We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,317)
Filter reviews
3,317 results
Traveller rating
2,384
620
194
69
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,384
620
194
69
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preferred pool preferred club bluewater grill breathless resort julia roberts lil wayne entertainment team the blue water grill private pool french restaurant preferred room scooby doo swim up room adult pool preferred status preferred area family pool
Filter
Updating list...
684 - 689 of 3,317 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

When we first checked it, it was super easy and fast and we even got an upgrade as we needed 2 rooms next to eachother! Amazing staff and easy to do.
Next, the room was amazing! Cleaned and turned over every day left with treats and when we got room service it was easy to order with the menu on TV!!
The buffet was quite nice considering it’s a buffet. It has similar things in every day and different things everyday aswell. The Italian starters we weren’t keen on but the mains and deserts were lovely!! Steakhouse was just at nice and my mum loved the Asian, Spice!! Overall a lot of choice and was nice.
The beach was beautiful and right on the resort! Pool was cold but refreshing and it’s easy to get a sun bed, no need to rush!!
Staff were amazing!! Wiz Khalifa, Lil Wayne, Maximo and the whole entertainment team were amazing!!!
Just a tip, on the beach people will come with monkeys, parrots etc but they will charge you even if on your phone!! Be careful.
Overall amazing and would return in a heart beat!!!! Don’t want to go home!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Tia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NowOnyxPC, General Manager at Now Onyx Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Tia M,

Thank you for staying with us and for your amazing review. It is good to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us, and that we could exceed your expectations with our entertainment, food and our friendly service. Please be sure we will recognize all those you have mentioned on your behalf. Now Onyx Punta Cana is your home, and you are always welcome back.

Kind regards,

Angel Holgado
General Manager
Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa
aholgado.noopc@nowresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Great vacation for families. Went with my family of 6 and my sister's family of 5 and it was a great time for all. All inclusive is the way to go. Would definitely go back and would highly recommend. Very clean and very friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank jychin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NowOnyxPC, General Manager at Now Onyx Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear jychin67,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for your review. It is good to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us, and that we could exceed your expectations with our friendly service. Now Onyx Punta Cana is your home, and you are always welcome back.

Kind regards,

Angel Holgado
General Manager
Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa
aholgado.noopc@nowresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

As an avid traveler and someone who has stayed in numerous hotels throughout the Dominican Republic, I am pleased to say that Now Onyx is a luxurious hotel I would recommend without hesitation.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with smiling faces, a cool cloth, and a tropical drink. We were whisked away by Lisa who took us to the Prestige lounge for check in. Check in was hassle free and Lisa walked us through every detail to ensure our stay was splendid and memorable. Lisa is a top notch employee, that represents the hotel very well. Her English is outstanding and the connections she makes with guests upon arrival at the hotel are exactly why people feel "at home". She made it a point to find us every evening to check in with us and to inquire about our stay. Lisa is a very valuable employee and an asset to Now Onyx.

The quality of the amenities is appreciated, the layout of the hotel is manageable, and the cleanliness is noticed. We had beautiful room with an impressive view of the adults only pool and the ocean-simply breathtaking. The rooms were often cleaned really late in the day and the mini fridge was not restocked appropriately for 3 people staying in the room. I was impressed by the prompt service provided by the 24 hour room service amenity. The food was always fresh and the service was timely at all hours.

We rented the bali beds on the private islands around the pool-highly recommended. The service was outstanding; we were never left wanting for anything. The only thing that lacked during our relaxation time by the pool was some good Latin music. When we asked if we could have some Dominican music were were told that certain areas of the hotel have specific play lists-this is a shame since we are in the Dominican Republic-we are taking a break from our home life, give us some exposure to Dominican culture!

There is something to be said for not having to make reservations for the la carte restaurants. The food was good at all of the restaurants with the exception of the Italian, which was less than desirable. Now, the steak house had superior service, mouth watering food (everything from chicken, to steak, to salmon), a fun atmosphere and a crew of employees (Esteban, Fransisco, and Leny just to name a few) Now Onyx should be proud of. Arismendy, the supervisor, went above and beyond to make every dining experience enjoyable. He is serious, respectful, and an amazing leader for his team. Leny is a top notch server that paid attention to detail, did his best to speak English with the clients, and was always smiling. The quality of both the service and food made the steak house our go to dining place.

We noticed very quickly that we had the same great service at lunch time in the Prestige restaurant-where it was the same crew of servers under the direction of Arismendy that made these restaurants our favorites. These employees work very long hours and the management team should be proud of service they provide on behalf of the hotel.

The night life is lacking at the hotel. The shows or what are considered to be shows are embarrassing for a 5 start hotel. The management needs to invest in finding a creative director and choreographer to enhance the shows in the theater. Thank goodness for the entertainment provided at the lobby/theater bar by Cristian, the bartender. This employee speaks English, is outgoing, and a joy to be around. He was our saving grace for entertainment and made relaxing in the lobby during the evening worthwhile. The service at the bar was top notch, we never had an empty glass. The team was entertaining, fun, and happy to interact with clients. Joan the bar supervisor always made sure we were well taken care of. Anyelina was attentive, happy to serve us, and always smiling.

Staff are the people that make the travelling experience memorable for clients. My hope is that these staff members are appreciated and recognized for their service and have a long career at Now Onyx where they can grow and become leaders in your hotel chain.

I look forward to our next trip to Now Onyx. Sun, sand, and smiles are what brings me back to the Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: You want a room close to the adults only pool with a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmandaFredericton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NowOnyxPC, General Manager at Now Onyx Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear AmandaFredericton,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for your review. We are glad to know that overall, you had a good time, and that we could exceed your expectations with most of our services. We are always ready to improve and we will have your heads up about housekeeping, minibar refilling and music variety and the entertainment on account. We here remain at your disposal, and look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Warm regards,

Angel Holgado
General Manager
Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa
aholgado.noopc@nowresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed from March 17-24 on a 6 Red Apple Square Deal. My wife and I were very happy with the resort and staff on the resort overall. Just like anything else you can always find something to complain about but I would say 95% of the time the resort and staff exceeded our expectations.

We booked a private transfer through dominican plus which was prompt and well worth the money to me. Even though Apple has direct transfers you are still stuck waiting for everyone else to get to the bus. This way we just checked in and were escorted to our vehicle and off we went.

I thought everyone on this resort was extremely polite, cheerful and wanted to make sure you had a good time. I have a food allergy and the staff was very accommodating and the dishes they made were always delicious.

One of the interesting parts about this resort is that it is a family resort and Breathless (the sister resort next door) is an adults only. What I did not know and I don't know if others know is that adult means 18 and over. I found that Now was actually the quieter and more adult type resort than breathless. Or another way is if you want to party go to breathless if you want to relax go to Now. You have privileges to both so I would really just go with whichever one is cheaper at the time.

The beach at the resort is very well kept and service was always prompt and kind. There is plenty of beach to walk in both directions and we would walk several times a day. The surf was fairly mild and the water was warm while we were there.

My only real complaint is the company they bring on the resort to sell items to people. When you walk the beach there are always people looking to sell you something and it really does not bother me because usually a we're good was enough. The resort has a vendor come onto the resort one night a week and it was very annoying having to navigate through all of the vendors because they are setup right where the restaurants and entertainment was. It was a bit like walking a gauntlet to get past them all and each would try to pull you towards their table. I honestly thought it was overwhelming and if the resort wants to bring vendors on they should not be so pushy. Or if you are looking for a pleasant and casual experience walk down the beach to Gundula's shop and you can browse in peace and the prices are clearly marked and there is no haggling.

Overall, I was very pleased and would come back to this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jesuitstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NowOnyxPC, General Manager at Now Onyx Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear jesuitstudent,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for your review. We are glad to know that overall, you had a good time, and that we could exceed your expectations with most of our services. Please allow us to comment that the beach is considered public space, and we are not able to forbid people from staying there or sell items. We regret this situation affected your stay with us. We here remain at your disposal, and look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Warm regards,

Angel Holgado
General Manager
Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa
aholgado.noopc@nowresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our trip started out a little rough, however, the staff at the Now Onyx made it wonderful. We are members and were given rooms on the 3rd floor, ocean view, amazing. Our Butler was ADRIS and he was excellent. He checked on us often and helped with reservations and anything else we needed. We were greeted at the pool daily by Mogueson, Evan, David Florence, and Nelly. They made our trip fantastic. Anything we needed, they got for us, by the end of the week we were family!! These friends made our vacation so special with their smiling faces and friendly attitudes. We cannot say enough good thing about them. They are the reason we would return to this resort! The property is very well maintained and the food was good.

Room Tip: Preferred rooms are the nicest and closest to everything
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NowOnyxPC, General Manager at Now Onyx Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear kc187,

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. It is good to know that you liked our facilities, the exclusive services and amenities offered at our Preferred Club, food offer and the friendly service from our Team. Please be sure we will recognize all those you have mentioned on your behalf. Now Onyx Punta Cana is your home, and you are always welcome back.

Best regards,

Angel Holgado
General Manager
Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa
aholgado.noopc@nowresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews