We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,029)
Filter reviews
2,029 results
Traveller rating
1,306
401
152
74
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,306
401
152
74
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club martini bar flow rider food truck oceanside restaurant dc pool mini cooper fitness staff bedroom presidential suite hunter steakhouse gourmet marche martini mix diamond pool travel smart growing pains sports bar teen club
Filter
Updating list...
1,094 - 1,099 of 2,029 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We traveled to Punta Cana a couple weeks ago and stayed at the Royalton Bavaro. The resort looked amazing in the pics, and most of reviews were good. We did not have a great experience. Most disappointing was the service at the Diamond Club. The customer service folks in the Diamond Club seemed to care less that my room was ROBBED!, we didn't get the rooms we paid for, ants everywhere in the room, no bottle services, or the amenities that were promised as part of the package that we purchased. When we asked to speak to the manager, I was continually told he was not available. The rest of the staff at pool side and in restaurants were very good. Butler Felix Felix was not worth the extra money spent.

Room Tip: Stay away, better resorts on Punta Cana
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Nicky S

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We are sorry about the impressions that you may receive about the service from our staff and management; our objective is to provide an excellent service to our visitors and always ensure a quality holiday among our guests. We took a note about your point.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Best regards.
Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Restaurants were quite good, not your typical salad dressings (take your own), also recommend you take your own pasta sauce ( theirs is watery and bland)...breakfasts were our favourite meals. Rooms have lots of issues, though very clean we did not get the ocean view as a perm pkg diamond club visitor. Took us 2 days to change our room..still no ocean view, settled for the best they could offer,, a swim up room ( but we are not pool folks, we went for the ocean..resort was very crowded and full....lots of kids everywhere....don't go Easter weekend or week after as that was high school break for US I guess....the evening shows in the big tent were very good....our butler, shandi, was very attentive and booked all our evening meals...also attended to room issues for us and the room move...not much activity around the beach, everything seemed cantered around the main pool ....seemed to be lots of stuff for kids there.....maintenance workers were very slow to come and do repairs, but you must stay in your room and wait or they will not come in..we spent a lot of time waiting for them to come fix stuff..way too slow...do not take the special breakfast offer...it took us 3.5 hours and was similar to a time share...more time wasted...we purchased for cash a n excursion on the beach and ended up not going, it was too crazy to explain but we did not get a refund...better to book through your travel representative....Sunwing was great...beach has lots of waves and is a bit seaweedy ..lots of beach chairs, no issues there.....lots of securityconstant on beach...lots of towels too...not a 5 star resort yet but has potential...I would give it a 4.

Room Tip: Pay extra for diamond club
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Elizabeth A

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had with the service in our property; we continuously train our staff in order to give an excellent service to our visitors.

It was a great pleasure welcoming you to Royalton Bavaro. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy even superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Had the weather been a little better (we had a little rain each day and a LOT of rain 1 day), it would have been a better trip...1 recommendation I would make is for the staff (Vibeteam) to plan activities for a rainy day...a family friendly movie, game show, bingo, etc. They have several areas where a lot of people could assemble and be entertained.
We did not take advantage of the 'butler' service, as we found them to be a little too pushy for our tastes. If we needed anything (beer, water, towels, etc), we simply found one of the maids and they were more than happy to help.
Check in was slow, but out of our party of 5 families, we were one of the 2 that got our correct family suite. Wrist bands/room keys are a good idea, but we had to go back as a family and get them reset twice.
In order of favorite restaurants for dinner...Rio (awesome), Hunter, Grazie, Zen. The lunch buffet at Oceanside was awesome, as was the breakfast buffet.
Coffee shop was great (could have opened a little earlier) and the deserts all around the resort were awesome (especially the Tiaramisu).
English was spoken/understood by most of the staff, although we ran across a few minor issues based on language.
The staff was accommodating and friendly and would be one of the main reasons we go back. Junifer and Ricky were outstanding in the pool bar and ocean bar. William and Reynaldo were fun & friendly and we looked forward to seeing them each day. And the entire team at the FlowRider was over-the-top amazing, with a special shout out to Edison.

Room Tip: Double check before you get there that you are going to get the room that you reserved!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Jerry M

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We are sorry about the impressions that you may receive about the service from our staff and management; our objective is to provide an excellent service to our visitors and always ensure a quality holiday among our guests. We took a note about your point.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Best regards.
Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The room was spacious ca 50 sq meter with two king size bed, the bathroom with shower and jacuzzi in the room.
The range of food was great, we have a chance to drink even fresh vegetable juices made in front of our eyes in Gourmet Marche Restaurant. The service from waiters was excellent especially from Mr Carlos Polarco, Mr Ruber, Mr Jansel Gonzales who remembered our tastes and deliver our favorite tea every morning once we entered the restaurant.
After breakfast you can have delicious cafe in a separate Caffe Bar - Ms Milagros Rodriges is a very warm person.
Last but not least the drinks - we liked them most in a Lobby Bar near Reception made by Cristin, Raquel and brought by Ms Clara - very open, warm person and always smiling person.
We are very demanding tourist (Diamond Status in Hilton Chain) and we strongly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Jacek G

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa. We are delighted to read that you spent a most wonderful holiday.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Best regards.
Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The family was there at the end of March.

Room was very nice, it would have been good to be on a higher floor.
Food very good. Very impressed with the main buffet - marche.
The individual restaurants were good. While hunter restaurant was good the steak tasted like lighter fluid.
Spa - had a massage on the beach and in the spa. While I enjoyed the outside experience I prefer inside. During my massage there was too much noise and people were trying to talk to the therapist. Beach cabanas were very good. Beach very clean. Sad that there were no shells to find. We were in the diamond club. Diamond club was ok but had a butler that was useless and did nothing for us other than book our restaurant reservations and get me towels when we were going on an excursion and couldn’t find towels. This is our second connection to the butlers - they need to do a seriously better job. He actually made my vacation unhappy. He showed up on the last day to get money. Service at the bars were slow and bartenders didn’t care who was there first. Lobby bar was good but I used it on the last day. Kids club good. Great basketball court - good job. I would review the age breaks for the various kids clubs. A lot of work went into entertainment but we rarely went - not our thing. Daily schedule - available on the tv. It would be good to get a printed copy. Room service - dinner- good. I found it hard to talk to staff - they didn’t understand English. Oceanside - we loved this location. Resort clean and well maintained. Great baby pool. Food truck was good for the kids. Zen restaurant, it was ok. Grazie, not my thing. Service in restaurants were ok. Be prepared to wait to get in rest. even if you have reservations. Thanks for the slippers in my room. Need more shopping opportunities on resort. Braiding hair - very expensive and the beach ladies were also very expensive. Photos- you can do family photos - no session fees - just pay for what you buy. Figure this into your packing. We did two excursions. Dune buggies where we paid a premium because there were 3 of us in a 4 seat vehicle. Not Impressed. Had to pay extra for the face bandana. For the price we paid it should have been included. My husband and son loved it, me not so much. Stops were fast. We were looking forward to the cave but there were too many people trying to get to the water. The beach stop was nice. The learning Center was good. Remember if you get pictures with the animals you have to pay and there doesn’t seem to be a set price. Our next excursion was a bus tour. Before we got off the bus the tour guide was asking for money for the orphanage - not cool. The tour was good.

Rosa thanks for looking after our room. Medicine thanks for selling the massages. Butler guy - thanks for nothing.

We are travel smart clients. There were a few bumps but they looked after us. Thanks Ismael, Gregorio, Jose Shamir.

Our next stop is St. Lucia.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, General Manager at Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Michelle J

Receive a warm regard from Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa.

We extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had with the service in our property; we continuously train our staff in order to give an excellent service to our visitors.

It was a great pleasure welcoming you to Royalton Bavaro. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy even superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews