We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
25 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
USD 345
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
USD 328
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
USD 328
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
PalladiumUSD 327
Orbitz.comUSD 328
eDreamsUSD 345
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,259)
Filter reviews
12,259 results
Traveller rating
9,138
1,826
756
321
218
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9,138
1,826
756
321
218
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up room la boheme palladium complex room service royal suite butler service las torres travel club romance suite dinner reservations chateaubriand other resorts our honeymoon lobster sports bar language barrier main pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 12,259 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving in the lobby for check in, I was excited. The lobby decor was beautiful and fresh to where I asked if the hotel was new or newly renovated (the response was no). Check in was easy and fast and you are provided with a welcome drink while doing so. There are no elevators in the building so the bellhop carried 4 large suitcases upstairs to our room. Entered the room...very mediocre. A double bed room has 2 maybe full size beds- discovered that night how uncomfortable the beds were (hard/firm).
The hotel has an app that you can use to make reservations for dinner (reservations highly recommended) but you can also have your butler make reservations. Our daytime butler (Melky) was great. She was very attentive and genuinely cared about our stay. Please note that although the restaurants are on the app, they are not all open now due to Covid.
Now here comes the worst part of my trip, at about 11:30pm I am sleeping and I thought that it started raining outside but it sounded too close to be outside. I open my eyes to see it was “raining” inside! Water was leaking from our ceiling (luckily directly into the bathtub). We call the front desk, who sends someone up to check on things and then they tell us that we need to pack all of our things and move. 4 rooms and 3 hours later (2:30am) we are now in a new room. This room had visibly dirty/soiled bedding and the AC was making a loud obnoxious noise. Called front desk, sent someone to change the bedding and “fix” the AC. The room was freezing for the entire night. The thermostat read 18 Celsius (64.4 Fahrenheit) all night. We slept with a robe, jacket, pants and socks under a thin blanket.
When we expressed our disappointment to management the next day through red eyes sleep and deprived headaches, we were only offered a spa treatment (valued at $60) for the inconvenience or to return on a later trip and receive a room upgrade.
Needless to say, I won’t be returning to this hotel, not only because of the accommodations but also because the food was also not good.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 045ssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dionisio De La Rosa, Guest Services / Front Office at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 045ssmith,

We would like to thank you for taking your value time in order to share your experience with the TripAdvisor Community. Your opinion is very important for us because it helps us to improve and offer a better service.

We are deeply sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations, we would like to emphasize that each team and department do their best daily in each service at TRS, we are sorry to get the notes of your experience since what are you describing isn't at all the TRS Turquesa standard of service we aim at offering our guests. Due to your comments, we have held meetings with each of the departments involved and we can assure you that we have taken actions in each of those improvement points, which will help us to optimize our services.

On behalf of the entire TRS family, we reiterate our sincerest apologies for any situation during your holidays and hope that our hotel will be of your interest in a forthcoming vacation, allowing us to change your perception and offer you a TRS experience.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I have been going to the DR for 17 years. We have tried many resorts. We were here with friends back in 2019 at the Punta Cana section and decided to upgrade to the TRS this time around. Here is my take on the TRS. We stayed in the new buildings in a suite on the third floor. We requested to be moved to the 5000 building as the balcony at our room was basically unusable. It faced the afternoon sun and was about 120 degree in the afternoons and in the AM we like to sit and enjoy some coffee and the wall in front of us was so high that we could not sit and see over it... so the staff was great and moved us to a ground floor near the beach. this was just what we needed. a couple of negatives, the app is not dependable as far as restaurant times but our butler was able to hook us up with reservations. food is OK, not stellar as prior years. Buffet is only open two nights.. You wont go hungry but if you are expecting top notch dining here it wont happen. Again, OK.. I was a little put out about the constant upcharges for better tables or mud for the spa which was suppose to be included within the TRS package. We enjoy the pools but to get a decent drink you had to walk to the lobby of the TRS every time. No top shelf stuff at any of the pool bars and in fact it was a challenge to even find a good mixer and lower end stuff toward the end of the week.... The beach was an issue, piles of seaweed each AM and I think it was only cleaned twice while we were there. at times it smelled. Now the resort to the northwest up the beach cleaned theirs almost daily. Not sure why the TRS could not do this.
Positives, without a doubt its the staff. I would name some but they are ALL fantastic and I am horrible with names. The grounds are fantastic. Rooms are nice, a tad dated but who really cares about the room. We would go back to shower and go back out... Always good hot water and cleaned well. Our butlers in 5000 building were great, Rosmilika?? i think was her name? she was super understanding on days when we wandered back with a couple drinks in us and tried to make reservations. :) so overall, would I go back to the TRS or would I recommend this resort to friends? yes I would but with average expectations. Dont get your hopes up for a 5 star hotel...

Room tip: if you like to sit on the balcony and read, go to the older section. Walls on the balcony of the new sections are two high ..
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonthanm2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelson Zorrilla, Guest Services / Front Office at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jonthanm2021,

First and foremost, I want to thank you for sharing your impressions of our TRS Turquesa Hotel with thousands of travelers through the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy to hear that your overall experience with us has been very positive and we will continue to work hard to make every stay of our visitors a memorable one.

Rosmilka is that kind of gem that every employer would like to boast about, we appreciate your words about her.

Regarding seaweed, we are all saddened by the occurrence of this natural phenomenon, rest assured that the hotel is and will continue to make great efforts to clean the beach through its external provider, we appreciate your understanding.

After carefully reading your review, we have taken note of those upgradeable points, stay assured that our Management will gladly focus on them as a way to enhance our guests' experiences, thank you for your important opinion.

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to the next visit of you.

Our best regards!
Gelson Zorrilla
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After arriving, we were immediately told we could not check into our room until 3, even though the hotel was at 30% occupancy, BUT if we wanted to upgrade we could get that immediately.
So we go... and see the upgrade options, then we ask to see the room we booked to compare. "Sorry" not an option were told. So we see ANOTHER upgrade, and decide to take it, no worries.
Of course, its the room they showed all the other check-ins, so there was trash inside, things were not super clean, and of course the TV doesn't work.
So we go start enjoying our first day, several hours later come back and have to get 5 different service staff to try and fix the TV. All of whom we felt obligated to tip. Then, of course the last one leaves, and then the channel changer STILL doesn't work. Whatever, we go to bed.
Next day, several poor experiences happen to my black fiancé, including rudeness, being called "negra" by service staff, and multiple staff joking with us not so funnily, about how we're interracial. Not cool on vacation, we get enough of that EVERYWHERE.
After several mediocre experiences with the food, and the room service showing up cold on all 3 occasions, as well as rather flavorless and bland, we end up going to the "Teppanyaki" spot on the resort. Of course there's 3 drunken fools that we get sat with, and before we sit down we recognize how LOUD and blasted they were, so I ask if we can be sat somewhere else. The response is only if we're willing to wait another hour.
SO.... we sit down and try our luck, bad bet to take. They end up being so loud, at several occasions they're singing "OLAY.... OLAY OLAY OLAY" from the soccer matches, at the top of their lungs, and NOBODY working there says a word. White damn privilege i suppose.
Then the Spa.. We got 2 wonderful massages, no complaints, they were great! Then we opted for pedicures 2 days later, bad CHOICE. They told us to leave barefoot, after scrubbing our feet for 30 minutes, because they didn't have any slippers on hand. This was only after trying to put my Fiancé’s wet toes back into her sandals, which messed up several toes, that were patched up poorly, leaving us feeling cheated and taken advantage of.
Overall, this place was a lot of hype, and a lot ton of dissapointment.
Try at your own risk, and pack a lunch.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dionisio De La Rosa, Guest Services / Front Office at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John H,

We would like to thank you for taking your value time in order to share your experience with the TripAdvisor Community. Your opinion is very important for us because it helps us to improve and offer a better service.

We are deeply sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations, as what are you describing isn't at all the TRS Turquesa standard of service we aim at offering our guests. We want to emphasize that each team and department do their best daily in each service at TRS, not only to please but exceed the expectations of our guests and create favorable and unique experiences. Due to your comments, we can assure you that we have taken actions in each of those improvement points, which will help us to optimize our services.

On behalf of the entire TRS family, we reiterate our sincerest apologies for the situation and hope that our hotel will be of your interest in a forthcoming vacation, allowing us to change your perception and offer you a true TRS experience.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021

This was our 9th vacation at TRS Turquesa (formerly The Royal Suites). Having been fully vaccinated and missing our annual Grand Palladium trips, we decided it was time to return to paradise.

Pros : From what we were told, the resort was at 25% occupancy--which may not be what some people are looking for, but for us it was heaven! We had a Romance Swim out suite--our absolute favorite room. Even though all swim outs in our building seemed to be occupied, we usually had the pool to ourselves. Never before have we been to the TRS beach where there were numerous palapas to choose from at any time of the day, we loved the peacefulness of the beach.

Helios is the absolute best place for breakfast, lunch or dinner--best food, service and of course, atmosphere.

Sumptori and Portofino were both great.

The dancers at the evening lobby shows were amazing.

The TRS Lobby Bar was the best place to get the cocktail of your choice, day or night. The others were not--we learned quickly that if you want a good drink, go to the lobby bar!

Room Service was very good.

Our maid service was excellent.

The beauty of the grounds never ceases to amaze me.

Cons:

La Adelita restaurant was terrible. The only reason we chose it was there were very few options available on Tuesday night. It took over an hour to be served a "fajita" that consisted of a tortilla and chicken--nothing else.
Capricho and La Boheme were also substandard. There definitely needs to be a new chef in these restaurants. Neither lives up to TRS standards.

Music--the tedious single tape that plays all day and every day at the Swim out section, why????
I understand the laid back vibe, but why not bachata or some latin instrumental. smooth jazz would be so much better. Also, the singers at the TRS lobby at night--first, way too loud for that area, and again, DOMINICAN MUSIC--at least some mixed in would be such an improvement. The actual shows with the dancers were entertaining and just the right length of time.

Covid Antigen Testing: The actual process was very smooth and well done, but it would be so helpful to have information on the Palladium app, providing step by step what paperwork needs to be completed and when. It took several trips to the front desk to accomplish what could have been explained in the app.

All in all, the low occupancy, the 6 beautiful days and nights (not a drop of rain), and the quiet, swim-out and beach made for a most relaxing vacation. We hope that some of the above things will be addressed as things get back to normal. We can't wait to return!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelson Zorrilla, Atención al cliente/recepción at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Nancy S,

First of all, I want to thank you for sharing your impressions of our TRS Turquesa Hotel with thousands of travelers through the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy to hear that your overall experience with us has been very positive and we will continue to work hard to make every stay of our visitors a memorable one.

Infinite thanks for your 9th visit and for the wonders stated about our TRS, and more importantly, it is thanks to the feedback from our guests that we can improve our service and facilities, so we welcome and will correctly channel your words regarding the improvable aspects.

Covid Antigen Testing, we'll conveyed this suggestion to Management right away which sounds good.

We dream of being your host again in the future to pamper you as always.

Kindest regards!
Gelson Zorrilla
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2021

The beach area was beyond beautiful. Having a butler was great! The other areas were nice. Food was ok. Drinks were ok, not strong at all. Many of the restaurants and bars were closed due to Covid. Get a swim out room in TRS, worth the money

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Passenger638889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelson Zorrilla, Atención al cliente/recepción at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Passenger638889,

Thank you very much for sharing a great review of our TRS Turquesa Hotel, it pleased us greatly that it has been a memorable one. We are so glad that you have felt accommodated by the excellent performance done by our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to offer you our services again in the future.

Receive warm greetings from Paradise!
Gelson Zorrilla
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews