We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
55
23
16
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
23
16
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews specialty restaurants buffet restaurant water pressure saona island beach bar large pool housekeeping staff beautiful beach one night every morning italians puj catalunya privileged pillows dr activities
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Terrible hotel.
1- When we arrived, the receptionist said they are giving us "an upgrade" and when we entered the room, it was disgusting. Terrible smell, dirty and without maintenance. We came back to the lobby and "conveniently" they had a promotion for upgrading to a privileged room. We ended up paying the difference as we were tired and not in a mood to discuss further. The room we were given was ok, not impressed but at least it didn't have bad smell and it was close to the pool area/beach.
2- Bufet was terrible, didn't have any variety of food and looks disgusting. They had the raw food without ice so it was there standing for hours. Of course we didn't try anything as we didn't want to ruin our vacation due to food poisoning.
3- Specialty restaurants: only had 3 and we were allowed to choose only two for the entire stay. We tried the yuca (Caribbean food) and it was ok, not impressed. The steak restaurant was awful. The steak was not tender and the portions extremely small. Besides that. they didn't have all the plates on the menu.
4- They run out of food a lot of times, run out of orange juice on breakfast!
5- Employees were not kind, it looks like they didn't want to work there and their faces were not friendly.Also it seemed that they had lack of employees as the service was extremely slow.
6- And last, but not least, the worst thing of this hotel is that ALL people there smoked and there were smell of smoke in the entire hotel. It was very uncomfortable as we don´t smoke and there was smell in all areas of the hotel, including the pool and the beach was very dirty due to this.

I definitely don´t recommend this hotel. Luckily we could go to another to finish our stay and had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I paid for the Garden View room which we did not get. They gave us a horrible room because the hotel was being “renovated”. We had to actually complain so they could let us know what was going on.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dume1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

As it has been a few weeks since are trip, I would like to further reflect on our experience. The vacation was a family vacation for me, my wife, our son, our daughter-in-law, and grand daughter. I am still struck by the wide variety of activities that are available. There were all kinds of activities that interested each of regardless of the age or sex of the individual. I am also still in awe of the variety and availability of the different foods. The type and kinds of food have an appeal to each of our group. The ease of getting in one of eating establishments was very refreshing. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Our overall contact with hotel and trip personnel was of the highest level. They made every effort to insure our visit was what we desired.
I recommend the trip and facilities to anyone. It is wonderful. We are planning a return visit in the near future

Stayed: July 2018
Thank bsandfoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your gracious comments about your recent stay at Catalonia La Romana. We are happy to know that your experience was a wonderful one and that you were impressed with our food offer and entertainment.

Our team looks forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Good: location. The beach was beautiful! The hotel grounds were nice and well kept. The entertainment team is fun and energetic. Nice and fun themed nights.
Staff is very friendly however, we didn’t notice supervisors/captains. Seems like employees run everything.

Poor: Rooms were outdated and run down. Looks line they try to do quick repairs with no attention to details. Our first room had a leak in the shower. Whenever we used it water would leak out from the floor into the room. Asked for a room change. They couldn’t do it until check-outs waere completed the next day (3-4 pm). We had an excursion to go to that afternoon so it was ok with us. We left our luggage at the lobby and upon our return we had another room.
That one did not have a leak but the A/C was cool not cold. We complained about it. They changed the thermostat. That didn’t make a difference. Complained again and nothing happened. At this point we only had a night left and didn’t want to pack to switch rooms again...

Food was ok...we had better food during one of our excursions.

No drink service at pool/beach. You have to go get your own drinks...

Also, they try to sell you memberships and tend to be pushy, specifically in the morning while you are trying to have a relaxing cup of coffee.

Overall it was an ok resort. We have had better experiences at other all-inclusives.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

The Catalonia was a great smaller resort and well worth the money! You get all the
fun and service of a more expensive resort. The rooms were a little older but the beds
were new and comfy and flat screen tv hot water and cold air! A little musty smell but
did not smell after first day nor did it affect sleep! The maid cleaned when asked and
brought fresh water and towels. We wanted to be a little closer to beach and pool so we were midway. VIP get the ones closer I guess.
The food was great. Not much variety in buffet but I love mangu every morning and
the coffee was fresh and delicious! not from an automatic dispenser! I love that you didn't have to make reservations for the restaurants and could eat any one for an allotted number of times for your stay. We ate at the Rodeo 2X as the beef was real
Angus beef and the best meat I've had in the DR. We ate at the Yucca once and the Italian once. Orlando is the jeffe and strives for excellent and professional service! He
is awesome? Also the Pizzeria buffet was nice with hot pizza, fried fish, yucca chips,
and the mango was better there than at the main buffet for some reason. The main
buffet got crowded at times and unable to get table.
The animation staff are awesome and got everyone up to all the activities all the
time. I've never seen such great participation in all the resorts I've been to. and they
do all the shows themselves, except for circus show, and do an amazing job. They
are all very talented and work 24/7 to bring entertainment to the turistas! I can't remember everyone but Maximo, Santos, Celine, Genesys, Jessy, and every one of
them are professional and super fun! I'd be dead after one night doing what they do!
Who needs a disco when they got everyone up dancing before and after the show
every night! The Merenguito bar was large and had a lot of variety and my mojitos
every night! and special flavor mamajuanas! Sometimes had to jostle for attention with
some of the RUDE turistas. I think we were the only ones who gave tips but were not
ever given preferential treatment. Very professional! The pool was nice and big but
would have been better with swim up bar. The beach and the palapas were great and the beach bar made crepes! theres rocks in the water but they have a pretty big area with mostly sand and the water is beautiful! You can jog the beach for a mile or more.
we went to saona island one day, went to la romana one day and bajahibe one day. a lot of pobreza in la romana that we brought clothes. the taxi drivers always take you to the same store. (kick back?) Anyway, we will definitely go back to Catalonia. Out of
the 10 places I've been so far in the DR, it's the best for the money! We even did a foam party! Why pay twice as much for same quality? coudos to the Catalonia staff!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ilovedr913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Director General at Catalonia La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank the time you are taking to share your feedback. We are very grateful to hear that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions have been taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve. We certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews