We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,703)
Filter reviews
1,703 results
Traveller rating
1,083
339
132
64
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
339
132
64
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond clubmartini baroceanside restaurantmini coopersteakdc poolfitness teamgrand marchebrazilian grilllazy river is awesomegrazie restaurantdiamond poolhunter restaurantaqua fittravel smartgourmet marchefamily suite
Filter
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 1,703 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

6 days - 2 adults 2 kids ages 10 and 6 - NOT Diamond Club Reservation - not worth it.

We just returned from Royalton Bavaro. Let me list out the Great and Good first:

Check in was a breeze! Elizabeth, Jose and Hammel were excellent to deal with. Our room was not ready, but expected when arriving at 11:30 am. Since our friends were already there we headed to the pool. There are a few jobs at this resort I would not want, under any circumstances, Front Desk Staff, deal with a lot. Everytime went to the front desk, there was someone complaining..not sure what, but not a happy camper. Each time I spoke to front desk staff, they really tried their best to accomodate, whatever my ask was, even if their English was not great. Note: we booked a Family Suite, which is a King Bed and a pull out couch, this did not work for us, since our kids are too big to fit, plus room smelled. Book a junior suite to get the two beds. Hotel was sold out so the only option i think they gave us the only room available, which smelled worse and had water damage, but at least two beds. So we just dealt with it and swim out, which is bonus for our kids. Be aware building 16, 17 and 18 have musty smells, not sure how they will fix this. There was no other rooms available.
Again, all Front Desk Staff were very pleasant and trying their best, and I want to let them know, I was at the front desk a lot, never received an unwelcoming response to whatever my ask.

Sales- stop trying to sell people stuff all day long. If you have to do it maybe from 11-1 during the day.

On to outside areas: which are absolutely beautiful and well kept. Pools were very nice, lazy river and Florider were super cool.

Because I work and have to get up at 5am for work, the last thing i want to do is get up and race to get chairs, which on this property for the close to the pool spots or good location, its a race, resolution to this: GET A CABANA! Book in advance if possible.. Ask for Domingo - what a fantastic guy! Always a smile always doing his best.
Then request Daniel to be your caban server. "Always a pleasure!" This guy can jump! Never, ever made us feel anything other than wonderful! Having a cabana and having Daniel made our vacation! Daniel and Domingo went out of their way so many times for us, BIG accolates for all their service. BIG Smiles from our family. No was never an option. We have been to other resorts when they take your order, they disappear, not Daniel. Speedy! Come circling right back! My Pleasure!

Yuberkis, when we were not able to get a cabana, Yuberkis was our girl, always stopping by to check on us, making sure we are okay, and this is BEFORE we tipped her. She also made our vacation a pleasure. She is a wonderful person.

Vibe team during the day did a great job keeping us entertained. The shows at night were pretty good, Michael Jackson show was fantastic, and the Latin Dancers on Tuesday night really were amazing.

Dinner: DO Hunter and Rio, and if they are not out of spagetti, Grazi was pretty good. Skip: Zen = Gross at best. At the end of our vacation, we were so tired of eating, we actually skipped dinner and just ate bread and dessert. The buffets get old fast. Dinner reservation (knowing we were not Diamond Club) was a challenge, but still managed. WAIT = Here is an idea, how about keeping the pool open later like till 7 so you don't have a mad rush of guest trying to get 6:30 - 7:30 reservations. If the pool was open later people we not kill each other to get to dinner.

The servers at the middle hut near Grazi, again those guys don't stop, always smiling, singing.

I can understand the language barrier, we had some issues, but most of the staff spoke english. ( some more than others)

The Spa was worth it as well, my husband and I both enjoyed our Swedish massage, Olga was a delight coupon or not, it is worth it.

The great = the staff - everyone really works hard on this property, more than i have ever seen, I'm from NYC BTW, so my expectations might be high, the staff exceeded my expectations. Everyone again everyone, from the staff at the buffet to the vibe team, does a great job. Thank you to all staff!

The BAD: Our room had an awful smell, so much so that when we came home from our trip, i had to leave the suitecases outside, all of our clothes were damp and smelled like mold. But we will survive.

Dear ROYALTON - fire your architect - who ever approved the hotel room design to allow a toliet without a sink to wash your hands should be ashamed! GERM CENTRAL. Take those germs right to the buffet, little Mikey is not washing his hands. Sink should be right were the toliet is. Not everyone gets asked to santize their hands before going to buffet.

Had a great time overall, fix the rooms. Cabana made us forget about all our worries.

Room Tip: Middle Building
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Christine S

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We are sorry about the impressions that you may receive about the service from our staff and management; our objective is to provide an excellent service to our visitors and always ensure a quality holiday among our guests. We took a note about your point.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Best regards.
Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Let me start by saying that my wife and I have stayed at more than 20 all inclusive Carribbean resorts in our lifetime. We have written positive reviews the vast majority of the time so if anyone believes this is a typical negative bias review it is not. It's simply a recommendation to stay away from this place.

Problems started at check in when they did not honor our agreement of children being free for the promotion for which we agreed. We ended up having to pay the child rate in order to get our room. The next negative we encountered was that all of the pools, hot tubs, the lazy river etc. all close at 6 pm (or earlier if they feel like they want to -- today, the lazy river closed at 5:30 despite its advertised closing time). So, if you've gone on an excursion during the day, don't count on being able to come back to your resort and relax in the hottub or take an evening swim. The management has already closed down your resort fo the day.

Next, I would say that the food service is remarkably substandard compared to other resorts we have experienced. The service is slow, the quality of the food is marginal at best, and the selection is incredibly less diverse than other resorts. We have been here now for four days and I would say that we have not had a single meal that my wife or I could not prepare better at home with minimal effort.

Thirdly, I would say beware of the excursions. We spent 5 hours getting to and from a 30 minute SCUBA dive. The next day, and our excursion to Catalina Island (via Nexus -- beware of them in particular ) was preempted to and from the resort with commercial stops no doubt for the benefit of those organizing the tours. A 2.5 hour snorkel and beach visit took all day with stops at some Roman Replica and a mandatory visit to a chocolate and cigar vendor.

Finally, the beach is nice, but inundated with vendors that are not shy about interrupting your quiet time, reading time or even nap.

In short, you can do a whole lot better. Even if you have to spend a few dollars more, its worth avoiding this place. Again, I have written so many positive reviews for our other stays, but this place has earned it's rating -- if I could give 0 stars, I would.

Room Tip: If you're not staying on the first floor, you're not getting a personal pool.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Mike M

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

It is my deepest regret to read that you went through so many inconveniences during your stay; I assure you that the circumstances you described are not typical with the high standards that we strive to provide. We take pride in creating memorable experiences for our guests and in order to do so we focus on following the highest standards of quality and service. We took a note about your point and your comments have been shared with our management.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Best regards.

Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We traveled to Punta Cana a couple weeks ago and stayed at the Royalton Bavaro. The resort looked amazing in the pics, and most of reviews were good. We did not have a great experience. Most disappointing was the service at the Diamond Club. The customer service folks in the Diamond Club seemed to care less that my room was ROBBED!, we didn't get the rooms we paid for, ants everywhere in the room, no bottle services, or the amenities that were promised as part of the package that we purchased. When we asked to speak to the manager, I was continually told he was not available. The rest of the staff at pool side and in restaurants were very good. Butler Felix Felix was not worth the extra money spent.

Room Tip: Stay away, better resorts on Punta Cana
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Nicky S

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We are sorry about the impressions that you may receive about the service from our staff and management; our objective is to provide an excellent service to our visitors and always ensure a quality holiday among our guests. We took a note about your point.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Best regards.
Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Restaurants were quite good, not your typical salad dressings (take your own), also recommend you take your own pasta sauce ( theirs is watery and bland)...breakfasts were our favourite meals. Rooms have lots of issues, though very clean we did not get the ocean view as a perm pkg diamond club visitor. Took us 2 days to change our room..still no ocean view, settled for the best they could offer,, a swim up room ( but we are not pool folks, we went for the ocean..resort was very crowded and full....lots of kids everywhere....don't go Easter weekend or week after as that was high school break for US I guess....the evening shows in the big tent were very good....our butler, shandi, was very attentive and booked all our evening meals...also attended to room issues for us and the room move...not much activity around the beach, everything seemed cantered around the main pool ....seemed to be lots of stuff for kids there.....maintenance workers were very slow to come and do repairs, but you must stay in your room and wait or they will not come in..we spent a lot of time waiting for them to come fix stuff..way too slow...do not take the special breakfast offer...it took us 3.5 hours and was similar to a time share...more time wasted...we purchased for cash a n excursion on the beach and ended up not going, it was too crazy to explain but we did not get a refund...better to book through your travel representative....Sunwing was great...beach has lots of waves and is a bit seaweedy ..lots of beach chairs, no issues there.....lots of securityconstant on beach...lots of towels too...not a 5 star resort yet but has potential...I would give it a 4.

Room Tip: Pay extra for diamond club
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Elizabeth A

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had with the service in our property; we continuously train our staff in order to give an excellent service to our visitors.

It was a great pleasure welcoming you to Royalton Bavaro. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy even superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Had the weather been a little better (we had a little rain each day and a LOT of rain 1 day), it would have been a better trip...1 recommendation I would make is for the staff (Vibeteam) to plan activities for a rainy day...a family friendly movie, game show, bingo, etc. They have several areas where a lot of people could assemble and be entertained.
We did not take advantage of the 'butler' service, as we found them to be a little too pushy for our tastes. If we needed anything (beer, water, towels, etc), we simply found one of the maids and they were more than happy to help.
Check in was slow, but out of our party of 5 families, we were one of the 2 that got our correct family suite. Wrist bands/room keys are a good idea, but we had to go back as a family and get them reset twice.
In order of favorite restaurants for dinner...Rio (awesome), Hunter, Grazie, Zen. The lunch buffet at Oceanside was awesome, as was the breakfast buffet.
Coffee shop was great (could have opened a little earlier) and the deserts all around the resort were awesome (especially the Tiaramisu).
English was spoken/understood by most of the staff, although we ran across a few minor issues based on language.
The staff was accommodating and friendly and would be one of the main reasons we go back. Junifer and Ricky were outstanding in the pool bar and ocean bar. William and Reynaldo were fun & friendly and we looked forward to seeing them each day. And the entire team at the FlowRider was over-the-top amazing, with a special shout out to Edison.

Room Tip: Double check before you get there that you are going to get the room that you reserved!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Jerry M

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We are sorry about the impressions that you may receive about the service from our staff and management; our objective is to provide an excellent service to our visitors and always ensure a quality holiday among our guests. We took a note about your point.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Best regards.
Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews