We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
USD 374
USD 332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
USD 258
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 431
USD 294
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
USD 570
USD 484
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
USD 396
USD 365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
USD 457
USD 331
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
USD 387
USD 336
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 488
USD 213
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 367/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
USD 475
USD 426
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 831
USD 588
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,970)
Filter reviews
2,970 results
Traveller rating
2,268
459
148
52
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,268
459
148
52
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjay zel patioseaside grillla divapreferred clubpreferred poolmagic mikerosewater restaurantsecret boxmr obamacoco cafeentertainment staffbutler narcisosecrets the vinepreferred buildingescargotgated community
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 2,970 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stayed here last week. The beach was amazing. They clean and groom it constantly. The water is picture perfect Caribbean blue and you can walk out for quite a distance. There are water sports available. We signed out paddle boards but sadly that day it was too rough to use them as a storm was blowing in. The preferred side has shaded huts that we had no trouble securing a spot in daily which provided perfect amounts of shade and an amazing breeze. The beach side service was fantastic, the servers brought water upon arrival, and continued to come by with drink orders. There is a daily beach BBQ at 1230 that provided the best food we had during our stay (more on that later). Shade is limited on the non preferred side however.

The pools were fantastic. The preferred side was smaller than non preferred, but perfectly quiet. The non preferred side has a swim up bar, is much larger, but was too loud and crowded for our taste. They hold a daily water aerobics session at noon in non preferred which was really loud, but only lasted for 30 minutes. There are also hot tubs on both sides.

Rooms. Our first night, we were non preferred. The room was musty, there were multiple mosquitoes, and it was really, REALLY loud. We were in Bldg 2, which is right by the lobby bar and the sound from the lobby band carries right into the room. We were in bed early the first night and my husband said "I wish I brought my ear plugs" that's when we decided we were going to ask for an upgrade the next morning. Additionally, the balconies were adjoining, only separated by a small hanging screen. Our neighbor smoked on "his" balcony, hence making our balcony unable to be used because it blew right into ours. I am surprised by the amount of smoking overall at the resort. People openly smoking everywhere, even poolside while sitting in the chairs that are close together with no regard for others was disappointing. A non smoking resort would be neat for those of us who don't smoke. We upgraded the next day to preferred, and will never, ever, go non preferred again.

Food. The preferred side has 2 additional breakfast options, whereas the non preferred can only go to the buffet. The buffet was huge and offered anything you could imagine. But, like buffets anywhere, people ruin it. I'm not a buffet person for that reason. Watching everyone dig their hands into food, not using tongs, just blech :(
We at the Beach lunch 2x, one day was grilled steak and pork, the next was seafood paella. The restaurants however? GROSS. Just. Gross. Inedible for the most part. We did have a decent meal at Portofino one night, but that was really it. Room service was terrible. I ordered eggs benedict, 2 cold, untoasted white English muffins, and grossly overcooked eggs, hard potatoes (see pic). Dinner at Bordeaux was inedible for each the 6 of us who dined together one night. We had better food at our local Chinese strip mall restaurant than we did at Himastu. Seaside grill fish and shrimp were horribly overcooked. I watched my husband cut fish with a steak knife and struggle. Positive side, the fruit everywhere was amazing.

Drinks: Wonderful. If you bring your own cups, like Yeti cups, they will fill them for you and they stay nice and cold. The drink menus were great, the bartenders were great. No complaints at all about drinks or service.

Service: Fantastic. Our butler Danillo made our room up for our anniversary, putting rose petals on the bed and a sign on the door. One night he also delivered a meat and cheese plate to our room with a bottle of wine. Serefino in Rosewater was a stand out server. He made a special meal for my husband one day, Puerto Rican Mofongo with perfectly cooked shrimp. If every meal was that good, we would have loved it. He gave us, and everyone he encountered personalized service. Super nice. Our room was always clean (the preferred room didn't smell musty either and no swarm of mosquitoes).

Overall, I am so disappointed with the amount we spent and the food that we were forced to eat for an entire week.

If you love a great beach and good drinks, you'll love this. If you love good food however, this isn't the place for you. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Do the preferred upgrade
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank freezin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear freezin1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa. We are pleased to that our staff and their personalized service made you enjoyed and they appreciate you mentioned it in this important platform, especially Danilo. He is very happy and feel proud about it.

On the other hand, let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some other aspects of your stay with us. We value your comments, and as our guest’s feedback is truly important to us, we are consciously revising all of your remarks in order to take corrective actions.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you back at our resort in the near future and further enhance your vacation.


Best regards,

eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Where do I begin? My husband and I traveled with another couple and we all had an amazing time! The place is unbelievably beautiful! Pictures do not do it justice! Everything was sparkling clean and the staff goes above and beyond to make your trip one that you will never forget and leaves you wanting to return ASAP!

Bugs Bunny, Gucci, Jay Z, La Diva, and Mr. Blue were part of the entertainment team and wow! They truly made our stay super fun and enjoyable! They work SO HARD to make sure you have an amazing vacation and we miss them already!

The entire staff go above and beyond to make sure your every want and/or need is taken care of! Truly excellente’ service in every restaurant, at the beach, pool, your room, the lobby-EVERYWHERE! Randy at the Seaside Grill was wonderful and Fabioso and Anna in the lobby were a lot of fun and took care of our drink orders with great attention! ❤️

Our room was amazing! We were in building 3, on the fourth floor and our view was unbelievable! We did not upgrade to the preferred side and couldn’t have been any happier. The rooms are super quiet and couldn’t hear any construction going on next door or from the partying going on at the pool! Our room was always perfectly cleaned when we returned.

The beach is the BEST beach I’ve ever been to in the Caribbean, we have stayed at many all inclusives and this one was by far the most beautiful! White powder sand that never got hot, very nice loungers, swinging beds, a wonderful breeze and awesome servers bringing you ice cold drinks as often as you want! What more could you ask for???

I could go on and on but I think you get the point! If you can go, you should! If you’re on the fence, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rlhand27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Rlhand27,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Cap Cana Resorts & Spa for your recent vacation.

We are very happy that you have taken the time to share your experience on this important platform. We feel proud to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you fully enjoyed our property in every aspect. It is a great motivation to read that the personalized service of our staff has been to your complete liking. As our main goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your fabulous vacation. Bugs Bunny, Gucci, Jay Z, La Diva, Fabio, Anna and Mr. Blue are very happy to know that they were part of your excellent vacation.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back into our facilities and further enhance your next vacation with us.

Sincerely,

eConcierge and social network coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stayed at the Secrets Cap Cana on March 28 through to April 2, 2018 & it did not disappoint! We travel to the Dominican & Mexico quite a bit, but this was our first adults only. Guest rooms are big, spacious & the beds were very comfortable. The staff AMAZING!! EVERYONE working in this resort is exceptionally friendly & attentive. They do whatever they can to meet any request you have with enthusiasm & they have such positive attitudes. None of the staff expect tips but if you do happen to leave one they are very grateful. You don't get treated any differently if you don't. I just can't say enough about the staff, some of these people are away from their families for long periods of time, working long shifts to serve us & they are always so vibrant & happy. The entire resort was spotless right down to the beach bathrooms. The preferred club pool is quiet, it suits those looking for a bit more peace & tranquility, however a bit more cramped. The main pool is more spacious & is for those looking for more activity & fun. The beach is lovely, large & powder white sand on the calm Caribbean sea. They do have some seagrass beds right off of the beach that you can simply walk around them, the water is waste deep for quite a way out. There is not a lot of shade on the beach, you need to be early to grab those spots & by early I mean 8 a.m. Loungers are spaced far apart which is really nice for keeping the couples vibe. We did have two days where there seemed to be a shortage of towels in the preferred club section. It took at the most an hour for them to bring new clean ones. I did wonder if there were people coming over into the preferred club that should not have because room numbers were only checked on one side of the beach & at that not daily, room numbers were also not checked at the preferred pool. It also appeared that anyone could access the lounge, I would of thought this would be accessed by room keys like at other AMResorts but it is not the case. The buckets of ice for your water on the beach in the preferred section is a really nice touch! We thought the food was great, we did have a couple of instances where it was a little cold but it still tasted great. This was more of a problem when you order it on the beach. There was never any shortage for eating options & never any waits for tables outside of the Hibachi tables. We would 100% recommend this resort and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have better views of the Ocean. Tropical view rooms and some ocean view rooms in building 1 and 2 do risk overlooking construction of the hotel next door. If this concerns you opt for pool view room or ocean front.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank wendyclark2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear wendyclark2018,

Receive a strong greeting on behalf of the entire team that makes up Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa.

We thank you very much for leaving us your detailed impressions regarding your recent stay at our property, we are pleased that you were able to enjoy your excellent stay and that the design and decoration of our facilities were of total pleasure, including the comfort of our rooms, the quality and variety of our gastronomic offer, as well as our great and impressive infinity pool and spectacular beach.

For us it has been an honor to welcome you and offered you an amazing stay. It fills us with joy to know that all our attentions were up to your expectations and you could have a satisfactory and excellent experience.

Thank you for staying at Secrets Cap Cana Resorts & Spa. It would be an honor to welcome you again for your next vacation.

A cordial greeting,

eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

You know that song by the Rolling Stones, "You Can't Alway Get What You Want"? Yes you can at this resort!! This resort has left nothing out when it comes to luxury. They made us feel like we were at home, so much so that I cried as I said goodbye to my favorite employee Seferino!

Here are just a few highlights:

RESTAURANTS
The Market Cafe open for all meals has every imaginable food possible to fill everyones needs (including a gluten free station).
El Patio- is the Mexican restaurant with it rolling margarita cart
Portifino Is the Italian restaurant (to eat inside the men need pants) We ate outside each night
The Rosewater was our favorite go to spot for lunch! Seferino, Ruth, Victor, German were all very friendly and willing to do just about anything to make your meal pleasing.
The house wine is pretty good, although we did buy bottles of wine that were very good!

ROOM
We had a Junior Suite swim out where we could sit and watch the sunrise each morning. You really want to be sure you catch one! Top shelf liquor in room with mini fridge and sink.
Housekeeping- unfortunately I didn't meet our cleaner, but our room was spotless each day and we truly appreciated her.

POOL AREA/BEACH
The swim up bar in the pool was a blast each day! Augustin can any drink imaginable! The have a DJ around 4 each day and everyone seems to swim up at that time for the 2 hours before it closes.
They have activities all day long if you want to join on beach or pool. Otherwise hanging out meeting some of the nicest people we have ever met on vaca!
The Preferred Club Pool is very quiet for those times that you need it! This is also where Rosewater is located.
The private beach is the softest white sand and about 1 km long. The runners we met seemed to find ways to get their miles in!

ENTERTAIMENT
The evening entertainment was just as fun as the day time fun! The lobby has entertainment each night and then once it is over the theatre opens with a show each night! Our favorite night was the Rock Show. The lead singer did an amazing job! Be sure to catch Aerial in the lobby and on stage her voice is radio worthy!

Lastly, I just want to say that when going on a vacation you want to be pampered and these people that work such long hours always showed up the next day as if they had days of rest before coming back! They were "Exceliente" as they would say! My husband and I generally do not go back to the same place on vaca once we have gone, but we will be back here for sure! In fact, most people we spoke had the same feeling.

Thank you Secrets Cap Cana!

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank MOJO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear MOJO95,

Receive a strong greeting on behalf of the entire team that makes up Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa.

We thank you very much for leaving us your detailed impressions regarding your recent stay at our property, we are pleased that you were able to enjoy your excellent stay and that the design and decoration of our facilities were of total pleasure, including the comfort of our rooms, the quality and variety of our gastronomic offer, as well as our great and impressive infinity pool and spectacular beach.

For us it has been an honor to welcome you and offered you a memorable stay. It fills us with joy to know that all our attentions were up to your expectations and you could have a satisfactory and amazing experience.

Thank you for staying at Secrets Cap Cana Resorts & Spa. It would be an honor to welcome you again for your next vacation.

A cordial greeting,

eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Along with family and friends, I've just returned from Secrets Cap Cana (March 2018). The resort was impeccably clean and views were gorgeous. The food was delicious and Secrets has a large array of restaurant choices. The spa was soothing and massages were relaxing. The Secret's staff made all the difference. Despite their long hours, the staff always had big smiles and high energy. We formed special relationships with the hardworking entertainment team - Chocolate, La Diva, Bugs Bunny and Jay Zee. They went above and beyond to make our vacation a memorable one. Our poolside waitress, Elizabeth, was phenomenal and so sweet. We highly recommend Secrets Cap Cana and will be back.

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank Dawn432018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge and social network coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Dawn432018,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Cap Cana Resorts & Spa for your recent vacation.

We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on this important platform. We are proud to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you fully enjoyed our property. It is a great motivation to read that the personalized service provided by our staff has been to your liking, especially Chocolate, La Diva, Bugs Bunny, Jay Z and Elizabeth. Since our main objective is exceed the expectations of our guests and we are pleased that we have fulfilled that goal on your vacation.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back into our facilities and further enhance your next vacation with us.

Sincerely,

eConcierge and social network coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews