We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
USD 393
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
USD 373
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
USD 373
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
PalladiumUSD 403
Orbitz.comUSD 373
eDreamsUSD 374
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,269)
Filter reviews
12,269 results
Traveller rating
9,146
1,826
756
323
218
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9,146
1,826
756
323
218
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up room la boheme palladium complex room service royal suite butler service las torres travel club romance suite dinner reservations chateaubriand other resorts our honeymoon lobster sports bar language barrier main pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,299 - 4,304 of 12,269 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We were here from 18th April to 2nd May. We booked this because we have been to the Palladium in Mexico which we thought was good. We thought we would treat ourselves and book the Premium Adults only section, ie The Royal Suites and were looking forward to having a Butler to help with any quieries or needs.

We were in Block 58, which is the very last block on the plan. It was quiet, which we like but it was quite a bit away from the beach and I would have prefered to have been nearer the beach. Anyway, the room was lovely. Showing slight signs of wear and tear but very clean and tidy. Our maid was great coming in at night and replacing our towels and turning down the bed. We needed to request an extra pillow (as only 3 were provided) and a hairdryer as this was missing from the room.

We saw the butler the following morning to request these items and book in at the al la cartes. He took our requests and tried to book us in where we wanted although we couldnt get the times we wanted on most of them but accepted earlier/later bookings. The butler (who seemed to change most days) said he would post the reservation details through our door later that day. They never arrived and by the following day I had to ask at reception if they could find out where we were booked. They directed us to another butler and he was very helpful in finding our bookings and printing them off for us there and then. He also managed to get us booked into more al la cartes when the first butler had said- oh well you are here for two weeks you have plenty of time to book. I think he just couldnt be bothered taking the time to book them for us. The butler thing is weird. If you like to make a fuss or be fussed over then yes I think having a butler is for you, but if you are quite easy going and happy to walk to the lobby (5- 10 min away) then to be honest I cant see the point in them. All the reps are in the main lobby and you can book trips with them, and reception are on the end of the phone if you need them. If you dont want to make reservations for the al la carte then you dont really need a butler. We did get the extra pillow- but we had to request this a further time before it arrived, and the hairdryer was provided but only blew cold air. I requested it was replaced and took it back to the butler but it was put back in my room. I stuck with it for a week and then told them I needed one that provided heat as I couldnt dry my hair properly. This did appear but it sounded like it was going to blow up when I was using it.....it didnt thank god and it done the trick....dry hair, great.

The service- well it is mixed but mainly poor. in the eating places you got your food (which again is OK, nothing brilliant...in two weeks my favorite meal was in the main buffet where they cut up rib eye steak off the joint and cook it in front of you) then when you had finished it was as if the staff just did not want to clear away your dirty plates. I dont think the staff are allocated tables to look after and so they just wander about and dont work as a team to get things done.

The food in general is OK but nothing I would rave about. The interior of the Indian and Chinese was very nicely decorated, as was the French but the location of the Steak House and the Italian is horrible. It looks like you are walking into a nightclub that is a bit rundown. We love a good steak but after visiting the steakhouse once....this was enough. I know that these places are used by families and so maybe the Palladium group dont want to spend as much on fancy interiors for them...but they are still 5 star and the decoration should be reflected in this respect because they deserve and they have paid for the 5 star experience. I dont think you got this. The Brazillian in Mexico was amazing.....here it was rubbish. The staff look unhappy, the meat was tough and some people got sauces with their main.....others didn't. Why? The interior here again is very basic and it was very noisy as if the sound just bounced around the venue,

The beach is beautiful...powder soft sands. the loungers are quite comfortable but the service on the beach is non existant...we were asked if we would like a drink once and when she brought it we tipped her and barely got a grunt out of her.

The towel situation is a nightmare. No towel cards were given, you just go to the towel shack and collect as many towels as you like.....this is probably how people could reserve beds on the beach AND the pool. I dont think reserving you bed is a problem but I think one bed per person is more than enough and as long as you actually use it - it should be allowed. IDEA for management - what about supplying each room with beach towels that match the amount of occupants in that room. then each evening collect and replace these towels for your guests to use the following morning. The towel shack run out of towels fairly quickly and guests who arrive early afternoon were not able to get any...they were told that you need to collect them in the morning. This is not good enough.

The pools around the swim up rooms are lovely- all lit up at night too. The problem around these pools was that (again) not very often do you get waiter service and they dont seem to want to clear up the empty glasses or ashtrays (yukky). We seen a glass in the same position for over a week before the person who moved into the swim up room obviously took a look at what was on the ledge and complained to the butler who then came out and moved it. The pool staff just congregated in the towel shack and watched videos or something on their mobile phones, not doing much work at all. We had to ask him when he was going to clean the pool before he actually made a move and he didnt look too happy at doing this either. Also there are float things for guests to use in the pool, but some of the swim up room occupants seem to think these are for their use only and take them to put on top of their loungers or on their terrace area. They are not just for their use so they need to be told this and stop being so selfish - but nothing was said to them. Pool boys should just take them and put them out for general use - but that was probably too much trouble for them to do.

We had rain - heavy rain for a good few days but nothing you can do about this...however there is not much you can do whilst its raining either...well except drink cocktails and talk to other couples....what you do on holiday right. The only real this problem caused for us was that, being on the top floor the water started leaking in and running down our room door...so it was like a shower everytime you opened the door, no big problem....the roof didnt cave in.

We never at any point seen any Managers walking around to check up on standards or even just to have a chat with guests and make sure that they were happy. ( we did have an invitation to a managers evening - but we had already made a reservation for dinner when this was and who is going to do that when the reservations are hard enough to get?) This needs to be done to keep staff on their toes because quite frankly there are a lot of staff who couldnt give a toss. Don't get me wrong there are others.....a guy in the Sports bar, was great. We walked in and within a few minutes he came over and asked us if we needed anything and all with a smile too. Then he came over with new drinks before we had even finished the ones we had. This is the service we were looking for and expected. This is the service we had allocated tips for. We came home with quite a bit of money we had taken for tips because it just wasn't earned by most.

The sort version of the review: lovely hotel and gardens. beach beautiful. staff and service could be a whole lot better and has to be to encourage guests to return. because of the service standards and attitude of the majority of the staff, I would not return to this hotel.

Room tip: Block 58 - very quiet but not near the beach.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curley-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Dear Curley,

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to review your stay at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium. We really appreciate any kind of feedback. We truly lament, not having been able to surpass your expectations with some of our service. Please accept our most sincere apologies by these unfortunate events.

Rest assured that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and has been shared with our management team as we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest’s experience.

We do hope to gain your confidence and trust in our resort and hope we may look forward to inviting you back to our property.

Kindest regards,

L. Tajes.
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

This is an adults only resort that is very quiet. If you're looking for fun, this isn't the resort for you. The sister resorts had fun beach music and activities, which were walking distance. The butler at each housing bldg was a very nice touch. This made for very simple dinner reservations and transportation getting everywhere. The check in/out process was great. The beach was simply amazing. The room cleaning was a bit lacking (we never got more soap and struggled needing wash clothes or towels that were not show towels). The room was beautiful. The food was much better than any other DR resort we've been to and many places to eat. Better snack selection by the pool would have been great. Most staff do not speak English, which was difficult. Drinks were great. The fruit basket in our room was a nice surprise. Overall it was a very nice vacation.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Dear Dina,

Thank you very much for sharing a positive review regarding The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, it pleased us greatly that it has been a memorable one.

It is a great pleasure to know that we have been able to provide a relaxing holiday, that's exactly our goal, making each of our guests go home with the desire to repeat the experience. Your specific comments have been shared with my management team in order to prevent these situations from occurring again.

We take advantage of this marvelous opportunity to invite you once again to keep on discovering the tropical colors of the Caribbean in an exceptional luxurious setting, relax on the beach and let yourself be pampered by our specialists of wellness.

Very truly yours,

L. Tajes.
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I fell in love all over again! Amazing food and people and truly incredible beaches! Thank u King king! Big love to u all....we are so glad for all the kind moments. The bars and food where incredible and our bellies were happy! The views were amazing...my heart is full

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank melsnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Dear Melsnell,

Thank you very much by sharing a positive review regarding The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, it pleased us greatly that it has been a memorable one. We are so glad that you have felt accommodated by the excellent performance done by our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to offer you our services again in the future.

Receive warm greetings from Paradise!

L. Tajes
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

This was our fourth trip to Punta Cana and we usually stay at the Melia however we thought we would try a different hotel for our 5 day couples vacation and we were extremely disappointed in the service we received throughout the hotel except for the Spa. There were so many little annoying things that occurred on a daily basis that accumulated to a poor experience. On our first day we arrived after most restaurants were closed after lunch and our butler had driver take us to the only restaurant that was still open however it was the wrong restaurant and we had to walk all the way back to the lobby( the grounds are huge but beautiful and well maintained)to get the information on how to find the correct place. Our room (5041) was very large over looking the pool with a beach view and it was clean however the lock failed on multiple occasions. We once walked into our room and the door was ajar due to the failed lock and on another occasion the butler had to babysit the room while waiting for the repairman so we could make our dinner reservations. Luckily we never had anything stolen however it was nerve racking whenever you would leave the room because you weren't sure if the lock would work. We wanted to have a beach vacation however the beach and pool were not enjoyable because guest are allowed to reserve chairs at both places with towels. We had to get to our chairs by 7:30 am on our vacation to find a spot on the beach. Some people would keep towel there all day long while bouncing back between pool and beach while other guest would walk around and around trying to find a place to sit. Now the service was terrible. The waiters and bartenders never smile or greet you. They actually almost ignore you in hopes you would go away. Let me just say we are very polite with staff and make request with a please and thank you and speak fluent Spanish so there was no language barrier and we were shocked at the rude service. In the buffet restaurant my husband asked for water and the waitress grabbed a glass from a dirty table and filled it with water and handed it to him! As we walked in the pouring rain under thunder and lightning we could not get a empty golf cart to stop and pick us up. They would just zoom by us. The list goes on and on and many other guest were voicing their opinions on poor service. The only great experience we had was at the Spa. The front desk, Mariluz, greeted us with a great smile was friendly and made us feel very welcomed. Our message therapist, Zardy, was excellent and if fact we each had 2 messages with her during our stay. This was the best part of our trip. The food was just ok and the drinks were weak. We would never go back and with so many options in the DR there is no need to.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ronan7160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to review your stay at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium. We really appreciate any kind of feedback. We truly lament, not having been able to surpass your expectations with some of our service. Please accept our most sincere apologies by these unfortunate events.

Rest assured that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and has been shared with our management team as we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest’s experience.

We do hope to gain your confidence and trust in our resort and hope we may look forward to inviting you back to our property.

Kindest regards,

L. Tajes.
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I'm going to start off this review by saying that we were spoiled by going to a different all-inclusive a year before visiting this one. Pros: Room was great. Room service was very convenient. All the staff was very polite. Could make dinner reservations before the rest of the resort. This was a HUGE plus. Pools were fantastic!! Cons: The jets in our tub didn't work. The water would turn off randomly in the room for about 30mins (really annoying while showering!). The power went out three times while we were there for 7 days. It wasn't terrible and for maybe only about 10mins each time. Wifi was very spotty (even in the room), but not surprised. The "private" beach was small and crowded, but not terrible. They give out wrist bands depending on which resort you are staying at and only the people staying at Turquesa are allowed to use that private beach. There was zero enforcement on this issue. We even had children there on occasion. Same goes with the "private pools." The drinks were very inconsistent, it depended on which bartender you got. My husband had a mojito mistakenly made with vodka instead of rum on 3 different occasions. The food was sub-par. When talking to others, they did not have a problem with the food. I think we were spoiled on this front by the last all-inclusive resort we visited. They try to nickle and dime you at every chance they can. We were told there was a gift waiting for us in the lobby but it was just a sales pitch to join their club. There are spa salespeople in the doorways at restaurants trying to sell you spa packages. We had a good time, but we would not visit this resort again.

Room tip: If you get a room on the first floor you can have direct access to the pool from your back door
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MesJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to review your stay at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium. We really appreciate any kind of feedback. We truly lament, not having been able to surpass your expectations with some of our service. Please accept our most sincere apologies by these unfortunate events.

Rest assured that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and has been shared with our management team as we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest’s experience.

We do hope to gain your confidence and trust in our resort and hope we may look forward to inviting you back to our property.

Kindest regards,

L. Tajes.
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews