We got in and the AC wasn't working and we had some electrical issues that needed to be addressed. They fixed the electrical but our AC never seemed to work. Our room was so moist that our passports started to curl up and the sheets on our bed were damp as well as any clothes we had in the room. It was awful!

Aside from our disappointing room we somehow got roped into a sales pitch the first full day we had at the resort. They put this guy in front of us that gave us this sob story about how he needs this commission and if we will just sit with this sales guys for a few minutes he will get paid. An hour later we were still with this sales guys that was trying to sell us some vacation package. He took us to this really nice room that made me dislike our room even more. Saying if we joined the club we would stay in nice rooms like this one!! REALLY?! NOT HELPFUL at all!!!!! I was so angry. Not to mentioned he kept saying Jesus Christ during his sales pitch. NICE!! Not the best start to our honeymoon.

The buffet had a lot to be desired. They really didn't change it up very much. The restaurants were good. The Italian and Japanese was very good. The Seaside Grill was nice also and had a great view. The drinks were okay if you like the normal fruity frozen stuff but if you want a good beer or any other drink it was a bit disappointing and took forever to get one.

Beware if you do any excursions...you will be the first hotel they stop at and the last hotel they drop off at. This means you have to stop at every hotel that has a pick up on the way to your excursion and on the way back. It sucks!!!!! We spent more time in a bus then I could ever imagine. One excursion we were in the bus for a total of 4 1/2 hours and the excursion was only an hour long zip lining. Waste of a day!!!

Although the hotel had a lot of disappointing features we did make the best of our stay and had a good time. It just wasn't the honeymoon we were hoping for. The beach was pretty and the seaweed wasn't near as bad as some of these reviews have said. I did enjoy that part of the resort. The pools are dirty and I wouldn't step foot in the pool bar area. It actually had a smell that came from it. GROSS!!! They do offer a free champagne breakfast for the honeymooners and that was very nice. Lots of food and it was good. Also, the entertainment staff are great and very funny. I won’t be back to this resort!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Csmith11178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Background:
-> Length of Stay: May 11 - May 21
-> 2 adults, 1 child (33 months)
-> Have traveled to Dreams, Iberostar, Secrets, Palace, Riu Resorts in Mexico, Jamaica, and Dominican Republic over the past 7 years; therefore, my review is largely a comparison to other resorts i stayed in.

GOOD-GREAT:
Food: World Cafe rocks, other restaurants are OK (didn't go to the french one since it's adults only), but food overall is 5 stars
Loved the Coco Cafe - great coffee, 1st resort I've been to that actually had its own cafe.

Beach: yes there is seaweed which is cleaned daily, but the beach itself and water are just great, plenty of space and chairs

Pools: pools were OK, 2 to choose from + kiddie pool where we spend most of the time, little harder to get a spot, had to reserve chairs before breakfast

SO SO:
Service: Although the restaurants were very good, service around the beach, pool, and in the room was very average

BAD:
Room: stayed in the non-preferred section (was offered an upgrade to the preferred section on check-in for $1500.00 for the length of stay), room is outdated - the only thing that is up to date is the TV/DVD player. Smells of mold, dirty bathroom, mosquitos in the room, old-used-up mattress.

OTHER:
I was surprised with the Airport/Transportation in Punta Cana. I was expecting much worse (I was there about 6 years ago). The immigration/custom was very smooth - pretty much no wait (both ways). 6 years ago it was terrible. We booked via Orbitz, and they use Coco Tours as the transportation to/from the airport which was flawless (about 20 min from airport to the resort)

If you are traveling with kids under the age of 3, there are no programs available for them. They have an Explorers' Club which is age 3 and up that can pretty much take care of your kids all day long.

We took one excursion to the Dolphin Explorer, which is about a 10 min walk down the beach. We paid $35/adult to get into the park. It allowed us to see the parrots, tigers, sea-lions and dolphins. The actual swim with dolphins is about $109/person.

OVERALL:
Definitely NOT 5 stars !!!
I loved Dreams Tulum (Mexico), that's why we chose Dreams again, but I wouldn't go back to this resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k1tat1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This hotel was absolutely AMAZING...Food was GREAT! Service EXCELLENT!!! and entertainment there are no words to describe but AWESOME!!! Everyone was so nice and everything was so clean. I really enjoyed my stay at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana and I would really recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. Next time I plan on visiting Dominican Republic I am definitely staying at Dreams Palm Beach!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat101024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
6.0 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.1 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
9.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
6.3 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
5.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $228 - $816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing