We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #50 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
SLATINGTON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic, but it won't be our last.
We will return and stay at the Ambar. Very clean and the grounds were well manicured. The food was good, typical of what you find in islands. Our favorite restraurant was Don Pablos, lobster tail (nice size) and for dessert we had the fried banana (like bananas foster) so good.
The only thing we found a little odd was the reservation system they used for dining. They make dinner reservations for you when you arrive and the restranurants they choose for you can be any of the restranurants in the entire complex. Review them immediately. They will change them, if you're not happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 678Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco P, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunny and Warm Gran Bahia Principe Ambar!!

We are pleased that your experience at our resort was a positive one, its really nice to know that we met and exceeded your expectations.

We wish you a prompt return to Gran Bahia Principe Ambar!!

Sincerely,

Marco Peña
Resident Manager
gerenteresidentegbpbpamb@bahia-principe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,030
    2,550
    1,068
    384
    239
See reviews for
866
7,217
141
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,729)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My fiance and I went last year. We loved it so much we can't wait to go back. The food was great. The service was great. The staff was great and the beach and pool area were great. The room was very nice and clean. They have lots of excellent restaurants. I went to the spa and had a chocolate massage and it was worth the money.

Room Tip: If you are a beach bum ask for a room close to the beach and the pool so you don't have far to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco P, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the Fantastic review based on your experience, we appreciate the feedback and we look forward to hosting you once again at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar!!

Sincerely,

Marco Peña
Resident Manager
gerenteresidentegbpbpamb@bahia-principe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The rooms were cleaned daily and the mini bar was replinished daily. The buffets and restrauraunts were not very good. After day 3 we were bored and wanted some good dinners. We never got it! Very disappointing! Also the beach does not have good waves if you want good waves. It also has lots of seaweed during the early morning hours. If you shop at the their shops on the beach, be ready to take much less than what they ask. The DR people asked for way too much for the product. I could live withoutit or get it for $1 in the US!!! Not to thrilled about the DR shopping.

Room Tip: I bought a deep tissue massage and it was not anything close to a deep tissue message. I even asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookietn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco P, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you have shared your experience with others on Trip Advisor, we regret that we were not able to completely meet or exceed your expectations.

Its nice to know that you have highlighted our cleanliness and property maintenance. Also, I have discussed your concerns with our Food & Beverage Executives, please know that they will continue to monitor our daily services and continue to build upon our goal to excellence.

With regard to the beach, please know that we have a team that starts at 6:00AM to clean the beach and organize the area for our guest to enjoy. Seaweed is a natural element from the ocean and unfortunately during periods where their may be heavy rain or poor weather around us this may cause an abnormal amount of seaweed from the ocean.

Once again, we thank you for sharing and hope that you will allow us a second opportunity to cater to your needs.

Sincerely,

Marco Peña
Resident Manager
gerenteresidentegbpbpamb@bahia-principe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Apple Vacation Representatives were informative. Major language barrier (our concierge, Emmunal) spoke English & gave us his cell phone upon arrival. Booking with Apple Vacation, I feel, they gave us more for our money. We had a lot of nice perks happen.

We stayed on the third floor (No Pool/No Ocean)view. Only private palm trees. It was a third floor walk up, corner unit. We had 24/7 room service. Pillow service every day, fruit basket, chocolates, filled mini bar and our room was cleaned at least twice a day ;) The bathrooms have NO lights ladies. Very hard to get ready.

I praise this Hotel. The Lobby was amazing, spacious. The Appreance was sensational. Landscaping breathtaking. Martini Station with great presentation each evening. The lobby is smokey in area and the music is very lame. We brought cards & backgammon! It was too quite for us.
You must see the Michael Jackson Show.

Emmunal our Concierge was exceptional, pleasant demeanor, and very charisima. Apple is so lucky to have this young man. A true asset.
He had bubble baths and rose pedels on the bed - ready for us. He hooked us up to wonderful restaurants. He stopped by to chat daily. He really was there for anything we asked.

Topless for sure, no children, very quite many a tid too quite.
Flowers in the room each night and the bed with towels made of something.

Pool/Beach: Gorgeous, abundant, turquoise, sandcastles, pool music only from 3-6pm. Pool bar closes at 6pm. The beach gets cleaned daily, they wiped off your feet/chairs with a broom. We saw so many Wedding too.
Lot of excusion to take if that is your thing. Shops are pricey. Flip Flops $50.00 (nothing fancy) & suntan lotion $28.00 everything is high ended.
They have wonderful coffee, nuts and fish. We enjoyed the high ended liquior that was at the lobby bar and presendente beer.

Weather/People: Hard to find English speaking people. The Beach is hypnotic affect its so beautiful. We are Universal people, women all have
their "Piggie" polished and holding a "Barnes/Noble"... Hunger Games :)

It rained HARD all day for one day. Nothing to do but relax and listen.
Canada people EVERYWHERE... A.

Restaurants: Delicious (Don) Outstanding Fish and the steaks were real good. Better than Mexico. And we are from Chicago, and we have great food here. We loved it all but did NOT like the Italian Rest. Don't waste your time. The orginal Italian Rest. was un-going a face lift.

Their is a huge FleaMarket on the beach and the beach goes forever.
You can take a water taxi back for about $5.00 each. They tell you everything is cheapy cheap.. They all have the same stuff. And again, they do not hesitate NOT to deal with you. THey would rather walk around all day pretending they want to sell their items. Kinda strange.
One man said let me call someone on my cell phone to see if I can lower the price. (I call this- calling the closet).. You really can't help but laugh.

This vacation was one of the most memorable. We went to St. Maartin, last year and the beach there was if not more..... NO bugs.

LOVED this Hotel, Food and the beach is Heaven sent. If I was looking hard to say something else, it would be, English is hard to find, humid and we did get a full day of hard rain. Waiting to get to the hotel was almost as long as of plane trip.... BUT, would I do it again. NO DOUBT.

Room Tip: Corner Units are wonderful and private. I am sure you will enjoy being out on the baloncy and no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CozyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco P, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the staff and management we would like to send a ¨Big Hola¨and thank you for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor.

It was our pleasure to have you as a guest at our resort and we are extremely happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you once again to Gran Bahia Principe Ambar!!

Sincerely,

Marco Peña
Resident Manager
gerenteresidentegbpbpamb@bahia-principe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Got back a few days ago. Stayed from May 25 to June 1.
Ok so the vacation starts off by hopping on the flight and arriving into a very jammed airport where we waited over an hour to clear through to get to the area where the buses were.
When we get to the bus, we tell them (others as well) we are going to the Ambar.
When we arrive to the first stop (the Ambar was stop #2), they unloaded all the luggage out of the bus. I honestly wouldn't have noticed if my luggage wasn't bright green. I quickly got off the bus and asked the guide if this is the Ambar, he said no. I said why did they take out my luggage? he said "oh don't worry it will get to your room..." i told him no i'd rather not leave my luggage here if this isn't the right hotel...at this point other Ambar guests notice that their luggage was also removed and they all hurry off the bus to throw their luggage back on. The whole while the guide on the bus reminds us to be nice to the driver, to leave something for the driver...again and again...and again. very annoying. the same thing happened on the return trip to the airport. the same guide too...constantly asking for tips and all in all did not really know what he was doing. holds up a paper saying only people with that specific flight number can get on this bus...but everyone crowded on no matter because the other buses filled up and left already. the transportation was very very poorly done.

When we arrive at the ambar they bring us into a room and explain some stuff and we get our room keys / wristlets and finally get to go to our rooms. All in all, it took close to 3 hours from the time we landed to get to our room.

The resort is nice, we stayed in building 64 which is right by the pool. I don't have any complaints for the pool or the bar. the bartenders were attentive and quick at what they do.
the food is decent though it lacked in terms of variety. the fish was good. the beef dishes and pork dishes were usually very tough. my main problem with the food at the resort is the dining time for lunch. not sure, maybe i'm just wierd...but i usually eat lunch around noon time. the main buffet doesn't open until 1pm. if you're hungry before then you'll need to go to the snack bar which opens at 12pm. if you sleep in late till say 10am...you pretty much need to wait till 12 or 1 to eat anything. we tried some of the ala carte restaurants namely don pablo and the italian one. we tried to book the steak house 6 days in advance but the only dining times available was 9pm which was too late. the portions for the ala carte places are very small and you can only order 1 item (1 app, 1 entree etc). i ordered a smoke salmon app from don pablo which was just the salmon from the buffet rolled up with some cream cheese in it. but it was 2 slices of salmon. by the end of the dinner we just went to the buffet cuz neither of us were satisfied with our meal.


There isn't much to do at the resort. honestly, besides the pool and the beach i found 1 ping pong table and 1 volley ball net (the ball is missing often so we can't even play). beyond that you'll need to pay to go on excursions. night time is just as boring. there isn't really much to do the resort is dead when it turns dark. the bars closes around 11pm.

pros:
drinks
staff
beach
pool

cons:
lack of activities
food
transportation

Room Tip: building 64 is close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cedric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco P, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others and the management of Gran Bahia Principe Ambar. We appreciate your detailed review and we are taking notes based on your experience to evaluate the different areas mentioned in your review.

Unfortunately, we regret that you experienced problems with the transportation service from the airport to the resort, we have share these concerns with that company so they may take corrective action and avoid this for future guest.

In addition, we have noted your concern with the time schedule at the resort during lunch time, please know that we observe this carefully and based on the behavior patterns we have seen that most of our guest spend most of their time by the pool this is why the Snack opens first and then our main buffet by the lobby at 1:00PM.

However, guest who chose to sleep in past our breakfast hours the alternative available for the enjoyment of our guest is Room Service, which covers those odd hours that most of our guests have had breakfast until lunch time.

Furthermore, we have noted your observation that the Ambar does not have much activity, this concern is a topic that has been shared with us and we have taken into consideration a few alternatives to elevate guest satisfaction. We are being careful in the process because the
odd item of this concern, most guest are looking for a quiet place to relax and disconnect from the real world.

We have taken the following steps to address this concern, upon arrival we are placing in our Welcome Kit what is called an Activity Guide that informs of activities in the Ambar and within the complex. With this corrective action it allows our guest to enjoy both worlds, if you want activities simply follow the program, if you want peace and quite you stay within the grounds of the Ambar and totally skip the activities guide.

Once again, thank you for sharing, we hope that when visiting the Dominican Republic that you would consider Gran Bahia Principe Ambar!!

Sincerely,

Marco Peña
Resident Manager
gerenteresidentegbpbpamb@bahia-principe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
29.8 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
26.4 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
0.3 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.6 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
0.3 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
1.0 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): $221 - $542
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing