We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
470
73
16
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
73
16
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool boutique hotel recommend casa beautiful small hotel we ordered room service ocean front dominican republic rose petals nicest hotel third floor playa dorada turn down service rooms are large junior suite all inclusive hotel golf cart welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We took a 4 day break and stayed at the Casa Colonial. We cannot say enough good words about the facilities, the staff and especially the Lucia Restaurant there.
The rooms are large and comfortable, with great balconies overlooking the sea and gardens. No attention to detail was spared.
Staff was more than helpful and friendly. Their English was far better than my Spanish!
Would we stay there again? in a heartbeat! Looking forward to our return.

Room tip: Oceanfront rooms are terrific but I don't think you can go wrong in any of them.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank turtlewatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

If you are looking for class and relaxation this is your place! We stayed at this hotel over the New Year and it was wonderful. The hotel itself is tastefully designed and elegant, the staff is lovely, the rooms are spacious, romantic and comfortable, the bathrooms are a very nice large size, we loved our balcony facing the ocean (junior suite) the beach is just steps away with very comfortable loungers with towel service and menu service right on the beach. The food is amazing, the restaurant is top notch. We enjoyed every meal at Casa Colonial. Everything was nice and easy at this hotel. Plus the New years event they organized was just lovely!! A delicious a la cart menu at the restaurant, beautiful live band in the lobby by the bar, fireworks show and drinks by the beach.

Room tip: we loved out junior suite with ocean view
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Everything here is perfect. Stayed there more than a few times. It's like being in a movie. The place is just beautiful. It's very quiet and you really feel like you really are on vacation there. The fruit plate is great for breakfast.

The only negative I can remember is one night in the restaurant the waitress gave us a bad exchange rate on dollars. So it's better to pay by credit card. I didn't want to mess up a nice evening so I let it slide.

This is pretty common in Dominican Republic. One guy at a little place on the beach gave me 40 pesos per dollar. It should of been 46.

Also the area has suffered economically in the past 10 years. So there are not that many dining options around. The Blue/green jack restaurant was good though and it's close.

Do the Brugal factory tour. Ocean world was fun too. Visit the old Spanish fort.

Room tip: All the rooms are nice but I would recommend ocean front
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank khorhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words and continued patronage. On behalf of all of the staff, gracias, and we very much look forward to your next visit to Casa Colonial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

My boyfriend and I just got back from a trip to Puerto Plata and we stayed at Casa Colonial. I can not say more wonderful things about our stay. This hotel completely exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we received nothing short of the best service and accommodations. The hotel has a gorgeous pool deck located on the third floor which had a large pool and four tubs towards the front of the deck. There were also tons of chairs and plenty of umbrellas that the pool attendants quickly set us for up. The view from the deck was picture perfect!! The pool deck also featured a cafe/seating area and bar, but you also had the option of waiter service right at your pool chair. Nothing was better than drinking delicious Pina Coladas or Presidente while relaxing in the sun with the waves crashing right ahead of us. If you are so inclined to workout on your trip, the hotel has a well stocked gym with plenty of machines, and also offered another gorgeous view. Whether we were at the pool, on the beach, or dining at the restaurant hotel, we were waited on, and and foot. We dined at Lucia (the hotel restaurant) every night, and each dish and each cocktail was better than the next! They also had an extensive wine list. We ended our trip at the Day Spa with a couples massage that was fantastic! I have truly never felt more relaxed from a trip, than I have on this one and you can be sure I will be back to visit Casa!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookgal115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Colonial and that you appreciated our restaurants and spa as well as the resort. We look forward to having you both back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We went to Casa Colonial with my husband for a week in December. We chose the hotel since it's a member of Small Luxury Hotels, which is a really good standard. The hotel did not disappoint. With about 50 rooms and no all-inclusive hassle, it's perfect for secluded and luxurious stay for a couple.

The staff is amazing and superfriendly. Food is delicious, we loved the breakfast that you can order from an à la carte list. Beach is kept clean and there are waiters ready to take your drink orders.

The restaurants are great, however we were missing a little more options, since there is only one dinner place at the hotel. It would be great if they opened another one which would be little less formal.

During our last days we realized that the heated jacuzzis are open 24/7. Great for an evening dip.

If going to Puerto Plata again, we will definitely go to this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ellu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews