We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful boutique hotel in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights last weekend, I wish I had stayed longer instead of heading to Punta Cana. I will definitely come back here one day.

The hotel is beautiful, immaculate and smells lovely as soon as you walk in. We were seated, given cold towels and refreshments as we waited to be checked in. We were then escorted to our room, which was enormous and beautiful. The beds were extremely comfortable and the decor was serene.

This hotel is for people who want to relax in a peaceful location. Maybe catch up on your reading, rest, or just spend quality time with a loved one. It's not a party hotel.

The service was wonderful friendly and attentive, without being pushy.

This location was basically a dream. Keep in mind that food is not included in the cost of the hotel stay. The food was good and there was a nice selection, the only thing I will say was that most of what I ate was on the salty side. Almost like salt was added to compensate for a lack of seasoning on some dishes. It wasn't terrible, but could be a little better. We mostly had room service, only at at the restaurant by the pool once. But it was all good.

The only other negative thing is the vendors on the beach. You couldn't sit peacefully at the beach, every two seconds someone was approaching you to sell you something. And they wouldn't just keep moving, they would stop and even after you said no, they would stand there and look at you for an awkward moment.

I would recommend this hotel and I hope to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RozNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Terrific time, location, food. Beautiful pool and facilities. Highly recommend! My family and I loved our time and would love to return.
But if you're wanting a lively nightlife and/or an all-inclusive, it's not for you.

Room Tip: Did not use the spa. Fitness center was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My daughter and I left the VH Ventana and checked into Casa Colonial. It was as if we ascended into Heaven. Everything and every staff member was fabulous. Paul was especially wonderful.
The food was equivalent to a high end New York City establishment. The rooms were decorated simply elegant. All of the amenities were magnificent. We hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It's hard not to lapse into cliche when talking about Casa Colonial -- it's a treasure, a gem, an idyllic hideway, all of that. But what makes this boutique bastion of luxury stand out is the doting and professional staff who see to it that every small request is handled, and handled perfectly. We wanted small in the land of mega all-inclusive resorts and Casa Colonial delivered on that, though it's nestled in a community of larger hotels (some of which have handy amenities, like the courts where my husband played tennis each day.)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heymarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you're looking for small, upscale, quiet, relaxing, exceptional service, CASA is a must try. Beautiful rooms, great service, spotless grounds. Can't say enough. Visited at March break. Resorts on either side were very busy but CASA staff kept unwanted visitors away. Rooftop pool is fabulous. Never had to fight for a beach lounger. Food is excellent. Yes, no choice outside but didn't feel the need to go anywhere. Any negative about the beach is overblown. It's not Turks & Caicos sand but very walkable in either direction. Gated community and felt very safe. I have some mobility issues. There wasn't anything the staff wouldn't do for us. Very helpful. It was exactly what we were looking for.

The only negative was the beach vendors. Irritating at times but not threatening. Don't let that stop you. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, Ocean Front, Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,151 reviews
0.2 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
2.1 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,581 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.3 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $247 - $874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing