We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hostal Simona(La Romana)(Great Value!)
USD 52
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Caserma(La Romana)(Great Value!)
USD 114
USD 67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Silvestre(La Romana)
USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas(La Romana)(Great Value!)
USD 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Residences(La Romana)(Great Value!)
USD 374
USD 341
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Appartamento Ibiza 25(La Romana)(Great Value!)
USD 100
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B Villa Luna(La Romana)(Great Value!)
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Guesthouse Villa la Isla(La Romana)(Great Value!)
USD 39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ki-Ra(La Romana)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
48
21
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
21
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecialty restaurantswater pressuresaona islandbeach barhousekeeping staffbeautiful beachone nightevery morningitalianspujcatalunyapillowssuitedractivitiesresortmaid
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

It was a very nice resort. The nightly entertainment was really nice. Sort of like a boutique resort. It had some good points and bad. Not enough shade in the adults section on the beach and it was ridiculous that you had to get up between 5am and 6am to get down the beach to find one. It was like a game. Who could get there first. I didn’t agree with the Exclusive section taking up a lot of the beach and it was hardly used. They may have paid more to be exclusive but we paid as well. If you like walking on the beach this beach was not good. Very hard to walk on. Sand was very soft and your feet sunk so it was hard to walk. Walking left towards the market wasn’t as bad as going right. Something else I read on here with the staff treating the Royal guests differently. We experienced it a couple times in the buffet restaurant at lunch. They wouldn’t seat us and told us we needed to go in the Royal section. I didn’t want to go in the Royal section as it was small and busy. She gave me a bit of an attitude but I let it go. They also tried to turn me away because I only had a coverup and no pants at lunch when all women were walking around with even skimpier outfits on. I noticed they look at your band and then make the decision. I didn’t get that. We are all in the same resort. But all in all it was a nice week away. Would we go back? No just for the one fact, the beach not having enough chairs with shade.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank juabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

It was a beautiful adult resort, quiet, food was great and the service was awesome.
The staff were always there to help and super friendly just to name a few Diomedy, Jonathan,Sifrederick and our room was always cleaned before we got back for a siesta :).
The only downfall is the beach is small and congested and you have to try to get there early enough to get a parasol shade if you want to take a break from the sun. But besides that, we would definitely return.
-

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank freda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

My patents asked me to write a review. They went to celebrate my dad’s birthday.

Ok. Even though my mom made arrangements to celebrate it, nothing was done by the resort which is frustrating and disappointment. This was the hallmark of disappointment. Even in the restaurant even a cake with a candle wasn’t offered.

The beach wasn’t comfortable to walk, the line of coast is not continuous and they feel contained only in the boundaries of resort.

The food was okay.

The room (DELUXE PREMIUM) was dysfunctional: the shower was broken, no door was available, and toilet was broken for two days.

No return back again and no recommendations to visit this resort.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank yskaradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Rooms were excellent, as is on pictures service was great , from the minutes we walked in we felt welcomed , to the dinner service from young gentalmen Felix was absolutely amazing , bell boy Fernando was great with assist and aid in local things to do in area ,

Room Tip: Royal rooms were the best we upgraded to get full fulfillment rooms
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kenley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Note: There may be confusion on websites concerning the Catalonia La Romana and the Catalonia Royal La Romana. The Royal is the newer, more exclusive, more expensive part of the resort. This review is on the standard Catalonia La Romana (also known as the Gran Dominicus).

My wife and I decided that we would try a different area other than Punta Cana because we we’re disappointed in how windy it was the first time, making ocean swimming and areas around the beach too chilly for relaxing. So we decided on a different area around La Romana, Bayahibe, about an hour transfer from PUJ (cost approx. $170 usd rt for two). We found this area much better for relaxing in the sun and enjoying the ocean. Unlike Punta Cana that is dominated Americans and Canadians, this resort is very popular with Italians (La Romana, get it?) which was an enjoyable change-of-pace. English is not the major language, although we were able to communicate with no problems.

Again, the standard Catalonia La Romana is the older section of the resort and seems to cater to young families. As travelers, we usually prefer to stay in the non-exclusive areas of resorts, saving some money and enjoying families and other regular travelers.
Rooms were well maintained and cleaned by a very good housekeeping staff. Some of the furniture showed wear in having chipped paint and some poor tile work and grouting. But all in all, very nice, colorful rooms with cable tv and really nice WIFI internet. Bathrooms were the “open” concept were only the toilet was in a small, enclosed area.

Like many resorts, the landscaping was fantastic. Beach was sandy with plenty of lounges and pool was centrally located in the restaurant and bar area. We enjoyed the buffet; rather standard but always had a hot grill available for various meats and fish. We also enjoyed the specialty restaurants that were made available to us and had no problems with lines since we eat early around 6:30/7:00pm. Bars were maintained by nice bartenders with well-made drinks. Entertainment was on a rather small scale and provided by the resort staff.

All in all, the resort was enjoyable and was a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eirejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews